Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
The Malady Workshop $3.95
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
40 11
7 4
1 1
0 0
1 0
The Malady Workshop
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ted S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2019 15:02:47

An amazing continuation in the "Malady" series. It definitely has a place in any DM's toolkit.

I don't have any critiques, but I did receive a comment on my full review stating the following: ". I feel like there should have been a great deal more magical symptoms provided (since magic is where the fun is at half the time) and I wish they had given more info and guidelines on disease progression rather than just going "i guess diseases progress, so have a few stages.""

Full review found here: https://youtu.be/CXRk9Wy8iJ4



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Hiten D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2019 23:41:50

Can't add much beyond what others have said. This is an absolutely stellar supplement that is worth a lot more than the listed price. Outstanding work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Stratos F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2019 08:51:51

An amazing supplement, with lots of options to enrich your campaigns with well though out fantastical diseases. I would totally recommend it!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sarah M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2019 13:21:30

Really found this helpful as inspiration for a blades in the dark game. Can't vouch for the mechanics obviously, but the questions it asks and the tables it gives you are solid :).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jordan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2019 20:04:05

I heard/was linked to this through tumblr and decided to check it out. Ended up buying because it's fantastic, and made by people with actual medical knowledge so it's very accurate. So far very pleased with this, and I can't wait to start springing diseases on my players :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2019 06:25:29

We had the pleasure of covering this fantastic product on our show Crit Academy. You can find the episode HERE.. We absolutely had a blast with this amazing product. We are huge fans of the work done by Jason and Themis. This product put us in the driver seat of creating our own malicious maladies to torment and torture our players. We love that it is set up in such a way that we can randomize the process or choose and pick and choose them like a bitchin build your own pizza format. While we love this product, we did feel that some of the ailments may have been a little too similar to the points of almost being duplicates, but given the amount of content this was more of a nit pick than anything else. Lastly, in some parts the product seems more formal than others. This may likely be due to two main authors instead of just one. Neither of these really effect the amazing content contained, just small observations that are a minor distraction from the majesty that is "The Malady Workshop"! We highly recommend this product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2019 11:55:41

This Workshop is an incredibly useful tool for DMs but only if they are interested in creating custom diseases. Even if a DM uses diseases they’re probably better off using The Malady Codex UNLESS they want to create their own for some reason. Maybe they want it for story elements or perhaps they have a highly thematic homebrew world where existing diseases don’t match well. Having said that, I love this product and have every intention of using it regularly for my players. Furthermore, I will be recommending it to the DM of another group where I am primarily a player.

http://www.nonzerosumgames.com/the-malady-workshop-a-dms-guild-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Massimo T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2019 05:21:23

I bought this for one of my players who is playing a witch doctor. The pdf is obviously very situational but i found it useful in my case, indeed i added a generated disease to my publication. Good job!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Juan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2019 20:26:56

I'm actually of two minds about this supplement, especially when compared to the other two offerings by the same group (Malady Codex I and II). Don't get me wrong, I wholeheartedly recommend it if you are a fan of the Codexes, just be prepared to be disappointed by the quality of some of the writing.

Most of the supplement and the suggested system are quite good, and it gives you a lot of tools and ideas for putting together your own disease. Things are generally well explained and the book is well laid out and put together.

My problem is with the Symptoms tables and the apparent mismatch between them and the rest of the Workshop and the Codexes. It just doesn't feel like the symptom tables were all that well thought out, which is terrible because they're one of the most important parts of the book! The disease building rules are cool, but the end result is only as good as the symptoms you put together.

The first issue is that a lot of the magical symptoms just feel flat and uninspiring, like they were mundane effects that just got the minimal touch-up to make it sound magical (and sometimes not even that). To use an example, one of the magical symptoms is literally "your sense of smell is altered". Another one is "You are unable to eat". There's also "Nightmares. You don't get the benefits of a long rest". If it was just one or two entries I could forgive it, but when it keeps happening it just screams filler. And that brings me to my next point.

