Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Ancestral Weapons $4.95
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
78 15
9 1
4 0
0 0
0 0
Ancestral Weapons
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Shane S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2020 15:28:47

A lot of work and planning obviously went into the mechanics and layout of this PDF, however I cannot stress the importance of a navigable interface on a document of this relative length. The concept of ancestral weapons is fantastic and the images are descriptive and helpful, but I don't see myself reaching for this supplement on the fly, given the fact that there is no easy way to click through to a specific chapter without time-consuming scrolling and searching.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steven P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2020 10:28:24

This is a well-crafted system to help weapons get more powerful over time. I had a very easy time adapting the content for my home game (shifting it from "ancestral" weapons to "deific" weapons). My players have really enjoyed it; it's a solid system to help the player's personal progression feel meaningful within a larger story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2020 06:03:21

I particularly like this for building a narrative around a barbarian or fighters career as their weapon is not just a weapon. Concepts could easy be applied to armor and equipment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2019 22:24:28

This is absolutely brilliant. My players love it. I threw in a couple minor tweaks to suit my campaign, and it has virtualy turned into a sub-game as players ponder and discuss the merits of their weapons and choices.

I cut and paste 10-12 1abilities per weapon so that no two weapons are identical, add an image, and write up a histtory, and my players are in hog heavan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2019 12:18:04

Wonderful content, If you ever had an 'inheritor' background, an eldritch fighter, an hexblade warlock, kensai monk, or any other "Im magical but weapons are my shtick" character, then this is the Homebrew for you. I also like using it as the new rules for a low-magic game that doesnt use alot of magical items; they feel more like personalized weapons that grow and morph as you do, a la fable 3 weapon concepts; give them some description changes with the additional upgrades and you have literally the perfect weapon RP/combat upgrade. This stuff is gold, and i wish theyd make more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2019 10:13:44

What a fantastic product. A great tool to help add additional customization to your table. Being able to scale your weapons and have them grow with you helps to add versatility, and allows the characters to build a bond with their equipment. We covered this amazing product on our show Crit Academy! Listen to the show here! http://critacademy.libsyn.com/ancestral-weapons Make sure to pick up your copy! We highly recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2019 23:36:14

This feels like a much-needed supplement that provides players and DMs with a way to scale up their starting equipment rather than just throwing away your prized possessions when something with a slightly bigger number comes along. It's a way to incorporate magic items into your game, without players necessarily finding a Flametongue in the belly of a wolf, or a Giant with +3 armour too small for it. It also feels like this should almost be a prerequisite for some classes and archetypes (Kensai, Path of the Ancestral Guardian, Hexblade Pact, and College of Lore all being quick examples that come to mind). I do also like that this exists as an alternative option for constructing magic items to add variety to the options in the DMG.

The only area where I feel like this supplement is lacking is in the depth of options from a non-combat perspective. While I realize that this is kind of the point of weapons, it would have been nice to see more variety in terms of options for things like non-combat encounters, dialogue, travelling, etc. But as I mentioned in the beginning, this supplement was well worth the investment!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2019 16:15:56

On the fence? My thoughts can be found in this review. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YogYhJOZ-U0&t=24s



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brock S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2019 23:01:23

I am using this supplement in a campaign that I run and another which I play in and it is fantastic. It provides an amazingly solid foundation for creating weapons with meaning that I can incorporate into the PC's backstory as well as the story overall. I would this is one of the best purchases I have made on dmsguild.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2019 12:54:14

This is exactly what I wanted for my campaign. We were trying to house-rule this, but it was causing confusion. Thanks so much for this product, and we started using it yesterday. The rules seem very simple and the players are excited to take more control over their game. Now please make a companion document for Ancetral Implements so my spell casters don't feel left out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ben G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2019 05:28:34

A really well thought out and designed product. I would be happy to let my players loose on this without fear of it unbalancing the game. Its also great as inspiration for making your own magic weapons for your campaigns. Ancestral Armour next please!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Hiten D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2019 11:11:00

This is an incredibly well thought-out supplement that would be ideal to use in games where you don't want to bother with standard magic items. Ancestral Weapons allows the DM to give players a signature item that carries significance to their characters. There is potential here for players to bond so much with their weapon that DMs won't even need to worry about other magic item rewards. Loving the continuous upgrades as well!

While I have implemented a similar system in my groups before, I will still give it a shot with other groups I play with. I really want this to work for us, because it has the potential to really change our approach to D&D for the better.

The only thing I'd caution DMs about is to be mindful of how spirit points are awarded. Be mindful of your players' dispositions, and look for ways to award spirit points that doesn't result in a mad dash for points, and a loss of compelling story-telling.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2019 14:37:23

Absolutely fantastic resource. Now that I have it, I'll be using it in ally games. Many thanks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cody B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2019 14:11:11

Weaponry of Legend is a staple in the fantasy genre, and every D&D game I have played in or DMed for during my time with TTRPGs, it has always appeared in one way or another. Ancestral Weapons povides wonderful randome tables, examples, and context to help you craft your own historic weapons for your payers, npcs, or villians. A weapon that grows, and unlocks powers at every turn is a wonderful addition to 5e allowing people to discover what the weapon they wield can truly accomplish, and maybe the history that lies beneath the surface.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brad R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2019 19:42:58

This is a Fantastic offering from the Dungeon Rollers and one of my all time favourites come and see my full review here: https://youtu.be/p0i4YpvU7Xw



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items