Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Uncaged | Volume I $14.95
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
19 10
2 0
0 0
0 1
0 0
Uncaged | Volume I
Click to view
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2019 14:57:17

I love this anthology so much. Every module is very well-organized/clearly laid out, has a clear hook and central concept, and is perfect for a one-shot or mixing in a one-session sidequest for a campaign. (And it even has a module for high-level characters, which is something I don't see very often.) Not to mention, it's full of absolutely fantastic artwork. I highly recommend it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much, Paul!
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gabriel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2019 20:22:57

This looks very good and I'll be running one of the one-shots this weekend for my group. The layout is extremely helpful. In particular I apprecaite the adventure synopsis (more one-shots need this badly!) and the list of important characters. Both are short, to the point, and right at the beginning. Helps me a ton in selecting which to run.

My only gripe is with the layout of the PDF. Hopefully future versions & volums can include a linked and bookmarked PDF to make it easier to jump from one adventure to the next. (Particularly since there is so much excellent content!) This isn't enough to take off a point for me and I certainly plan to buy the upcoming hardcover and I look forwad to the other volumes on the way.

EDIT: I'm terrible and completely missed the individual printable modules. Extremely helpful! Bookmarked PDF would still be nice for future editions though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Gabriel! Thanks so much for your lovely review! I am working on implementing bookmarks — you'll receive an updated version soon. :)
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by timothy b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2019 13:36:54

Such a refreshing and well crafted dive into the narrative assumptions of traditional fantasy storytelling. An absolute delight to dive into, and I can't escape the sense that I am reading through something important to the larger social history of D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much, Timothy! That means a lot to us! We hope you enjoy the volume. :D
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Callan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2019 05:55:34

This is just the coolest thing to come out of this community... ever? Ever. D&D is such a wonderful game, but as a hobby it's burdened with a problematic history (plenty of it still lingering) and a wealth of horror stories from terrible games and awful tables.

But! In these bits and bytes you'll find stories that come from the beating heart of this community - pain, grief, love, remorse, anger and revenge. Stories told by a wonderfully diverse group of writers, people who have always been a part of this world, and who are already becoming the inspirations and leaders they deserve to be. (For real though, don't sleep on these folx. We're privilaged enough to have caught them before they became worldwide superstars - but it's only a matter of time.)

AAaaaaaallsssooo - $15 is an absolute steal y'all. This is well over a sourcebook's worth of adventures, monsters, inspirations and insights - I can say with absolute confidence that my table will be better for Uncaged's contributions to it. Yours will be too.

This isn't just a compilation of works from marginalized creators, this isn't just a rebuttal to generations of stories told by straight white dudes, and this isn't just a trend that exploded from Twitter and lead to 200+ pages of content - this is all those things (and more), but it's also just great D&D. Unbelievably excited for what comes next - I'm here for ride.

(PS: I've been promised ramped up lesbians? That's worth the price of admission right there.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much, Callan! We're so glad you enjoy our project! Making great D&D is what we aspire to do -- and impact hearts/minds in the process. <3
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 22:48:31

I'm very happy to see this anthology released. The amount of content contained in this is extremely rich and diverse, to the point where it's going to take me quite some time to thoroughly process everything in here. So at this point, my good rating is generally focused on the layout and appearance of the anthology (which are very good) and the sheer variety of content and unique interpretations on all sorts of traditional folklore and tales. I especially enjoyed reading each contributor's individual author's notes and perspectives of their stories. It gave me a much stronger sense of connection to the authors than I typically get from a product.

And to those who might feel a need to complain about "inclusion" or "politics", you're clearly overlooking the last 40-some years of RPG writing, which has been predominantly CHWM-oriented. It's high time that we had some different kinds of stories, presented through different lenses and centered on different kinds of people than what we've traditionally had in most RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
We appreciate that so much, Matthew! We wanted to highlight the creators behind each piece while also letting the stories shine. Thank you for your support!
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Hiten D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 21:47:34

Easily one of the best products I have ever purchased. There are no qualms about what the product is, and that's good. We need products that make creative use of monsters like this and also show how it's OK to subvert stereotypes. Very well put-together encounters, excellent cartography, and evocative art. I especially love the added touch of "author's note" - this is something I wish more products had. It helps to know the inspiration behind a certain piece of writing so that there is less ambiguity about what is trying to conveyed. It can really help a DM present the encounters more compellingly. Perhaps it doesn't work for all products, but certainly does for this one.