My biggest gripe is with the lack of copy editing. A non-trivial portion of the symptom tables just feel thrown together as "filler", or what you would get if you told a group "write 10 symptoms down" and then just combined the lists. The magical symptoms are already largely uninspired, and the lack of proofing just makes it 10x worse.

It might seem like I'm nit-picking, but this lack of copy editing keeps happening throughout the tables:

  • Some entries feel like duplicates with slightly different flavoring. A few actually are duplicates. For example, there are two symptoms that mess with a child's growth development that cause the child to be smaller than normal ("small" size for one, 50% species average height for the other). These could have just been a single entry with "the child is significantly smaller than normal, possibly reducing them by one size category".
  • The entries are all written with inconsistent voice. Some entries are "you/your" while others are "the creature/it/the child".
  • The grammar and syntax are problematic, and I'm not always sure if there was an attempt at humor or just bad english - "Your smell makes other not like you. Sexually". No I did not make a typo there. It is verbatim.
  • Tone is all over the place. Some entries are formal, others sound like a post-it note - "You suffer from the hunger effect (exhaustion, check phb)".

Again, each peccadillo is excusable, but on the whole it just seems hastily put together, especially compared to the rest of the supplement and the Codexes. The Codexes are fantastic. The diseases are all different, they're well thought out, they're thematic, and they feel real and scary. The system described in the workshop is cool. I can see how you would use it as a starting point for crafting the diseases in the Codexes. But it's completely let down by the symptom tables. It's like a cool magic system with cookie-cutter spells. Yes, I can work with this. Yes the system is cool. But I gotta put in so much effort to make it work that I'm frustrated and disappointed.

Should you buy this supplement? Yes. The good outweighs the bad. The good parts are fantastic, and it's well worth using the rules if you want to add diseases to your game and flesh out the world. Just be aware that you're buying a system of rules, not a complete workshop. You will need to make your own symptom tables, and that's a damn shame.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lincoln S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 16:21:48

Fantastic guide, I love that folks with actual medical knowledge made this. My only complaint is that the table formatting is kinda difficult to navigate, and doesn't mesh well with the rest of the text's asthetic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2019 18:59:35

This a well thought out companion for the DM. It fills out the lacklustre rules for diseases in the base game, i found it very useful. There are several typos throughout but otherwise its a great buy, especially at such a reasonable price!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2019 01:26:16

While marred by some blurry images and slightly awkward graphic design, the content of this book is fantastic. Diseases are an anemic part of the fifth edition ruleset, and it's easy to see why: they're unsatisfying to fight in a game of heroic fantasy! This book deftly leaps over this hurdle by couching its new rules in the context of a wizard hellbent on slaying adventurers by the thousands with epidemic contagions.

This book gets slightly more technical than I'd like in my fantasy by using modern medical terms rather than medieval medical jargon. While this shows off the authors' scientific pedigree, I would be hard pressed to find anyone in a D&D world with knowledge this precise. Nevertheless, this book is brimming with techniques to create realistic and complex diseases, complete with methods of transmission and cures.

The Malady Workshop is a useful tool for any Dungeon Master interested in creating inventive and perfidious diseases. I only wish its presentation were a bit tighter, but that won't stop me from giving it five stars. Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Elaine R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2019 09:55:56

Found this via a post abt someone complaining about the price, which was absolutely nonsense. It's a beautiful piece of work at an astoundingly good price.

I've purchased it as a gift for my DMing brother and I really hope he enjoys using it. It has the look of other D&D books so it'll match with his current collection. The charts are clear and I really like the way that everything is broken down so its easy to incorporate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Libedrator E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2019 07:45:48

If you ever felt the need to bring biological warfare to DnD and all the diseases you find are boring then this supplement is everything you need. Create your own diseases by combining this diabolical guide and your imagination to create something out of the plague plane. The whole module is well thought and from the first paragraphs you can understand that the authors put a lot of thought in it. 5/5 stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Workshop
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brad R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2019 16:03:14

This is a truly amazing and unique supplement check out my full review here



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items