Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Ancestral Weapons $4.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
34 10
2 0
2 0
0 0
0 0
Ancestral Weapons
Click to view
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2019 23:36:14

This feels like a much-needed supplement that provides players and DMs with a way to scale up their starting equipment rather than just throwing away your prized possessions when something with a slightly bigger number comes along. It's a way to incorporate magic items into your game, without players necessarily finding a Flametongue in the belly of a wolf, or a Giant with +3 armour too small for it. It also feels like this should almost be a prerequisite for some classes and archetypes (Kensai, Path of the Ancestral Guardian, Hexblade Pact, and College of Lore all being quick examples that come to mind). I do also like that this exists as an alternative option for constructing magic items to add variety to the options in the DMG.

The only area where I feel like this supplement is lacking is in the depth of options from a non-combat perspective. While I realize that this is kind of the point of weapons, it would have been nice to see more variety in terms of options for things like non-combat encounters, dialogue, travelling, etc. But as I mentioned in the beginning, this supplement was well worth the investment!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2019 16:15:56

On the fence? My thoughts can be found in this review. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YogYhJOZ-U0&t=24s



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brock S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2019 23:01:23

I am using this supplement in a campaign that I run and another which I play in and it is fantastic. It provides an amazingly solid foundation for creating weapons with meaning that I can incorporate into the PC's backstory as well as the story overall. I would this is one of the best purchases I have made on dmsguild.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2019 12:54:14

This is exactly what I wanted for my campaign. We were trying to house-rule this, but it was causing confusion. Thanks so much for this product, and we started using it yesterday. The rules seem very simple and the players are excited to take more control over their game. Now please make a companion document for Ancetral Implements so my spell casters don't feel left out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ben G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2019 05:28:34

A really well thought out and designed product. I would be happy to let my players loose on this without fear of it unbalancing the game. Its also great as inspiration for making your own magic weapons for your campaigns. Ancestral Armour next please!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Hiten D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2019 11:11:00

This is an incredibly well thought-out supplement that would be ideal to use in games where you don't want to bother with standard magic items. Ancestral Weapons allows the DM to give players a signature item that carries significance to their characters. There is potential here for players to bond so much with their weapon that DMs won't even need to worry about other magic item rewards. Loving the continuous upgrades as well!

While I have implemented a similar system in my groups before, I will still give it a shot with other groups I play with. I really want this to work for us, because it has the potential to really change our approach to D&D for the better.

The only thing I'd caution DMs about is to be mindful of how spirit points are awarded. Be mindful of your players' dispositions, and look for ways to award spirit points that doesn't result in a mad dash for points, and a loss of compelling story-telling.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/16/2019 14:37:23

Absolutely fantastic resource. Now that I have it, I'll be using it in ally games. Many thanks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cody B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2019 14:11:11

Weaponry of Legend is a staple in the fantasy genre, and every D&D game I have played in or DMed for during my time with TTRPGs, it has always appeared in one way or another. Ancestral Weapons povides wonderful randome tables, examples, and context to help you craft your own historic weapons for your payers, npcs, or villians. A weapon that grows, and unlocks powers at every turn is a wonderful addition to 5e allowing people to discover what the weapon they wield can truly accomplish, and maybe the history that lies beneath the surface.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brad R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2019 19:42:58

This is a Fantastic offering from the Dungeon Rollers and one of my all time favourites come and see my full review here: https://youtu.be/p0i4YpvU7Xw



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2019 09:43:57

Providing an entire framework for supporting weapons with a historical significance and that grow with the power of the one who uses it. You very likely have a campaign that's hinged on this, or a character that's asked for it. Having a clean, balanced set of rules laying out how best to establish such a weapon on both a mechanical and narrative level is highly useful.

The only suggestion I'd give to the authors is adding rules for sort of the inverse of this: the cursed weapon tied to your bloodline that will eventually kill you. Many an edgelord has written this into their character, but this framework is perfect for that sort of thing. ALL of the abilities are positive, it would be nice if there were some really powerful abilities with horrible drawbacks.

I'd say this product would fit in well at nearly any table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items