Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Solo Adventure Bundle 1 $34.00
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
18 16
3 2
1 0
0 1
0 0
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Darren C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2020 09:44:31

This was great fun, and will be helpful when my regular groups can't meet for one reason or another, and I still need my fix.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mari R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2020 19:12:40

If you ever liked gamebooks then be prepared for the next step with this bundle. I, probably the same as you, have tried so many of them that promised a lot but delivered the same old stuff with a few twists, not nearly enough to consider them an evolution of the genre. Maybe just good as an ephemeral antydote for nostalgia and nothing more.

But oh boy, here comes Paul Bimler, master of the solo systems, to finnally discover El Dorado. This is the closest you are going to be to playing D&D by yourself and feeling like good old group RPGing. Not even tabletop games that try to mimic them get near it. The first of the series, "The Death Knight Squire", is just a testing ground, a small appetizer for the real thing. The system just gets better and better, and you just start leveling your character and developing his story and even roleplaying him! All just by yourself. Mix a very fine writing quality with some really innovative and creative mechanics and voilá. Potion of FUN.

Get yourself some tokens (I even homemade my own just for this games), print out those maps and get ready for some epic role playing adventures. Finnally possible without a DM. This time, for real.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2020 03:54:09

It's hands down the best gamebook I ever seen. The choices are sound and not restricting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Edward L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2020 17:14:05

OMG... These adventures are awesome. They are so well written and balanced. I really enjoyed them all. I just bought the next adventures in the series and am looking forward to those. Nothing wrong in the text. No problems. Just make sure you take some short rests...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2020 09:14:57

I have really enjoyed these adventures so far! I had tried one solo earlier from a different writer/group and was left feeling that particular one could have been done a lot better - understanding how much work that it would take. The "Death Knight" adventure, "ToZK" and "Citadel of the Raven" have all shown what all that extra work can do! On my end, I can use the pdf book and the maps in separate tabs on the web browser and take notes and utilize the "Theatre of the Mind" for truly engaging fun adventures that I can enjoy getting into whenever I have some free time to do so. Having been "out of the loop" of the DnD worlds for quite awhile, it was also tremendously fun to see the references to the Forgotten Realms campaign guides and accessory information/stories/names created back in the 2e days. It got me into looking up and gobbling up those creative histories, and reminded me of how much fun and engaging a DnD adventure can be. The work and research - and the tip of the hat references to those histories - that went into these adventures is just fun and tremendous. Thank you and well done. Looking forward to the next adventures in the bundle!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ronald G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2020 16:35:49

What a great way to try out the rules if you're new to the game! I used to play a lot of Choose Your Own style gamebooks back in the 80s. This goes way beyond those. I just played through The Death Knight's Squire and was blown away! This is the full 5e table top experience for the solo player right down to the printed maps and miniatures (if you got 'em!) I started playing D&D 5e recently (since January 2020) with a group, and I bought these adventures to learn the game better while playing. This bundle is worth every penny. I'm looking forward to playing the next adventure, The Tyrant Of Zhentil.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2020 12:02:07

Wow - just wow. I ran through Death Knight's Squire with my son last night and was blown away. This is legitimately a FABULOUS way to have a D&D adventure with just one or two players. The balance is hard to skew when you add another player - doubling the monsters is not quite right as it would be hard to create groups of monsters that would easily overwhelm a small party of Lvl 2 players - but with a bit of play, you can see where the book acts as an excellent DM.

I did see comments in the standalone reviews for DK that mention how the writing is "inconsistent" due to the various times of day not matching up as players take time backtracking or moving in ways that the author didn't anticipate. In our playthroughs, I did see this but I didn't think that these distracted much from the experience. I could just overlook the timing descriptions or rewrite them on the fly. My guess is that in future adventures, this will not be an issue. I'm also guessing that the author learned from this experience and changed the way that these are written.

In all, I can't recommend these highly enough. As a father playing with his son, this experience gives me the opportunity to play alongside my son and not just serve as the DM with an NPC or DMPC. I can't wait to continue with Tyrant and am giddy seeing how much content is there - - and we have two more after that!!!!! Tee-hee!

WELL DONE and I plan on buying everything from this publisher over time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Many thanks Andrew! I am glad you and your son are enjoying these. And yes, I hope I did learn a lot going on from this adventure. Minor correction, however... there are now THREE more adventures in the series after Tyrant :) Citadel of the Raven The Tortured Land Drums at Daggerford (just released so not in the bundle) Thanks for the kind words, means a lot.
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2020 19:25:28

I just discovered these solo gamebooks and have played and ran a friend through the first two titles. These are well thought out adventures with many interesting things to do and a lot of replayability because in one play through (especially Tyrant of Zhentil Keep and I'm sure the subsequent adventures) you won't be able to see or do everything there is. However, these go well beyond just being good solo adventures or something one can use to DM their friends.

I don't want to spoil anything because the stories are best discovered through play, so I won't give a lot of specific details. However, what I find most valuable is the ideas I am taking for running my own games. I currently am DM'ing three different D&D games. While my players in all of the games enjoy combat, they also like to role-play and spend time in exploration mode. To me, that is where these adventures really shine because Paul brings in some cool ideas for how one could explore a town within a time limit so not everything is possible.

