Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Uncaged | Volume I $14.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
76 35
6 1
0 2
0 1
1 0
Uncaged | Volume I
Click to view
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by MAR A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2019 06:16:47

The worst adventure (For my criteria) I found here was not a bad adventure. Just not my type, difficult to put in my campaign or without some of the traits I like more. I found it like an standard adventure (Not like you all don't enjoy them). I read it and I said "Okay, next"

The best adventure (For my criteria) I found here was dificult to read because I was so enthusiast for it that I start to read too much fast and had to stop and reread some parts. I wanted to see the finish and at the same time I didn't want it to end. I took my planning for my next D&D campaing and though how could i put the adventure there, and also share details with other directors and writters.

Between my favourite features was the CW for every adventure and the way they took monsters whom usually are unnecessary portrait as wicked and turn them into victims, heroes or friends. Also, my favourite adventures step away from the usuall "Go to point A, kill something, go to point B, kill something, go to point C, kill boss". They show ways to pass encounters without combat or killing, they reward the interaction and not the murderhobbing way.

Given that the others adventures were between this "worst" and this "best", I could say this is the best anthology of adventures I have, but It may soon lost this title because I also bought the second volume and is my next book to read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Britt N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2019 13:02:10

I love this anthology. In general, I love stories that give people a touchstone of familiarity and then subvert expectations or wind the story in a new and interesting direction and I like the way the authors accomplish that in these adventures. As I read the first few adventures, I caught myself assembling a group of players out of the people I know and thinking about how to tie things together in a campaign, because I was just so excited by interesting each module was as I kept reading. I have a few adventures picked out for one-shots or public games if my flgs needs a DM in a pinch too. As a product, it's well-formatted and cohesive. The writers are fantastic. I like the art generally, and the cover is stunning. Dozens of people touched this product, but it isn't haphazard or messy. Overall, it's a thoughtful, smart, well-done book that I would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Peter L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2019 18:48:32

I like many of the vignettes in the collection (even if some overlap), but because all the adventures are intended to subvert expectations, you can't use them as-is more than once or twice in a campaign (with savvy players, definitely only once). As soon as players catch on to what you are doing, the impact of the story is lost, because not enough of the stories actually present a moral or ethical dilemma (the only dilemma, typically, is that something you'd normally fight isn't the bad guy, which is a primordial D&D trope). There's also an unfortunate sameness in identifying who is good or bad in each story, such that I highly recommend altering the villains somewhat if you're going to run several of these. I've seen a lot of praise for the artwork in the collection, but it doesn't stand out to me (it's not "Shore of Dreams" quality)--I'd call it adequate.

The formatting is clean, the structure is consistent, and adventures are (mostly) clearly defined and easy to follow. The adventures are easy to adapt to suit your own needs (most of the settings are easily transferred). It's a good, but not great, collection.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Orla n. D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2019 13:53:09

Accessible, fun and different this is an ideal companion to a dungeon master who wants a few ready-to-run one shots or arcs to add to a longer campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Celeste C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2019 02:53:29

GOSH What a phenomenal buy. I promise you there is no better way to spend $14.95 than on this vast collection of not only text, but also art, and visibility of a group of incredible writers. There are so many adventures jam packed in this tome that you will assuredly find one you love. Do yourself a favor and pick up your copy immeadiately! (Also the printed version is bound and printed BEAUTIFULLY)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Griffin E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2019 19:22:09

I've used so many of these in my last campaign and they went over great.

The sympathic backstories really put a turn on my players. There's nothing like watching your player being actively killed by a raging scarecrow while refusing to fight back because they're sure if they can get the night hag to talk to them for a minute that she probably isn't that bad. :-)

I highly reccomend this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2019 07:22:44

I loved this anthology. One of my favorite genres is the "twisted myth," where we take a classic story and look at it from a slightly new vantage point. Like any anthology, some adventures work better than others, but none of them are bad. One thing that makes this a tough book to run at the table is that there is no consistency between the stories. I understand that these are stories gathered from around the world and so we want to keep some note of authenticity to them, but that creates a disjointed adventure. Without a hub city to centralize it, each story feels like you need to start over. If you were trying to run this as a single campaign, some heavy editing on the DM's part is needed to let it make sense. I hope future volumes make it easier to run. I really enjoyed this book, and I can't wait to see what's next!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2019 23:28:44

