Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
CCC-NBDD01-01 Clever
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lou T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2019 12:24:13

Good Points:

This adventure is pretty straightforward, bad guys doing bad things need adventurers to clean up. Its not too serious but can be a tough fight depending on how your players do things. Adventure was entertaining and the backstory of the module is also funny.

Bad Points:

The final fight as written is a tad too easy. Dinosaurs tend to have low ac and the boss can't really stand up to a normal party if they bring Great Weapon Master and Sharpshooters. The other mooks around it are also pretty easy to dispatch. I would suggest having the Mage inside the room by default to make spellcasting difficult and to throw inconveniences at the players.

Also, Salence is a red dragon veteran with 60ish hp, while the kobold mook guards are gladiators with 110+ hp and more damaging attacks than him. I think the veteran stat block was just put there without contrasting it alongside the mooks cause the second in command as written is too weak. This also creates the possibility of dragging if you use gladiators as written, since thats several hundred points of hp coming down on the PCs. I swapped some out for veterans.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-NBDD01-01 Clever
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks Lou, this is great feedback! I appreciate the review and will definitely keep your notes in mind for future combat encounters. You’re right, I forgot to think about GWM/Sharpshooter countermeasures, and Salence could use a buff. This will help me improve for future mods. Thanks for playing and leaving a review!
CCC-FC3-01-02 Tales of Estirwald: Corruption of the Elderoak
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lou T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2019 12:48:39

I'll start with the strong points of the this module. The encounters are all interesting, especially the last combat encounter. There are also plenty of interesting story points and weird shenanigans that your party will get entangled in.

There are some issues regarding the start since I felt that the lead into the main plot was not that strong. The PCs quite literally wander into the plot. The final combat felt like it could afford to be harder at the average level as strong damage oriented parties can take down the boss in one turn or less. Also, the garden encounter is terribly complex for little reward and can cause things to drag down.

Other than that though, the players enjoyed it heavily both flavour and combat wise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-FC3-01-02 Tales of Estirwald: Corruption of the Elderoak
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lou T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2019 13:47:37

Great fun and a module that obviously isn't to be taken seriously at all. DMed this with a party of 4 of the pregens and everyone had a great time not caring about what should make sense.

Pregens are a bit on the OP side but then again, the adventure isn't here to be difficult. It guarantees that combat isn't gonna bog down the game.

One of the traps does seem a bit overelaborate, and I would have run over the time allocated if I'd included it though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-DES-01-02 A Sanity Never Questioned
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lou T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2019 09:33:18

Great mod especially if you ever wanted to explore the Feywild and you always wanted to pursue the history of Jeny Greenteeth.

The pacing felt pretty good but I believe the last encounter can be more challenging because there were some moments that seemed a bit flat (i.e. adding tier 1 creatures wave by wave doesn't really challenge a mid level tier 2 party).

It was one of the few times my party actually got to use gaming proficiencies as well and the skill challenges do feel rewarding. The characters felt unique in their own way and it did capture the somewhat whimsical and erratic nature of the Feywild.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-DES-01-02 A Sanity Never Questioned
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Lou, thank you for the thoughtful review. These stories are a labor of love for Eric and I. The next three parts in the story should drop after the D8 Summit at the beginning of May. These should take the story arc close to the climax in the story.
CCC-COTN-01-01-By The Seashore: A Red War Tale
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lou T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2019 13:21:30

I DMed this for an average party but kind of skewed level wise. I really enjoyed this module and my players seemed to have fun too. It gives them the feeling of being adventurers but without throwing them into huge plots or quests. It very much feels like the starter zone kind of quest where players can become a local hero.

  • Couple of funny characters and fun objectives especially the fishing part.
  • Really cool rewards and story awards
  • It feels pretty apt for a Tier 1 module, not too difficult or overbearing but still gives a sense of achievement and epicness that can be expected at Tier 1.

This is probably just nit-picking and most of this is solvable with a little bit customization by the DM:

  • IMO too many combats set out that are not really interesting. While the fights aren't hard, having the bonus objectives can tack on a few more fights. In total it can amount to 5 fights total with bonus objectives, but some can drag if you have to restart combat 5 times. I removed 2 fights as I felt it wasn't very interesting to fight the same thing over 3 times.
  • I didn't really see much context to insert the first story award. I still gave it out but it wasn't really a major point that the players were aware of it.
  • the fishing challenge is hilariously difficult if you have a 6 man party that dumped strength. I had to rework the rolls and let players come up with their own ideas on how to complete this challenge.

Overall highly recommend. Whatever rough edges can be sorted out with some forethought, but great module with great stuff and I hope to see more things where the story award applies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-COTN-01-01-By The Seashore: A Red War Tale
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-DES-01-01 Finding the Rabbit Hole
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lou T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2019 08:55:57

This module provides plenty of character and tie ins with previous adventures, as well as sparking off a great deal of exploration in the nature of the fey. The combats are written to be interesting, and the setting and scenarios are extremelt interesting and theatric. Overall a really entertaining module with significant guidance on further adjusting encounters relative to your players (not necessarily the party).

I do have some questions and comments regarding some parts (Warning: Spoilers from here):

a) for the 2nd encounter, there are a few mobs which can appear (such as an ogre, one eyed shivers and redcaps etc) that don't seem to have a means of entering the boat house easily. They don't have significant mobility, and one eyed shivers porting in might seem weird giving the limited distance of misty step. Some further clarification on how the mobs arrive on the encounter might be good.

b) for the 3rd encounter, there could be more information on the reason why the PCs are fighting this encounter. I realized that only the player handout map details the motivation behind fighting it, and that its only briefly touched on if the players talk to the hags. There could be more elaboration on why the PCs are fighting this particular battle, and further details on how the animals are "guarding" the vortex.

c) The third encounter is a fun scenario, but there could be more motivation to approach the vortex. As it stands, the fight can be done entirely without approaching the 40ft radius.

But overall, this module sets up some cool moments that blend both fun and action, so these are minor points that a DM can adjust depending on their intentions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-DES-01-01 Finding the Rabbit Hole
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lou T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2018 00:28:26

So this is basically the meat of the series, and it is an exceptionally epic follow up to the previous mod. My only real "complaint" is that I want to run this cause of how much cool stuff there is, but I also want to run the first to establish the scene. The author does have a point that there is some suspension of the adventure if the players did not find the temple by playing the first mod.

Plenty of great encounters, in-jokes that caused me to choke when I saw them, and an overall great presentation style and writing wise. Many of the things evoke feelings of being in the Tomb of Annihilation, where weird and dangerous things can occur, especially since this is a Tier 1 module.

Also, there might be a need to include advice on if the players clear out area 3 and move on to area 4. If they players clear area 3, do they really need to do the "social" encounter in 4? I imagine it would be pretty obvious by then, but might need to be explicitly stated for clarity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-AETHER-01-01 The Heir of Orcus: Verse I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lou T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2018 00:20:00

One of the best written and epic tier 1 mods I've ever read. Plenty of funny injokes and NPCs are more than just an arbitrary milestone. Besides the art and writing, the bonus objectives do feel like they are more than just "do x", with characterization and interesting mechanics for what would otherwise just be a deadly fight.

Minor point, I don't think theres anything written for what Nurfernporf will do once the carriage is intercepted. Since thats usually when the PCs will make a choice on who they side with, I would presume he will act according to what they decide?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-01 The Heir of Orcus: Verse I
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items