Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1 $5.00
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
24 10
1 1
2 0
0 0
0 0
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2020 07:31:11

Got this bundle and have sofar found it extremely worthwhile. Halasters Game is a brilliant twist on running the Undermountain. As written, Dungeon of The Mad mage is low on NPC and roleplay; there is some and workable stuff, but this bundle gives so much more life to it. I read this with the module side-by-side. Not every room is adapted, but with the 3 levels included in this bundle, I think its about 8-10 rooms with new life given to them!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Miguel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2020 06:13:18

By itself, Dungeon of the Mad Mage asks a lot of the DM - Halaster requires a good amount of fleshing out and thought in order to shape him into a compelling character to act as the foil to the PCs and, despite the tremendous amount of sheer content packed into the book when you look at it as a complete set, the moment to moment and room to room gameplay often feels under-developed and, at times, barren.

This bundle fixes nearly all of that.

It provides DMs with the tools to rethink Halaster, even if they don't want to import the game-show framing of Halaster's Game wholesale. It re-weaves the internal narratives of each level, expanding on them and making sure each session will include at least one interesting scenario, character interaction, or minor arc.

In short, this content goes a long way towards providing serious depth to Dungeon of the Mad Mage, allowing the broader structure of the book to shine by compensating for the often lacking nature of the smaller details. I highly recommend anyone considering running Dungeon of the Mad Mage to read through the first 3 levels of Undermountain in the book, and then to go through this content and merge in whatever you think would make the sessions more interesting.

This is the lacking spice missing from DotMM's large-portioned dishes.

If I were to change anything in this bundle, it would be for each of the entries regarding Undermountain's Gates to include a small blurb regarding what the players might find on the other side. I'm sure this is content included in the following bundles, when the levels the Gates connect to are properly explored, but having this present would have made me more comfortable with encouraging players to just take a little dip into the lower levels via the Gates without worrying that my decisions regarding what was on the other side would clash with some brilliant bit of homebrew content included in the later bundles.

I guess I'll find out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jason R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2019 10:17:40

I just started running Mad Mage before seeing this, and I must say this is brilliant. I bought the first bundle to check it out just on the reviews...then bought the other two a day later. This supplement breathes life into Undermountain and the content has me modifying everything. Great great work. Highly recommended for anybody running Mad Mage. Even if you don't get into the reality show element, the ideas here will work within any framework and Halaster backstory.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Terrance M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2019 21:09:05

Wyatt, Wow. I love the concepts you came up with for DotMM. I was just getting ready to take some friends through this adventure when a one of my friends told me about this website. I couldn't believe my luck in finding your bundle(s) (I'm going to get the other ones when I get closer to needing them). The reality TV show idea is brilliant. The commercials, theme songs, and other leitmotifs were a great touch. I also super appreciate the appendix of the magic items as well as all of the monsters and their stats. It definitely keeps me from having to keep flipping through books and slowing everything down. As well, your write-ups for different rooms will be quite useful. Thanks so much for developing these.
I'm curious, are you working on the rest of the levels (after 13), because if so, I'm in! Take care, Terrance



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by RICHARD H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2019 09:46:54

This companion bundle has been at my table throughout the six sessions that I have run to get my party to Skullport. The overall value of this bundle is that it is going to help the DM to get inspiration for bringing this dungeon to life for the party. There has to be a spark and some flair that the DM brings into play, and this companion is going to help you grab that. Particularly useful at all times is the monster stat blocks at the back of this bundle - so much faster than grabbing the relevant hard cover! I salute the author, you have helped bring this campaign to life in an exciting and engaging way! Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sid S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2019 18:41:01

Excellent add-on to the Mad Mage! Highly recommended! So far I've added one other element to the start (before the PCs know they're on a show) - after a battle or other cool action I have Halaster say cryptic numbers in their heads along with praise or scorn. "Amazing!! .34 .34 2.45 2.45" Of course, they don't know those are their Neilsen ratings and shares! The PCs think it's some kind of clue or code. Nice work giving me something awesome to work with Wyatt!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Wow, that's brilliant. Wish I had thought of it.
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by bryce M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2019 12:07:57

Totally changed DoTMM for the better. My party absolutely loves what I'm doing with Hallaster and has already reaped the benefits of this companion on level 1. I can't wait to see what it brings to the remaining levels. Please keep it up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ross F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2019 17:58:52

I really can’t recommend these companion guides enough! New and revamped ideas have helped flesh out the story and any under-developed areas of the Undermountain and Skullport have been rectified, adding more substance and enjoyment in my games.

The guides bring in a whole new meaning for ‘Mad’ in ‘The Mad Mage’, lending Halaster to a Game show host friend and foe to the Player characters. The source material, these guides and the already established lore on Halaster really bring together a NPC that could be played both as an antagonist or a sympathetic reluctant enemy. I was initially worried the "Meta antagonist" would wear thin on my players but so far they've loved him and his zany/insane act.

The bundles especially really are a must buy for any DM currently running or intending to run DotMM. My group are currently (Without spoilers) messing around on the 6th floor, intending to return to Skullport to take on a notable foe that they semi-dealt with in Dragon Heist but in the mean time I’ve been familiarising myself with the lower floors, attempting to weave in smaller aspects as small foreshadowing. I can’t wait until the 10th level is released even though it’ll be some time until my group has made it there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Clinton H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2019 10:28:08

I will say that while i'm not a fan of playing Halaster as a Game Show Host...i'm a little more serious on the lore and gameplay then that, the work that has been done with the DoTMM Companion is amazing. There is a lot of work done to help with organizing the massive amount of material that is Dungeon of the Mad Mage. A lot of great mechanics, for things like Weave addiction, some very creative ways to fill in some of the more emptier parts of the adventure. I love the adventure hook ideas provided to give characters reasons to want to pursue Undermountain further beyond the quests outlined in DoTMM directly.

I had a huge bolt of inspiration to adapt the end of the adventure idea presented in Undermountain, and to use the Warfare Rules presented by Matt Coleville's Strongholds and Followers to turn the end of the Return of the Thirteeen into an drawn out Battle on Skull Island. I also love that suggestions are being given on how to roleplay out some of the more notable NPCs. Even if you don't like the specific suggestion, it will spark other ideas that work for your game, and its worth it.

I will be buying the other Bundles as my PCs get closer to those levels.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jesse B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2019 14:42:59

If the base adventure is the moderately well-decorated living room of an apartment, this Companion is the rug that really ties the room together. You can check out the reviews on the individual levels that are included within this bundle to see all the praise the Companion gets, and it is wholly deserving of it. I am especially looking forward to running the version of Skullport detailed in here, which turns a boring afterthought into a fun, fleshed out narrative with an exciting conclusion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DotMM Companion: Bundle 1
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Austin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2019 21:52:23

I love all the weird quirks this gives to the Undermountain. It will definitely remind the players the dungeon is being run by a "Mad" Mage.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items