Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
DDAL08-10 The Skull Square Murders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2019 18:11:08

Overall I loved prepping this module and I can definitely reuse a lot of this for future games. I, like many others, like geting more for my money and that's something this provides.

Pros:

  • NPCs/Locations - definitely the shining star of this module. I fell in love with all of them and I'll definitely be importing these in future games for my players. I can tell a ton of effort went into creating this thing and I really appreciate that.
  • Magic Item - My players were pleasantly surprised about the item
  • Flexibility - A DM with time to prep really has a huge number of options at their disposal as to how they want to customize this adventure - or instead, you can just follow the prompts and just roll with it
  • Maps - The maps in this module were pretty diverse and I'm glad that they put the effort into creating these
  • Handouts - There were tons of them and I love it when I have something I can give to the group during their explorations

Cons:

  • I wish the maps had a player/DM version. I DM online and had to break out my graphics editing software to hide the various DM lables.

Observation:

  • Our group took 2.5 hours to complete all 4 objectives
  • There's minor discrepancy in Krystaleen's description but honestly you could go with either of the two and it'll be fine. Just keep that in mind when deciding how tough of an encounter you want to make it... DM empowerment and all that


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-10 The Skull Square Murders
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-09 Fangs and Frogs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2019 13:45:42

Overall this is a great module. I was completely satisfied by the number and quality of the maps included in this module. The story was creative, though maybe a bit confusing if you don't take the time to read the module. The BBEG was a ton of fun to play and my players loved finding out its secret. I think this is going to be a nice one to replay with future groups.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-09 Fangs and Frogs
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-08 Crypt of the Dark Kiss
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2019 13:33:46

DMing this module was very straight forward. The combat was enjoyable and when it came to exploration/figuring things out we had a good time. I think the bonus objectives are an interesting touch and a nice tie-in to the Undermountain, though they aren't super important for the trilogy. This is great, because I think bonus objectives should be just that, a bonus, not required to understand what is happening. The map provided was very easy to read and use when I prepped the module for my players, though it would have been even better if there was a Player map and a DM map.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-08 Crypt of the Dark Kiss
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-07 Into the Dark
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2019 13:32:39

Overall this was a fun adventure to DM for my players, though in all honesty the quality of the image provided of the map really deterred me from setting this up for months. The map itself wasn't bad, but throwing in a skewed picture of a gridded map was a definite frustration. The writing was fun and it would be interesting to see other modules with the "BBEG" of this module in it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-07 Into the Dark
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2019 17:12:10

I saw this and had to buy it. It offers an Adventurers League module along with some fun pregens which use the crazy Non-AL player options. I had 5 players and we utilized all of the pregen character sheets that are included in this pack. It was so much fun to try out these zany character options that I think it'll give some players a bit of heartburn when they come to grips that they aren't yet [fingers crossed] available for play in AL.

I found a couple minor editing issues in the adventure itself, but nothing that took more than a moment to figure out.

Here are the highlights:

  • Extra Life!
  • Great creativity
  • Fun interactive story
  • Neat award
  • Interesting combat, traps, puzzles
  • A couple of Easter Eggs in there for good measure


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-09 Minsc & Boo's Guide to Stuff and Things
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-KUMORI-02-01 Vacant
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2019 17:15:06

What you get is worth way more than what you pay for. In particular I really appreciate when a mod like this has maps and tokens added to the package because it not only adds ambience, it also helps make my life easier as a DM. The story itself can be SUPER CREEPY and I LOVE IT!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-KUMORI-02-01 Vacant
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review, Red! I have so much fun with the creepiness of this adventure too!
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alfredo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2019 06:33:35

I like this product because it's given me most of what I need to begin DMing Adventurers League games. I can't say it's perfect because I still frequently need questions answered by the admins on Facebook, but I like that these documents are constantly updated. I particularly like the consolodation of information in the content catalogue, but I wish the FAQs would get more attention.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Durnan's Guide to Tavernkeeping
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2018 13:29:18
Overall:

I highly recommend this adventure supplement!

My Background:
  • I am a relatively new player & DM who started playing AL at the tail end of Season 6 and started DMing at the start of Season 7.
  • I DM and play almost exclusively on Roll20/FG so most of my views are based on those experiences.
  • I stream my games online
  • I am an average person with average cooking/baking abilities
Favorite things about this:
  • The main draw here was that there are options to upgrade the tavern and it does not disappoint. Tavern owners even spend TCP to fund their Tavern!
  • There’s a bunch of new monsters I’m slowly weaving into our campaign
  • I LOVE The fact that there are recipes. I've made a couple already and plan to finish them all. It's my own little private DM Quest.
  • The Art for the Bottle Lables is so cool!
What I did not like:
  • Trying to figure out how this will work with Adventurers League rules is kind of pain
How I think the negatives can be mitigated:
  • Maybe the resource could be given some more concrete guidance in the Adventurers League Content Catalogue, but I’m not going to ding this resource for that. That’s more of an AL-ism than anything.
Potential problems with mitigation actions:
  • Some players are vehemently against more regulations in AL, but again, that’s more of a situation within the AL community than with this resource.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Durnan's Guide to Tavernkeeping
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2018 15:52:19

I highly recommend this adventure, 5/5! Worth every penny. Perfect for use between Chapter 1 and 3 of WDH and/or use it as a way to level up people that are new to your Waterdeep campaign. Gives current players a chance to make some alts to add to their burgeoning Trollskull Alley Mercenary Company.

