Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
First Blush Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
76 18
20 5
7 4
5 0
1 0
First Blush
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Melanie B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2021 12:05:57

I used this adventure as the base to run my very first duet adventure! I modified a bit of the starting story to fit our own PC and NPCs, but it was really a robust starting point and easy enough to follow for a couple of beginners! Thank you for writing it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Larry W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2021 02:19:16

I very much liked the premise of this module both in terms of the story and the intent (to teach first time players how to play 5e). However, as a DM, I found that it lacked detail and I had to fill in a lot and change it quite a bit to make it actually work. The maps are stock, which is fine, but they didn't match descriptions given in the text. It would be better, albeit less professional looking, if the author had just sketched out their own maps by hand on graph paper and included them. I redrew the maps myself based on the text description and what I thought would work based on the game mechanics they were intended to demonstrate. Although I appreciate the monster selection made by the author the combat encounters, if played 'well' by the DM, would still totally overwelm a first level character. I found myself adding detail to cripple those monsters and give the PC a fighting chance (rather than just play the monsters poorly). One of the of the 'puzzles' was of the sort that you either get or you don't (which would terminate the adventure in frustration). I felt compelled to rewrite that puzzle so that it included more adequate hints to guide the PC to the right answer. The module is interesting and has some nice ideas, but in its current state requires a DM that is strong on improvising or an upfront rewrite.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2020 13:48:43

A great introduction to 5e and Duets. Great! Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!Great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allyson D. C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2020 23:53:10

Really great! Ran this for my husband, who is new to DnD, and the progression from practice to real combat was the perfect set of training wheels. we had so much fun that after dinner we jumped right into the second module (review coming once we complete it).

With only one player combat and RP decisions go SO quickly! DMs should be well prepared to roleplay the various NPCs. The module gives some personality keywords and motivations when each NPC is introduced, so it was very easy for me to axt out the characters in game with little prep. Very handy details that may be helpful for DMs who struggle to bring NPCs to life.

Thank you for creating such a simple and easy to run adventure! I've been a DM for over a decade but I never thought one on one could be fun or easy...now that I see how it can be done, I'm considering adapting other adventures to use one on one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Victor N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2020 14:02:44

I'm and experienced DM and my player is also experienced, but this was our first duet adventure.

I think this would be a fine introduction to D&D for those new to the game, for us it required some adjustments. My player wanted to create his own character and backstory, and I didn't want him to be tied to the setup in the first act of this adventure. I felt the forced rollplaying and training grounds were a bit silly, so we came up with a different opening to the adventure which resulted in the player starting off in the snowy mountains. I added an encounter where he witnesses sabertooth lion attacking a giant elk, and the PC intervened on behalf of the elk, who then led him to the entrance of the temple, and from there we played it pretty much as written. The adventure is very simple and pretty fun, albeit a bit linear, and I wish there was more thoughtful backstory to the temple, which feels a bit hodge-podge. At the end I had the elk return at the last second to rescue the PC and Garren from the frost giant sculpture, and then the avalanche ends the adventure as a nice cliff-hanger.

As a followup to this we played "Second Glance", which was much more enjoyable and open-ended. There were a lot of NPCs to manage, but at least the PC had a lot of choices and potential outcomes. If you're not opposed to an adventure "on rails" then give this one a try, but be prepared to fill in a lot of story gaps on your own if you continue onward.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2020 16:21:48

Great product and introduction to a Duet style game. This was my wife's first time playing D&D and we had a great experience. i cannot wait to try the authors other titles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nicole S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2020 19:56:13

A great intro to D&D for a new player and their GM friend. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Carlos C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2020 12:48:37

The story is simple and easy to follow. This makes it very good for story telling. I do feel that the fights were thematic, but not balanced for one character. I had to balance the fight, as the author suggested, but I think this should have been done as part of the module - this is the reason I'll give it a 4/5.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Danielle D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2020 21:22:18

Good variety of experiences especially for first-time players. I ran this for my boyfriend (who played LMoP a few years ago). He really appreciated that a solo adventure allowed him to make decisions without needing party consensus.

The maps could be cleaned up a bit, but they get the job done. Roleplaying the door was one of my favorite parts. I especially liked the Garren/Amulet mechanics.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2020 09:03:14

I love this adventure it’s my go to “so you want to try D&D” adventure, I’ve run it twice now and both players now regularly play d&d, it’s linear can be done and dusted in about four hours give or take, prep work is at a minimum and it’s quite on rails (a good thing for an introductory adventure, and it’s sequel opens PCs up to more exploration, an obvious choice for fledgling adventurers second try) the only thing I change is I ignore the Ice Mephits extra cold damage with its claw attack as it’s a duet that first encounter with a single Ice Mephit can be outright lethal I instead just give them the flat 1d4+1 and if players find the cold resistance potion they inflict just a flat 1 damage (still rewarding players for solving the desk puzzle) all in all I can’t praise the authors enough and will hopefully recruit more adventurers using this very adventure.

And the sequels are epic too, go and buy them!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2020 06:30:04

Worked well for a parent-child 1-1 session and my child really enjoyed it. I'd only suggest for absolute beginners that it does require the DM to read through, tweak a few things, and be ready for the player to throw a few spanners in the works - especially at the climax of the adventure. Will buy the next chapter and continue with the series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Libby P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2020 17:58:47

My son (11) and I just finished his module a couple of days ago and we both REALLY enjoyed it! This was our first expedition into D&D and I think it made us both into lifelong fans of the game. This is a wonderful introduction and a fun adventure. We just started Second Glance today, and are enjoying it just as much. I highly recommend this adventure to anyone just starting out, either duets, or parties. It is truely wonderful!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Amir H. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2020 06:55:01

spoiler alert As a DM who ran doungeons for at least 8 years, its true that it was emphasised the campain is for begginers, but the senario is full of confusions, bugs and useless information. the player should be convineced about details on the same session that he/she played.

confusions like: Why was garren prisoned with the Frost giant there ( if he was prisoned there before, how the Ice Mephits where there ) . How did the played end up teleported to the wrong place ( Is that treason? Fault? or magic tricked the wizard? ) What would happen if the PC wanted to take another route? ( go out of the castle or in the joungle? )

bugs like: if a prison with two columns was easily distructed, how was it spoused to hold things out or hold things inside? just like the pc commanded the door ro open, couldent he/sher command it to be closed? if the pc exploded the giants head when she was still a statue, what would happen to the story? lvl1 players might not even get to the prison when the enemy dameges are so high. wouldnt it be better to balance the doungeon or make the players lvl 3 from the start?

usless details: existance of the PCs friend?!!! prisen room's runes undernith garren and giant details. writings in the coloumns outside. ( they are usually pillars in greek ancient or obilisks in Hebrew )

btw thanks for your efforts and mapscales



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2020 07:24:20

I played this with my partner who isn't into DnD, and she throughly enjoyed the session. Glad to see it has been followed up with two more chapters currently.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
First Blush
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cody N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2020 11:57:28

Simple and low-stress, but still interesting and engaging, this has been perfect for introducing someone to their first TTRPG, and I would reccomend it for first-timers looking for experience on both the DM or PC side.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items