Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Adaptable NPCs $14.95
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
20 10
8 3
2 0
0 0
0 0
Adaptable NPCs
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2019 22:09:37

With amazing original art, unique stat blocks, and the short adventures, this little beauty is swiftly becoming one of my favorite DMs Guild creations. When the gang over at Grimlore Entertainment asked me to give this puppy a look, I dove at the chance after reviewing their Adaptable NPCs II: Calamity - and I loved that. The art really makes this piece stand out as it is stunning - and most of the the artists featured I follow on Twitter, all being amazing talent - and it is art that truly adds to the product. The maps are also well done, and the little adventures are easily laid out and able to be followed.

I have a lot of favorite NPCs in this book, but I leveled it to my top five: the Goblin Corsair, Sword Saint, Commander, Apothecary, and Loremaster. I could go on and on about them, but I won't. Let's just say that the lore on all of them is open ended just enough to plop them into any game of intrigue and build upon their story from there. Overall, the Grimlore gang have blown me away with Adaptable NPCs.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2019 23:37:26

This is a great resource to add some variety to your NPCs. I have used it repeatedly to flesh out encounters in my own adventures.

The mini-dungeons are a nice bonus, though I found it necessary to tweak them a bit.

Well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kind words Thomas! And you are spot on with the adventures. Just short & sweet scenarios that were added to get the DM thinking about different encounters, while providing them with high quality battle & DM maps. Also a bigger & more ambitious sequel is in the works - 110 NPCs & 12 adventures! It will be released before the end of the year, so if you liked ANPCs, you will (hopefully) love ANPCs II!!
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Amanda L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2019 12:02:29

I've recently used adaptable NPCs in a campaign and found it inspirational and useful. The NPCs within gave me great ideas. I was easily able to scale them to an appropriate level by removing some skills or increasing hp. The creative combinations of features and attacks gave my players some great surprises, but still felt like they had a theme for each NPC.

I appreciated the gender diversity in the book although more diversity in characters would be nice in the future. I'm also tired of female NPCs being depicted in the same way from product to product. There were some small typos/editing errors, but they did not distract from the quality of the NPCs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ted S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2019 09:43:18

Who doesn't need more unique and interesting NPCs for the campaign? This goes above and beyond and even adds adventure hooks/mini campaign ideas/encounters.

Full review here: https://youtu.be/J9PfrMynayY



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review!
Thank you for your review!
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 23:01:07

This is a fantastic tool for any DM! I highly recommend it. This will save everyone time when filling in their world and work on the fly as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Thomas, thank you for your kind words! Your support means so much!
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2019 12:38:40

Pros:

  • 70 (!) new humanoid NPC statblocks, from CR 1/8 to CR 15.
  • Fun ideas drawn from older D&D prestige classes and JRPGs.
  • 8 drop-in dungeon maps that utilize many of the new NPCs as party companions or foes.
  • Player handouts and tokens for all 70 NPCs, as well as DM and Player maps for each battle map

Cons:

  • Far more attention is given to NPC pictures than descriptions.
  • Character art plagued by tiresome boob armor and nearly naked women.
  • The dungeons are little more than hack and slash rampages.

THE VERDICT: THOUGH NOT A FAN OF THE ART EMPHASIS OR STYLE, “ADAPTABLE NPCS” FEATURES A HUGE AMOUNT OF FUN HUMANOID STATBLOCKS, AND THE DROP-IN DUNGEONS ARE A WELCOME BONUS.

Full Written Review: https://roguewatson.com/2019/03/27/dms-guild-review-adaptable-npcs/

Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osr0V34WJss



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Eric, Thank you so much for your in-depth review, and I agree on a lot of the points you've made! I appreciate your kind words and support of the supplement (and totally understand your views regarding the negatives). Initially when designing ANPCs, the thought was to include a named NPC sample example for each ANPC. However, this really began to expand the scope of the supplement. For the ANPC line of products (yes, spoiler alert - ANPCs II & ANPCs Eberron are underway), they will continue in this similar format. Those interested can follow me on twitter for a few teasers that will be coming in the near future (https://twitter.com/Grim_DM). That said, at around 7 minutes in the video you mention that including sample NPCs that approach the party with a quest hooks would be valuable. Is something that I plan to flesh out in detail for a new (non-ANPC) supplement - and it is already in production! Lastly, I understand your criticisms on the amount of art vs text. I personally love the art that I was able to secure for ANPCs and wanted to highlight it as much as possible. With art being so subjective, I recognize that it might not be to everyone's liking, but there are many supplements on the DMsGuild that include only a small amount of custom art, ending up as mostly text with stock art. I wanted to create something different - something to let art drive a DM's imagination as that's how I'm inspired when I DM. Luckily, we have a great marketplace on the DMsGuild that lets all of these different types of products thrive! Thanks again for your review! Cheers, Trevor
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by CHRIS C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2019 16:28:31

If you're wondering if it's worth it - it's worth it! Ever had a moment in your planning, where you're going....'Uhhh...." - well, this content is exactly what you need to spark your imagination and get your quest plans back on track without all the extra work. You can quickly find an NPC for almost any context and they're scaled to match the strength of your party. It even has a few nice side quests in the back of the book - I don't regret purchasing this item at all.

Great job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by DGM D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/19/2019 07:31:42

Great asset to any DM, a multitude of options for your story potential.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Libedrator E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2019 22:44:21

An eye candy of a supplement filled with various and amazing well thought NPCs that will help any DM expand their narrative and combat experience through them. Each NPC can be used as a full-fleshed ally or enemy or as a single encounter. The supplement also contains amazing maps that can be used in any setting. By combining the NPCs and maps contained in this product you can create oneshots on a moments notice. I highly reccomend it. Great value 5/5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joel K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 05:55:07

There's a certain type of problem I run into as DM quite a bit. I need an NPC to fill a role, but the ones presented in the Monster Manual aren't quite right. They're too weak or too powerful, or they don't quite have the flavour I'm after.

That's the problem Adaptable NPCs solves. It has a variety of NPCs from drunken tavern-brawlers right up to supernaturally powerful plane-hopping entities. Each is documented mechanically and lore-wise, with full-colour art for each. And these aren't just themed bags of hit-points with AC and an attack or two: each NPC has interesting abilities or features congruent with its nature.

I can see this book saving me quite a lot of time. Making a custom NPC or even tweaking an existing one takes time. With this book I'll need to do that less. That saved time will add up.

More than just NPCs, this book contains eight adventures. They're on the simple side, but they're designed either to fill in between other material or serve as a base for greater things. All of them feature NPCs found in the book. As a DM it's always handy to have some "backup" adventures ready.

Adaptable NPCs is a excellent resource for any DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by shaun S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2018 01:09:00

A solid resource usefull for flushing out campane. I like how each NPC is on it's own sheet, it makes for quick refrence when I print up only the characters I would like to use. A heck of allot better than some of the other NPC resources that I have purchased in the past. Keep up the good work, and I love the art.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyle T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2018 21:49:03

I don't want to rate it poorly, because the resource itself is very valuable and will save you a lot of time... but oh my god are there a lot of typos, grammatical errors, and just awkward sentences. Someone should have done a once-over before publishing this!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Kyle, Thanks for your feedback. Please know that two excellent editors went through this document (in addition to myself more times than I can count) to find grammatical errors. My apologies if some slipped through to the release version. If you would like to edit your review to include the errors you've found, or send me a personal email to grimlore.entertainment@gmail.com, I'll make sure they are all fixed up. Thanks, Trevor
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by robert d. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2018 13:08:35

If you're a DM, you need to have this in your bag of tricks. Not only are the NPCs solidly presented mechanically, they're presented with ideas on how to use them in your ongoing campaign. The mini-dungeons at the end even give you instantly-usable scenarios. So when your table throws you a curveball, you can still present them with a fully-realized encounter or series of encounters which will be satisfying.

In addition, the presentation of this book is phenomenally good. It's just PRETTY. The design team did an outstanding job! As a Guild creator, this book sets a standard to which I strive with my work (and fail to reach, it pains me to admit).

This book is well worth the money. 10/10!

R P Davis



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you R.P. Davis! Your high praise of Adaptable NPCs means so much!
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items