Pros: Stellar map; Fun traps; Many secrets; Interesting rewards

Potential Cons: This can take much longer than expected to complete

Silver Lining: You're definitely getting what you paid for and more.

//Start of original post! DDHC-WDH-03 Spoilers, I guess kind of a partial review. I'm not perfect, but we had fun and I felt like sharing my thoughts with you. Not only did we have fun, we raised like another $15 and 300 bits towards the St. Louis Children's Hospital bringing the total raised to $1741.52.

My main WDH group (The Lucky Lyres) has had some turnover and new players have joined the fray.

We've done the first chapter, then we did all six T1 DDAL modules and those who have stayed are currently level 5. This week was meant to be an off week while we waited for the T2 DDAL modules are released to DMsGuild. One of my players is a DM and he offered to DM some Eberron content. I was super excited at the prospect since I haven't touched that material at all, but I love the setting. Alas, he got called away to do work at the last minute and I had to throw together my backup plan, DDHC-WDH-03 "Blue Alley." We had 5 players with level 2-4 characters. I introduced the module in The Lucky Lyre Tavern (Trollskull Manor) and one of the main party members got used as an NPC who are testing the mettle of these new characters. He introduces them to Mirt who fills the group in about some of the details. I used one of the recommend NPCs as a hired mercenary for Mirt and one of the character immediately challenges her to an arm wrestling match. He loses while the merc downs a pitcher of ale and then she brings him in close to warn him about one of the dangers of the mission Mirt is sending them on. The players eventually make their way toward Blue Alley and that's when the fun begins...

This is supposed to be a 4 hour module, but my party is cautious in pursuit of the objective and I rarely handwave stuff if it seems like the party is enjoying what's happening, sooo they cleared 8/28 rooms in a 4 hour span. I'm not sure if they will actually explore all 28 areas, but they have decided to stay in the Alley and play this module again next week instead of moving on to WDH or T2 DDAL Modules, so I guess it was a success.

The traps in this place definitely set the tension, probably adding to how cautious they were being. I've been trying to make sure I monologue less frequently, especially here, so that the players can be more engaged. I let my players know ahead of time that they might want to take notes, especially when I footstomp some clues. I think that might be going well so far... we'll see at the end.

I personally made at least one error because I either misread the map or missed the text that explains it, but things seem alright. I retconned it that one of the players (the arm-wrestler) did a feat of strength which allowed them to pass a barred off area.

The high res map is BEAUTIFUL and I am glad I was able to correctly set it up so it aligned with the grid in Roll20, but it definitely took some finagling.

I am hesitant to confer a rating on this yet because we haven't completed the whole thing (hence this isn't on DMsGuild yet) but this is shaping up to be a 5 out of 5 scenario.

//Follow up Post! The party completed spent another 4+ hours in the Blue Alley and still didn't uncover all the secrets within. They ultimately did find the main thing they were looking for and returned to Mirt, the quest giver... but they did so empty handed and managed to deceive him about it. Overall, I really loved playing this module and I'd give it a 5/5.

Session #1 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wFs4G_kAXQI Session #2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M5u4ZHXdT6s



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alfredo P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2018 11:11:58

I decided to give this a whirl because of the low barrier to entry and short amount of time commitment involved. The game recommends 4-5 players but I basically just ran the additional pregens like NPCs and had my daughter roll the dice for me. I asked her what character she wanted to play and we took one of the pregens and I let her customize it however she wanted. Overall she had a TON of fun and as soon as we finished playing she started coming up with a sequel adventure. Thanks a bunch, the adventure worked better than advertised!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Slayers: The Heroes of Hesiod
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL00-05 Winter's Splendor (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2018 12:05:05
Overall:

I highly recommend this adventure. Absolutely loved the story and I didn't have any problems with story flow/game mechanics.

