Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
Publisher: Necrotic Gnome
by Lex M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/31/2019 17:25:21

Amazing. The layout and wording is the same great stuff we saw in B/X Essentials but with the EXTREMELY helpful addition of Ascending AC rules and some cool new art. If you play B/X you should be using this book. Can't wait to get the individual physical copies to pass around the game table. Also that alternative cover art is radical!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Artificer
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lex M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2019 09:31:41

Really great take on the Artificer! Very well written with concise and easy to understand language as well as some great flavor. Also very cool spell list choices. I think the Alchemist and Saboteur Specializations feel dwarfed by how many options you have with the Homonculist but they seem no less effective. This is a high quality product, especially for the PWYW tier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artificer
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Companion Spells
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lex M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2019 17:21:04

This is a really cool little doc! A lot of these spells play with action economy in interesting ways, allowing your ranger and their animal companion to take advantage of specific combat situations. These feel both effective and flavorful while not seeming to add too much power to the equation. Most importantly they give you a much larger variety of ways to use companion. Given the price point and the ease of integration (given the documents length), there is no reason not to grab this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Companion Spells
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Mad Mages of Undermountain
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lex M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2018 14:52:02

I was really taken by how amazing this documents cover is, but I'm glad the content within matches. This is a useful supplement for adding NPCs to DotMM. The Mages are interesting and well fleshed out, yet the writing is also tight and succinct. There are good dungeon maps for each mage's lair as well as the minions you'll encounter there. My only issue is that with the lair maps I assume there would be more writing on encounters and traps within but no such luck. So this is a great framework for me to make additions to Undermountain with, but not something I would run "out of the box". Overall, check this out, the characters really jump off the page and it's only $1!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mad Mages of Undermountain
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lex M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2018 17:17:26

Wow this is great! Okay maybe not for the dungeon. The dungeon is fine...but thematically doesn't have much to do with ToA. Also I altered a section at the end that involves fighting a weakened (but still very powerful) enemy. I really didn't want to accidentally TPK my party on the first session of a new campaign. That said, the brilliance of this book is the system for creating a shared relative. It worked wonders with my group of (mostly) new players. It brought them together, made them gell as a team, and gave them a fantastic reason to want to end the death curse. They loved it. I loved it. It was the PERFECT way to start Tomb of Annihilation in terms of party interaction. Thank you James Introcaso for this amazing idea!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Secrets of the Sandfolk
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lex M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2018 17:06:45

This is a really fun little rules supplement! The Sandfolk race is well balanced and very fleshed out conceptually. If you're a fan of the Experience Points web series this is totally worth picking up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of the Sandfolk
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lex M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2018 17:02:24

This is a useful tool for running Tomb of Annihilation with some cool ideas in it. However, I feel it falls a bit short on some of the encounters. While ideas like The Most Dangerous Game not only fit great in Chult but can easily be expanded into multiple sessions, many feel out of place or just provide very little play time. I think this inconsistency comes primarily from different authors writing different sections. It's not to say that any of this book is bad, but considering the price point I would have wanted a little more content. I only used about half of what was presented in here when I ran ToA for the reasons stated above and I admit a lot of that comes down to personal preference. I just wanted to love everything in here but only loved some of it. Overall I'm torn as to whether I would recommend it. If you love running games in Chult it's likely worth the money. This is Guild Adept content and that shows. However, if you're just running ToA and don't intend to use the setting outside of that you may want to skip this particular title.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Encounters in the Jungles of Chult
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Power of Heavy Metal: Free RPG Day 2018
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alexander R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2018 17:10:50

Always fun to see a new Luke Monroe release. He always puts really silly and fun ideas in his stuff. Now there isn't much in here...but its free so what do you want? This is two really cool ideas and a character created around the idea of playing rock music in your D&D game. I love the flavor text in this doc, mostly because it's from a muscle wizard...sorry THE Muscle Wizard of Waterdeep. My only problem is some of the formatting looks a little weird and the character sheet at the end looks a bit odd in that font, but that's pretty nitpicky.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Power of Heavy Metal: Free RPG Day 2018
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
I agree that my character sheets need some work. I’m working on a complete redesign. Thanks for the great review. I’m glad I could help make your Free RPG Day a good one!
Manual of Masks
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alexander R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2018 00:03:30