My heartiest congratulations to every single contributor who has not only worked hard, but also taken a very brave step in trying to advance the culture of our hobby. This is clearly a work of passion, but also ingenious creativity, and deserves every possible accolade.

From one male PoC to all other minorities who've been systematically excluded before, thank you profoundly. It really warms my heart to see this title succeed. Keep making these brave strides, and don't let the hate bog you down. You guys have contributed something that will help to make this hobby a safer place for everyone, and future generations of D&D will look back fondly on the Uncaged series as a giant leap towards inclusive play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. It means so much to our entire creator community. We're so glad our project resonated with you and so appreciative of your support! <3
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Connor Q. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 20:55:36

Many of the stories in this product are truly inspired in how they intergrate older fables and myths with a creative spins to make them interesting to see at a table game. I especially enjoyed the Dryad entry, which hits the nail on the head about the preconceived notion that all fey HAVE to protect the forest, even at nature's detrement.

However, I do have to take issue with the sheer quantity of modern day social and political opinions into these fantasy stories. The chance of there being a lesbian couple in a story is more then likely, often having no point yo the story other then potential shock value. There's also the fact that there is no prominent male characters that aren't overtly a villain character. And finally one section has a random table for making youth npcs, where there's a 50:50 chance that they are non-Binary or Trans instead of male or female. I understand the purpose of the inclusion, and it's certainly not to add to the narrative.

If you can look past the politics I would definitely recommend the book, but it's mainly just retelling old stories with D&D stats. Hopefully the next book goes more in depth and makes more then one-off encounters.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Just a note that characters with various identities aren't included for shock value. Non-binary folx, trans folx, women, lesbians, bisexuals — and yes, cis men — collaborated on this project. We shared the experiences we have and the people we know and love through the lens of fantasy. All writers and artists bring their experiences into their work. If you're not into our "politics" (meaning, our existences, identities, and lives) then you will probably not like the next few volumes. We're really ramping up the lesbians for vol. 2. :) That said, thanks for purchasing our product and monetarily supporting our project.
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Julien L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 11:54:53

This is a must-buy. D&D has not aged well, and because the core releases are often full of misteps and blindness to the issues some of the older content presents, it is falling to creators like these to change things. They challenge dangerous tropes through a positive and imaginative lens, bringing us forward while respecting the hobby's roots. The volume of content is overwhelming, and we're lucky to have each and every one of these creators in our community.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 11:45:09

It's going to be hard to decompress all the information in here so I'll try to be as clear as I can with this review.

What Is This? A collection of adventures all written to subvert what you know about female monsters.

Why Should I Buy This? If you don't run adventures, there might not be reason to buy this supplement, but as a DM this is chock full of adventures across the level spectrum. All of them (at least on my first read through) are well written, concise and none of them are cut short for length. We're talking a 200+ page supplement, these authors didn't skimp on content or production.

What Did I Love? In all honesty, it was the author information at the end of each adventure. They gave a great context to what was written and why, elaborating on inspirations and adding a little information about the author.

What Did I Dislike? It's hard to find something to criticize about this supplement. I could suggest that the artwork and maps are disparate in design, but this isn't a big company we're talking about. It's the hard work of a blend of different people all coming together, and so that's a weak point to worry about. Even if the artwork isn't consistent or if the maps don't share the same style, everything still looks great on its own.

I think the only real thing I can criticize is the heavy focus on tier 1 adventures. Around half the book (more or less) are tier 1 and those are the levels that players are out of the fastest. More tier 2 and 3 adventures would have been appreciated. But that's a minor point, especially when we're facing a product of this value.

Overall: I think that overall, for just shy of 15 bucks, you're getting a lot of high quality content. The twisting of female monster tropes is awesome, never feeling heavy handed or forced, and the loving attention to detail that went into the product is obvious. I can't wait for the Hardcover release!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Letizia F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 11:27:45

I've been waiting for this anthology for months and i wasn't let down: each story is really well done and thought out, with enough variety in themes and recomended levels I can't wait for the next volumes to come out and i'm seriously thinking of getting them as harcopies as well, since i feel they're a must have in my collection



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 01:24:51

I have been waiting for this to come out. So far anything Ashley Warren has had a hand in has been great, and this continues thetrend. Well worth the cost.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much, James! <3 I really appreciate that!
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items