Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Dragon Heist: Forgotten Tales $7.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
15 8
2 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Dragon Heist: Forgotten Tales
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Dragon Heist: Forgotten Tales
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2019 19:12:13

I really love this product. It's a great looking publication, and the content inside is equally as good. I especially enjoyed the first adventure, The Hand of Nessus, which I think is on par with the beginning of Waterdeep: Dragon Heist. In some respects, I prefer it. The other chapters of this product are equally as good. I also think that the product as a whole really gives some actualy replayability to W:DH. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Heist: Forgotten Tales
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/01/2019 17:28:45

Although I haven't played through any of the new material for DH, this supplement looks like it has the goods! Excellent quality, and a lot of ideas packed into the 30+ pages. I understand some of the original DH designers were involved, and it shows in the quality throughout! Definitely worth the slightly extra $$. My one complaint: no Fantasy Grounds module (at least as of yet.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Heist: Forgotten Tales
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Miguel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2019 15:16:31

I used the above-ground Vault with the new underground Vault mixed together by replacing the room past the Counting House with a inner-courtyard-style structure. It suggested that the Bank had been build over, and around, the dwarven structure. As an ending to Dragon Heist it allowed for a session comprised of a interesting mix of sneaking, planning, and conning (like a proper Heist!) topped off by a finale with a literal Dungeon and a Dragon. The key element allowing for this was the wonderfully detailed Bank Worker information, as well as the clockwork nature of the bank's systems. I provided players with all of the Bank Workers info ahead of the session, which let them start constructing a plan and consider the bank as a fully realized building. A terrific addition to the slightly anti-climatic conclusion of an otherwise great published adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Heist: Forgotten Tales
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Manuel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2019 08:40:49

Really enjoyed this as a basis for additional content for my own group's run of Dragon Heist. Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Heist: Forgotten Tales
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by RICHARD H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/17/2019 05:06:18

Review (17 March 2019): Today I ran Chapter 1 of this supplement for a party of four adventurers: 4th level Bard, 3rd level Ranger, 2nd level Cleric and 1st level Paladin. The ability check DCs and combats were adjusted to fit the party strength.

I initially chose to run this supplement instead of the standard Waterdeep: Dragon Heist chapter because I felt that the players may have either read or played it before. This turned out not to be a factor, and the real reason for running it was that I enjoyed the whole concept and theme that this supplement presents. In the previous week, I ran Blue Alley, and this provides the opportunity for continuity in the location setting.

I had the party engage with Mirt, the NPC from Blue Alley, who gave them a side quest to get them started. It is while they were engaged in this side quest that they began the first encounter. The party managed to thwart their opponents peacefully and send them on their way (only to have them turn up again later!). The stake-out was in fact interrupted by the returning foes. The party were very blind to spotting anything, but very cunning and fortunate in their battle with the kidnappers (including strong ranged attacks on the flying opponents), and ended up saving their target from capture. A clever set-up for their stake-out provided useful strategy to control the battle. Planning a staged combat is fun for the players, and the unknown factor adds an edge to the tension.

The party were full of anguish trying to piece together the clues and they dreaded finding out what would happen next (I emphasised the drama and the threats of the unknown), but as they headed to the next location after a significant and successful battle and armed with more clues from the main NPC, they were full of confidence and sailed through the rest of the adventure with great enjoyment. The whole setting of the lair was so amazingly inspirational, and as a DM, its a lot of fun. The players enjoyed the conclusion, and finished in high spirits in just over four hours. The challenge at the beginning as they tried to figure things out makes the successful adventure all the more enjoyable.

My advice to DMs is to keep referring to the hardcover alongside this supplement as there is a lot of material relevant to Chapter 1 in the book, and the supplement can't be run without the book. As I haven't run the hardcover version yet, I can't really compare them, but if I have a chance to run this again, I would use the supplement as I enjoyed it so much.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Heist: Forgotten Tales
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steve S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2019 11:51:52

This is a great supplement to the best book they made this year!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Heist: Forgotten Tales
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by JOHN L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2019 00:49:49

Excellent gravy, ready to be poured all over this already delicious adventure!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Heist: Forgotten Tales
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by lawren n. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2019 16:48:00

Just Wow !

As an active DM running 4 separate Dragon heist Campaigns there is a ton of useful information in here. This book brings some fantastic new options to my tables. I would recommend this for any one that has other DM's at there table to add some shock value and I am in love with the alternative Cassalanter/Dalakhar option. great work folks ! keep it coming !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items