This has some really fun ideas in it that I can't wait to play around with. The Warlock stuff is especially good and super flavorful. Plus anything that gives that class spell storage sounds great! My only issue with this is that it's too dang short. Not that the price isn't appropriate but I feel like we're just skimming the surface of what one could do thematically with masks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Manual of Masks
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Minor Magics
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alexander R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2018 22:45:12

This is a delightful little document! The formatting is basic but effective, making use of a font we don't normally see. More importantly this is all landscape formatted, which makes it way easier to read on electronic devices. The spells are really fun! There are some super cool ideas in here, like probability control and creating a little minion out of astral goo. What really pulls it together though, are the anecdotes about each of the spells. Reading this makes me want to check out an adventure from this author. They write flavor really well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minor Magics
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Dungeon Crawl Classics #67: Sailors on the Starless Sea
Publisher: Goodman Games
by Alexander R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2018 20:15:19

This adventure rocks my socks.

If you're looking for a pulpy, gorey, almost-everybody-dies type adventure. Look no further. Sailors on the Starless Sea makes use of DCC intriguing "character funnel" by making your players the angry mob out to rescue their captured townsfolk from the forboding castle.

I have a bunch of friends who are horror nerds and this game really appealed to them. The crazy 70s pulp vibe bleeds through with Kovacs' art and Stroh's flavor text here. Each encounter is more like a fantasy grindhouse movie than the last.

I'm definitely going to check out more of Stroh's stuff for DCC.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Crawl Classics #67: Sailors on the Starless Sea
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Ruins of Mezro
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alexander R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2017 20:51:06

Disclaimer I haven't run all of Ruins of Mezro yet, just one of the one-shots. So, Ruins of Mezro is awesome. Why? Well first off look at that cover layout, way more engaging then just art with title text. (not to knock other supplements, but come on) Next you're going to read the dang thing and notice how well fleshed out and creative the ruined city is. It's got ancient curses, mysterious locations, piles of monsters, and a facinating backstory. This city feels like a living setting (which is funny on acount of how many undead are in there). There are so many ideas for other adventures in the city I get from reading about its crystal tower or its maze quarter. Even just the random encounters are fertile with cool story ideas, like that Death Knight guy or the wanderer. Then we've got these NPCs, who are really interesting. Cimber shows up sure, but there's also a cursed Goliath warrior and an insecure cult leader who I love to run. These characters really pop because of their flaws and motivations. Oh and there are lots of hooks from this supplement to Tomb of Annhilation and vise versa. That's what I was expecting, and granted I haven't read ToA so I can't say how well it will fit in practice but in theory it looks like it should be seemless. Next we get the three adventures, which manage it pack some really intruiging role playing moments into their single-session format. That's something I think is hardest to pull off and it's doable in large part because of the well made NPCs. Frankly I think the adventures (which consist of around 10 of the packet's 40 pages) are the least interesting thing in here. Not because they're bad, they're not, they're great. The city they're set in however...well it's just way more interesting. Finally we get some special monsters that show up and a cleric domain. This is fun looking stuff too but I haven't been able to test much of it. In my opinion this kind of supplement is the best thing a DM can get ahold of. Not because it gives us epic plots or complex mechanics, but because it gives us a well thought-out framework with which to create. And isn't that the most fun part?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Mezro
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Myrr 5e Campaign Setting (World of Myrr)
Publisher: Cawood Publishing
by Alexander R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2017 18:22:35

This is a testament to one man's creativity. This isn't a book about mechanics, this is a book about flavor. Cawood gives us nearly 300 pages of a custom made world for us to explore. We get a detailed world history, races, a pantheon, and lots of locations and npcs. Almost every concevable quest you could have as a DM about how to put together an adventure in this world is answered...in detail. Want to know what kinds of D&D monsters would fight for a certain faction? You got it. Want to know who runs an obscure border village? Done. Want a bucket of world-specific plot hooks to throw at your party? You know it's in there. My only criticisms are I'm not a huge fan of the font choice and some of the formatting. That aside, a lot of thought went into this book and it really shows. If you're looking for a new campaign setting to try, pick this up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Myrr 5e Campaign Setting (World of Myrr)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items