Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Mirt's Undermountain Survival Guide
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2019 11:06:34

A solid book from the biggest names on the Guild, this supplement contains a little of everything. For races, they're all pretty great although as a DM I'd be hesitant to allow players to be an illithid without the campaign revolving around them. I like all the archetypes, but I am a little soured on the new class. I mean, it's fine but I favor archetypes over new classes and this class feels like it could have been a bard or rogue archetype.

New spells and magic items and hirelings... everything contained in the later chapters are all excellent and I have no complaints about them. I particularly like the new uses of skills listed in the exploration chapter.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mirt's Undermountain Survival Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Call from the Deep: Ships & Crews
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2019 11:02:05

Tables and tables and tables and tables. Even if you weren't interested in the "Call from the Deep" release product (and why not, it looks amazing from all these previews), this exerpt at 95 cents is a steal that could be used in practically every nautical themed campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Call from the Deep: Ships & Crews
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-GLIP-02-01 Blue Scales
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 15:04:11

Disclaimer: I am not an AL admin/DM/player. The opinions here are for personal games, which have a lot more leeway than AL games.

The adventure has players doing work for a starving fortress of evil humanoids. They're lawful evil, for the most part, and have a rigid and structured city that seems like it would be fun to explore.

Something interesting is the authors went out of their way to create branching paths to take them from their quest giver to their final objective and back. This is appreciated because many of these AL modules are very very linear, and if players come up with alternatives to solving them, it can be a surprise for DMs.

From a difficulty standpoint, everything seems to fall in line with other AL modules. Now I haven't played the rest of the modules in the series, and so I can't comment on how well this one connects to the others, but on it's own the adventure stands quite tall.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GLIP-02-01 Blue Scales
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Uncaged | Volume I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 11:45:09

It's going to be hard to decompress all the information in here so I'll try to be as clear as I can with this review.

What Is This? A collection of adventures all written to subvert what you know about female monsters.

Why Should I Buy This? If you don't run adventures, there might not be reason to buy this supplement, but as a DM this is chock full of adventures across the level spectrum. All of them (at least on my first read through) are well written, concise and none of them are cut short for length. We're talking a 200+ page supplement, these authors didn't skimp on content or production.

What Did I Love? In all honesty, it was the author information at the end of each adventure. They gave a great context to what was written and why, elaborating on inspirations and adding a little information about the author.

What Did I Dislike? It's hard to find something to criticize about this supplement. I could suggest that the artwork and maps are disparate in design, but this isn't a big company we're talking about. It's the hard work of a blend of different people all coming together, and so that's a weak point to worry about. Even if the artwork isn't consistent or if the maps don't share the same style, everything still looks great on its own.

I think the only real thing I can criticize is the heavy focus on tier 1 adventures. Around half the book (more or less) are tier 1 and those are the levels that players are out of the fastest. More tier 2 and 3 adventures would have been appreciated. But that's a minor point, especially when we're facing a product of this value.

Overall: I think that overall, for just shy of 15 bucks, you're getting a lot of high quality content. The twisting of female monster tropes is awesome, never feeling heavy handed or forced, and the loving attention to detail that went into the product is obvious. I can't wait for the Hardcover release!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Uncaged | Volume I
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-3MAGS-ONE Vormestrand's Scroll
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2019 12:50:27

There are a number of adventures like this on the guild, designed to have 5 mini-adventures in one extra-length session. I LOVE THESE. Absolutely worth your time to run on it's own or to divide up and use as side treks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-3MAGS-ONE Vormestrand's Scroll
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Adamantine Chef: Supreme Challenge
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2019 12:11:59

A fun adventure (and a great companion to Shore of Dreams) that really isn't like your typical adventure. I can't say I recommend it for everyone, but if you're looking for an adventure that takes itself seriously but isn't serious, I'd give this a shot.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adamantine Chef: Supreme Challenge
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-KUMORI-02-01 Vacant
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2019 11:37:10

The adventure is well written, although a high number of callouts precludes multiple read throughs before running. Other than that, the atmosphere is fantastic. However, if you have PCs that treat cosmic horror as a joke, some of that might be lost.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-KUMORI-02-01 Vacant
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review and rating. I'll continue to work, finding a better balance of information and brevity. Adventure well!
Mountain Summit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2019 11:30:11

A great side trek if you're in the spine of the world, or if your campaign is in any cold region.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mountain Summit
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Shore of Dreams
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2019 11:23:08

For a taste of something that isn't eurocentric, Shore of Dreams is fantastic. This was a single session adventure for my group, and everyone loved it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shore of Dreams
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Ancestral Weapons
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2019 09:43:57

Providing an entire framework for supporting weapons with a historical significance and that grow with the power of the one who uses it. You very likely have a campaign that's hinged on this, or a character that's asked for it. Having a clean, balanced set of rules laying out how best to establish such a weapon on both a mechanical and narrative level is highly useful.

The only suggestion I'd give to the authors is adding rules for sort of the inverse of this: the cursed weapon tied to your bloodline that will eventually kill you. Many an edgelord has written this into their character, but this framework is perfect for that sort of thing. ALL of the abilities are positive, it would be nice if there were some really powerful abilities with horrible drawbacks.

I'd say this product would fit in well at nearly any table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancestral Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Beneath The Ruins - A Basic Rules Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2019 14:11:18

Aside from a magic item that you really wouldn't give out at first level (which is not overpowered, just unusual), this is a well thought out dungeon crawl.

The villains have motivation so this is a great module to learn how to play the game in a combat oriented way.

I would note that there are few chances for roleplaying or exploration. A puzzle guarding a side room, with a talkative monster locked behind it (maybe it explored the dungeon, and the cultists locked it in here for now) that will reward the players if they can extract it safely... something like that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beneath The Ruins - A Basic Rules Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Path of the Tarrasque
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2019 09:34:13

Without actually playing the class all the way to 14, this is more of a "review in progress" but I really really liked this archetype. An icon legendary monster as inspiration for your barbarian, and with really nice production value in the pdf (nice cover, layout is easy to read, etc). Great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Path of the Tarrasque
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Publisher: Modiphius
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2019 09:47:41

As a preview for their full product, I'm excited. The art, layout, and other production elements are all top notch and I like that it's greek inspired and not just greek myth with all the nouns remade. The epic destinies are particularly cool.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Odyssey of the Dragonlords: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Mega Index
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2019 23:07:11

I've played many RPGs and since my preferred stance is to DM, all my favourites have great indexes. Something 5e doesn't do all that well is have a good index. This product right here fixes that problem soundly. Additionally, as a DMsGuild creator, this is a super helpful resource for finding where stuff is and in which book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Mega Index
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Fey Codex
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2019 12:18:25

An excellent book of ideas, but the mechanical rules don't fall quite in line with 5e's design paradigm. The races aren't given enough oompf (+1 in two different stats, instead of the +1 and +2 that other races get). The feats are also a mixed bag, with some of them being weak or not following 5e design (particularly alternate vision).

The book isn't bad. The fluff/narrative bits are interesting, well written, and sure to inspire. But a lack of images, lots of white space, and rules that don't line up with the game in terms of wording or balance, all make me mark the product as just ok.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Fey Codex
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for purchasing the product and for taking the time to review it!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 225 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items