Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Uncaged | Volume I $14.95 $11.21
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
129 41
15 2
3 3
0 1
1 0
Uncaged | Volume I
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Arad J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2020 06:56:31

A bit to linear at times and sometimes the art just feels like sketches. I would definetely recommend the uncaged series but maybe not this one in perticular. This is also the first book in the series so the quaity has hopefully gone up since then.

But its still overall very good and im planning on buying a uncaged hardback book soon.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Philippa S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/18/2020 17:04:33

Having played through two stories with two groups, I can highly recommend the first part of the Uncaged Collection. Each story is well written and clearly laid out so they are easy to prepare and follow. The theme is really interesting and has added some interesting questions to my games. The artwork is also lovely, with a different illustration for each story, which I showed to my players at the end of the session. 10/10!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jordan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2020 16:21:54

This collection of adventures is fantastic.

If you run these adventures you are getting so many hours of gameplay designed to encourage engaging, thoughtful storytelling while connecting you to lore from cultures around the world. There are so many perspectives contributing to these adventures that each one feels like a fresh new concept. You will walk away a more well rounded game master.

If you read these adventures you are getting insight and inspiration to add to your toolbelt that will help you create more interesting games.

If you just simply buy these adventures and never even crack the spine you are getting a piece of art to add to your gaming bookshelf.

It's worth it. I cannot wait to explore future volumes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Leo H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2019 14:06:45

An excellent compilation of short adventures, love the amount of care and detail that has gone into compiling this! Also an excellent theme, definitely going to try and weave a few of these into my next campaign.

I ordered the PDF + Hardback version, and the book really is worth it! Great print quality and quick and simple postage



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2019 22:19:20

Similar to any anthology movie, this is a mixed bag - many of the quests are written extremely linearly, with no alternatives if the characters choose another option (e.g. there's a fun dryad quest where confronting the dryad violently leads to "that was the wrong choice, chase them out of there with fire!") and I definitely wouldn't recommend running this with your players knowing you have it, because after that point the twists (females=good, males=bad) are pretty easy to spot. I'd compare it to Daria, a great show that maybe erred a bit too far on the gender divide. Of the tier 1 and 2 adventures I've read through for my party, Lai of the Sea Hag, The Banshee's Tail, The Demon's Heart, and A Family Reunion seem good, and I plan to weave them into my campaign when I can, but this isn't a book you could use consistently, given the predictability of its twists.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by DM S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2019 10:42:51

Excellent writing, fantastic information, and a whole world of things to explore! Absolutely cannot go wrong with this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Keegan D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2019 15:08:06

There are few products that I could recommend more highly than this. The incredible work on display is nothing short of innovative for the medium, and its coalition of creators and artists have a diverse and thorough voice in this incredible book. I recommend purchasing the Print On Demand copy. It deserves to find a home right next to your WotC-published adventure books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Frobeg O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2019 20:53:53

I loved Uncaged Anthology. This is the first book I ever bought in DMS Guild and the reason I becamed hooked on Books created by the community. Simply amazing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by MAR A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2019 06:16:47

The worst adventure (For my criteria) I found here was not a bad adventure. Just not my type, difficult to put in my campaign or without some of the traits I like more. I found it like an standard adventure (Not like you all don't enjoy them). I read it and I said "Okay, next"

The best adventure (For my criteria) I found here was dificult to read because I was so enthusiast for it that I start to read too much fast and had to stop and reread some parts. I wanted to see the finish and at the same time I didn't want it to end. I took my planning for my next D&D campaing and though how could i put the adventure there, and also share details with other directors and writters.

Between my favourite features was the CW for every adventure and the way they took monsters whom usually are unnecessary portrait as wicked and turn them into victims, heroes or friends. Also, my favourite adventures step away from the usuall "Go to point A, kill something, go to point B, kill something, go to point C, kill boss". They show ways to pass encounters without combat or killing, they reward the interaction and not the murderhobbing way.

Given that the others adventures were between this "worst" and this "best", I could say this is the best anthology of adventures I have, but It may soon lost this title because I also bought the second volume and is my next book to read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Britt N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2019 13:02:10

I love this anthology. In general, I love stories that give people a touchstone of familiarity and then subvert expectations or wind the story in a new and interesting direction and I like the way the authors accomplish that in these adventures. As I read the first few adventures, I caught myself assembling a group of players out of the people I know and thinking about how to tie things together in a campaign, because I was just so excited by interesting each module was as I kept reading. I have a few adventures picked out for one-shots or public games if my flgs needs a DM in a pinch too. As a product, it's well-formatted and cohesive. The writers are fantastic. I like the art generally, and the cover is stunning. Dozens of people touched this product, but it isn't haphazard or messy. Overall, it's a thoughtful, smart, well-done book that I would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Peter L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2019 18:48:32

I like many of the vignettes in the collection (even if some overlap), but because all the adventures are intended to subvert expectations, you can't use them as-is more than once or twice in a campaign (with savvy players, definitely only once). As soon as players catch on to what you are doing, the impact of the story is lost, because not enough of the stories actually present a moral or ethical dilemma (the only dilemma, typically, is that something you'd normally fight isn't the bad guy, which is a primordial D&D trope). There's also an unfortunate sameness in identifying who is good or bad in each story, such that I highly recommend altering the villains somewhat if you're going to run several of these. I've seen a lot of praise for the artwork in the collection, but it doesn't stand out to me (it's not "Shore of Dreams" quality)--I'd call it adequate.

The formatting is clean, the structure is consistent, and adventures are (mostly) clearly defined and easy to follow. The adventures are easy to adapt to suit your own needs (most of the settings are easily transferred). It's a good, but not great, collection.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Orla n. D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2019 13:53:09

Accessible, fun and different this is an ideal companion to a dungeon master who wants a few ready-to-run one shots or arcs to add to a longer campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Celeste C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2019 02:53:29

GOSH What a phenomenal buy. I promise you there is no better way to spend $14.95 than on this vast collection of not only text, but also art, and visibility of a group of incredible writers. There are so many adventures jam packed in this tome that you will assuredly find one you love. Do yourself a favor and pick up your copy immeadiately! (Also the printed version is bound and printed BEAUTIFULLY)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Griffin E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2019 19:22:09

I've used so many of these in my last campaign and they went over great.

The sympathic backstories really put a turn on my players. There's nothing like watching your player being actively killed by a raging scarecrow while refusing to fight back because they're sure if they can get the night hag to talk to them for a minute that she probably isn't that bad. :-)

I highly reccomend this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2019 07:22:44

I loved this anthology. One of my favorite genres is the "twisted myth," where we take a classic story and look at it from a slightly new vantage point. Like any anthology, some adventures work better than others, but none of them are bad. One thing that makes this a tough book to run at the table is that there is no consistency between the stories. I understand that these are stories gathered from around the world and so we want to keep some note of authenticity to them, but that creates a disjointed adventure. Without a hub city to centralize it, each story feels like you need to start over. If you were trying to run this as a single campaign, some heavy editing on the DM's part is needed to let it make sense. I hope future volumes make it easier to run. I really enjoyed this book, and I can't wait to see what's next!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 47 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items