In addition, there are some fun ways players can find items that can be directly useful later in the encounter. I'm not talking about the standard list of equipment in the Player's Handbook. He has added interesting, unique items and ways they can be useful in later encounters (some of them combats).

I adapted the first two adventures for Roll20 to use the Virtual Tabletop. It's a great way to know where everyone is during a combat and also easily track hit points and when running for someone else the ability to roll dice online removes any concern about the validity of rolls.

There is also some really good artwork in the books and I like how Paul has also incorporated ways for the player to get inspiration in the game!

I'd write more in this review but I want to go play Citadel of the Raven and my friend also wants to continue his adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marius M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2020 17:03:46

Varied and challenging collection of adventures, I had a lot of fun taking my Hexblade from 2 to 5 over the last days. Some inconsistencies threw me off a little, like the switch from XP to waypoint-based levelling and some missing links in the documents on a technical side, or, content-wise, my horse disappearing on a regular basis and the amount of loot and magic items available to low-level characters (then again, I would not have made it through The Tortured Land without the gear collected in the previous adventures). I recommend getting Tables Of Doom as well for more single-player fun in a bit more of a dungeon crawl setting. I look forward to Drums at Daggerford and until then I'll probably start another playthrough soon.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rodolfo G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2020 19:32:30

Dear Paul,

I just finished playing through all modules. I purchased the bundle because I'm a deal grabber! Ireally enjoyed all of it. I got 3 Characters up to Level 5 now in a very real and challenging way. I know that I can play through these again and take another Level 1 Character all the way because of how much variety you place in your adventured. I really look forward to your next addition. Are you doing this as a hobby or full time? I think if you dedicate yourself and really just write you can carve out a niche for yourself in solo adventures.

The only thing I find lacking here is the production quality and the Art direction of the PDF itself. Paul if you collaborated with a graphic designer and invested in some amazing imagery and designs, it would take your craft to another level. It's part of the total package.

I would never have a problem paying $10 for your next adventure.

Regards, Rodolfo Garcia AKA Life Cleric of Aesclepius Rodrigo Aesclepiates



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Emery B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2020 06:53:06

I just finished the first adventure -Death Knight's Squire and I enjoyed my time. The encounters were fun, seamless and enjoyable. I particuarly like that I couldn't predict some of what was going on. Thanks for an enjoyable set. Planning on playing Tyrant of Zhentil Keep this weekend as a 2-player adventure. As a side note, I haven't played D&D since 3.5 and it's tough differentating between what's new -what I forgot but the encounters and layout were still great for me to follow and enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leo S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2020 04:56:05

5/5 Perfect for passing time in a pandemic.

Firstly, this is exactly what a forever DM needs. After finally finishing the fourth module (Tortured Land) I can report I am quite satisfied with my purchase. I played the modules in order beginning with the Death Knights Squire. The individual modules fit well together into a complete package and so I suggest playing them in order, if only to see if your character can go the distance. Strict rule adherence resulted in five character deaths before completed the last module. In the intro to Tyrant of Zhentil Keep the author writes, "This adventure is not easy. The whole idea of ‘balance’… meh. Real life isn’t balanced, and sometimes you will encounter things beyond, or below, your abilities." Prepare to reroll your character constantly and start from scratch if you want the real experience. The entire adventure you are a few bad rolls away from your grave.*



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eduardo R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2020 23:37:44

The series of books was amazing. As a forever DM I can't express how much fun this and the authors other works are. I'm finally able to play the game I love so much without having to go out and find random people to play with. I can't wait to see if more content similar to these adventures is going to be released. On a side note this (and the rest of the author's solo series) is really good for testing of homebrew classes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ian J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2019 18:36:18

Over all, I absolutely loved this series, 5 stars! Take this rating with a grain of salt. The 2 star rating came from my salty experience from the fourth adventure, the Tortured Land. Going through the Pass of Auril is broken in multiple places! There are several points where sticking to the Pass of Auril story line forces you to loop your choices back to something you have already done! Has anyone else run into this?

Trying to cut spoilers out as best as possible, this happens first at entry 60, which is after you have taken your first long rest. You wake up, and get thrown back in time to previous events! I managed to piece together a way to get around this by searching for some specific key words to get me on my way, but it happens again later! On entry 322, after you descend from the pass in one piece, you have an option to continue on the current path to 292. If you do, however, the story spits you out to an earlier entry, before the pass! So frustrating. I didn't want to have to search for the next entries to bypass this problem again, so I gave up and took the other option. Pretty dissappointing.

Again, overall, I love these solo campaigns. They are amazing, and I will confidently use them in future campaigns with 1 to 2 players. Thank you for writing them! I just hope there will be a second edition to clean up the mistakes in the Tortured Land. If there is, I will happily update this to 5 stars over all.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hey Ian Thanks for the heads up. I will get onto this as soon as I get a chance.
Solo Adventure Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by JD B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2019 19:06:58

As a DM, I really ejoyed getting to roll the dice and have a sense of mystery around the world. Althought I've only completed the first adventure, I am looking forward to this whole series!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items