My Background:
  • I am a relatively new player & DM who started playing AL at the tail end of Season 6 and started DMing at the start of Season 7.
  • I DM and play almost exclusively on Roll20/FG so most of my views are based on those experiences.
  • I stream the games on Twitch for the Extra Life charity (http://extra-life.org/participant/red), so I spend a lot of time prepping my modules.
  • I use Discord to communicate via voice
What I liked:
  • So many fun NPCs that the DM can choose to flesh out and incorporate in future games/sessions/modules/adventures!
  • I loved the chance to interact with the Cassalanters in this setting so that players can get to know the family a bit and begin to develop their own ideas about them.
  • While there are puzzles which may stump players, there is guidance within the module to empower the DM to help them figure out the Why/How/Wheres of it all.
  • Even though I spent a lot of time roleplaying our group manage to run this within the specified time limit. Other DMs will easily be able to make this a shorter run.
  • The player rewards are very cool! I wish I would have gotten to play this with my main Season 8 character!
Things I'm not so sure about:
  • There are a few things where the module says something along the lines of, "Refer to Waterdeep: Dragon Heist for more info."
  • Why the "dousing touch" is bolded? I don't notice anything mentioned to explain it.
  • Could the Song the characters get be put under a Story Award instead of Magic Item? I think that might clarify some confusion people have
How I think the situations can be mitigated:
  • Regarding the module referencing WDH, I don't think it negatively impacts the gameplay too much but DMs might just need to stretch their own creativity.
  • I kind of just figured another entity like Orcus (not mentioned in the text, I made this bit up) is meddling.
Potential problems with mitigation actions:
  • It might require that the DM read this module ahead of time to help smooth out these bits in case players ask questions. Our friendly "Winger" DMs might not have that opportunity to figure out due to time constraints.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-05 Winter's Splendor (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2018 17:07:19

I highly recommend this adventure. It's a beautiful module, which throws adventurers into a battle of cosmic proportions and consequences.

I am a relatively new player & DM who started playing AL at the tail end of Season 6 and started DMing at the start of Season 7. I DM and play almost exclusively on Roll20/FG so most of my views are based on those experiences.

What I liked:

This story continues the theme of questioning the difference between good and evil. Though many players will go through the same main events, many will come out of it with different toughts. The adventurers thirsty for combat will not be disappointed as they face tough opponents and they will have the opportunity to use strategy to defeat some foes. This story has a lot of replayability because it has multiple avenues for player agency; I have been through the adventure several times and the adventure was not ever exactly the same The game took about as long as expected The rewards for playing this game were a fun little surprise. Finally my favorite part: This module was MADE to be played online! There were tons of extras provided upon purchase. These include art assets, fantasy ground module, tokens, maps, Handouts, etc.

I look forward to seeing future iterations of this series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-AETHER-01-01 The Heir of Orcus: Verse I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2018 17:04:51

I highly recommend this adventure. It’s a beautiful module throws adventurers into a battle of cosmic proportions and consequences.

I am a relatively new player & DM who started playing AL at the tail end of Season 6 and started DMing at the start of Season 7. I DM and play almost exclusively on Roll20/FG so most of my views are based on those experiences.

What I liked:

This story kicks off having the players of questioning the difference between good and evil. Though many players will go through the same main events, many will come out of it with different toughts. The adventurers have a lot of opportunity to role-play and interact with the different factions in the module. There is great flexibility granted to the DM and players and I love it. This story has a lot of replayability because it has multiple avenues for player agency. Of the several times I have been through the adventure and events were not the same twice. The game took about as long as expected The rewards for playing this game were a fun little surprise. This leads me to the art included in the module. Finally my favorite part: This module was MADE to be played online! There were tons of extras provided upon purchase. These include art assets, fantasy ground module, tokens, maps, Handouts, etc.

I look forward to seeing future iterations of this series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-01 The Heir of Orcus: Verse I
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Lost Laboratory of Kwalish (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2018 03:33:39

I DM'd this as a one-shot Thanksgiving treat for some of my usual players. We typically play stuff for the Adventurers League, but I really like to support Extra Life modules when I can. The adventure itself was just so different than other things we've played. I loved the technological bent to it while still making it familiar to people only used to playing in 5e. The players also kind of got really derailed right off the bat due to some shenanigans with one of the Hirelings which caused a player to need to use another character sheet for awhile. It really made the module stand out and I'd be interested in running a longer version of it in the future.

I can't see this module ever being Adventurers League legal, but without a doubt everyone had a blast and I'm glad I picked it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Laboratory of Kwalish (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-03 Dock Ward Double Cross
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2018 12:46:40
Overall:

I recommend this adventure. As a player I think the combat can be challenging, but it leads to an interesting continuation of the trilogy. As a DM I think there are areas that need work.

My Background:
  • I am a relatively new player & DM who started playing AL at the tail end of Season 6 and started DMing at the start of Season 7.
  • I DM and play almost exclusively on Roll20/FG so most of my views are based on those experiences.
  • I stream the games on Twitch for charity, so I spend a lot of time prepping my modules.
What I liked:
  • The begining of the mod is fine you can pretty much jump into to adventure without having played the other modules
  • I enjoy the way the mod ends, it's very interesting and provides interest for future adventures with these characters.
  • There are a lot of scenarios that a DM can use in the gameplay.
What I did not like:
  • The extra scenarios didn't have a ton of guidance
  • One of the scenarios might have benefited with a little better description of the cobblers shop.
  • DMs might be tempted to run everything which can lead to going over time. It took me approximately 5hrs while skipping some stuff.
How I think the negatives can be mitigated:
  • DMs should try plan out ahead of time which of the scenarios they might run and have a rough outline on how to deal with them.
  • DMs need to keep an eye on the clock
Potential problems with mitigation actions:
  • The fixes might require slightly more prepwork by the DM


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-03 Dock Ward Double Cross
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items