Where to begin... This is the very first book I have ever been interested in buying from here. It is the first book I used when I DM'd my first campaign. Every story within is well laid out and easy to follow. The very first adventure was a great starting point. Not only does this book give great character to some "women villains" or a different take on their story but, many non male writers/artists are featured here. This is good content. I would look up anything these wonderful people do in the future and look forward to the rest of the anthology.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cindy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2019 12:06:21

I really love this volume. It's beautiful done, the ideas behind the campaigns are unique and interesting, and the campaigns themselves are fun and wellmade. The book is easy to navigate, and it's convenient to have it in both hardback and PDF. I'm looking forward to the next installment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam W.
Date Added: 05/27/2019 10:57:41

This is a review for the PDF version of Uncaged on iPad. Do not buy. You will not be able to view any of the images or maps, and you will be directed to send your complaints about the issue to onebookshelf, who will tell you that it is the author's responsibility to fix the issue, and that there is no timeframe for this.

You can view said images and maps if you open it on a pc or other device, but sorry, if you buy it to view through your ipad, then even viewing through browsers or other apps doesn't work. The device can't render the images, probably because the images are JPEG2000.

I can see other people have had the issue, and it hasn't been addressed, hence the bad review.

The content as it is is genuinely fantastic though. Almost every included module is well written and fully realised, and the art and maps (when you can see them) are brilliant. This is genuinely worth the price of admission if you're viewing it in any other way than on the most popular tablet on the market.

Also, the printer friendly documents are some of the best I've seen in a DMS guild title. Should be the standard moving forward.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nate T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2019 13:26:32

You're getting a huge amount of value out of this product. It's beautifully laid out, with lots of original artwork, and it contains 25 different adventures for you to run. And let me tell you, there are some real gems in here. My favorite is the adventure about the Lamia--but there are a lot of other great ones here too.

There are hours and hours of entertainment in this book. It's well worth the purchase price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jay G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2019 08:08:29

Even though it's been said by multiple reviewers already I have to start off by saying this is a gorgeous book with really well done art and cartography throughout. Even if you don't get to play through as much of the material as you would like, both visually and as a book just to read Uncaged Vol. 1 is extremely well executed and a tremendous bargain for the price.

On my first read through I was primarily focussed on the Tier 1 content as that is my current group's play level and even though that represents a lot of content from multiple writers and artists I found that overall the adventures had a great "feel" by being simultaneous somewhat familiar while mixing in fresh takes and twists to remove predicability.

I wholeheartedly recommend this book. It is objectively well written, designed and illustrated, and I think every DM could find multiple scenarios their groups would enjoy.

Can't wait for Volume 2!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by clive s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2019 07:37:27

I could do a long written analysis, but I have something better.

It is, beautiful. And I mean it really is so, in so may different ways. Get it, and get the POD, then you will know why I say this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brad R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2019 20:59:05

A truly unique collection of adventures by truly talented authors, see my full review here https://youtu.be/gCC-UHxt3v4



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeffrey K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2019 10:13:53

This is an incredibly good collection. I've never seen anything quite like it, and that's too bad, because this is fantastic. DnD could use a lot more products like this, focused on different perspectives and on diversity and inclusion. I eagerly await further volumes.

The few criticisms I have are mostly pretty minimal, almost trivial. Some of the many scenarios presented are a bit linear and underdeveloped. Some of the scenarios are so dependent on specifics of the presented setting that they would be difficult to integrate into an ongoing campaign setting. A lot of them work better as one-shots or for the sort of campaign that involves an itenerant bunch of adventurers wandering from place to place, but that's not a bad thing at all.

Probably the most significant critique I have is that as written, a couple of the presented scenarios more or less play out with the characters being witnesses to events rather than the story being driven by the character choices. I personally feel that is pretty much the cardinal sin one can commit in game design. Stories which aren't ultimately driven by the characters and what they do are probably better left as short stories rather than roleplaying game scenarios.

None of this makes this collection any less wonderful, though. This is top-notch stuff, highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 39 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items