Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Adaptable NPCs $14.95 $8.97
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
47 15
9 5
3 0
0 1
0 1
Adaptable NPCs
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Wolfgang W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2020 21:28:52

My other review was removed for being a bit too specific and accusatory.

So, here is my replacement review: Book bad



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2020 14:25:28

I dearly love the Adaptable NPCs line of products. My Waterdeep games often include way more powerful NPCs than they do actual monsters, so these books are a treasure trove for providing a good stat block for just about any of them I need. They've also inspired ideas for new NPCs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Njål M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2020 09:32:07

Adaptable NPCs is a good product on the surface with excellently written and interesting statblocks, but it suffers from an enormous flaw, namely the fact that the stat blocks are considered to be pictures and therefore you cannot copy-paste text to make the process bearable and consumer friendly. Given the staggering price tag on this product compared to others of this type (there are options out there that cost a tenth of this book that simultaneously maintain good quality, and yet manage to present a useful product with copyable stat blocks.)

I and I presume many others buy products like this because it allows us to give our monsters great variety as well as dramatically cutting down on prep time, but the awful divide between blocks and text in this book still mean that you spend 15 bucks only to have to do the lion's share of the work yourself as you painstakingly have to manually write out the statblocks that you just paid good money for.

After buying this more than a year ago I still haven't had the opportunity to use much or any of it, it is simply too much of a hassle and the money I spent on it I consider to be largely wasted. I do not reccomend buying this book, especially not if you use Virtual Tabletops like Roll20.

Ordinarily I would award a product with these flaws one star, but since the actual NPCs are of such high quality and because of the value of the adventures I award it Two Stars instead.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cody N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2020 11:36:14

Adaptable NPCs provides a great slection of statblocks to add into any game world, taking the stress off of a DM to make a unique NPC from scratch or building off the small array provided by offical books like the DMG or VGtM. Well worth it, from the art to the small lore excepts adding flavor. The selection of standalone adventures in the end, introducing some of these NPCs to your characters is a wonderful added bonus. Only gripe, as it has been expressed in other reviews, is the portayal of some of the female NPCs, with the often criticized scantily-clad armor or outfits of the fantasy genre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2020 19:55:38

I've had this guide for a while, and I am so glad that I got it. The NPC's built in the guide have gone a long ways towards helping me build adversaries for my players in their campaign. I've also used some of their maps as a starting point for locations. Everything is very well done, and the NPC's provide unique capabilities that surprise and challenge my players. They also spark ideas for me to use and add to other creatures they may come across.

This has definitely been my main go-to resource for helping me populate my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2020 18:23:27

I love the breadth and depth of NPCs I can add to my games both to aid and to challenge my players. The adventures are great little one session gigs to give me a break in the writing process of the three games I'm running! 100% worth the money!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2020 16:36:33

What a fantastic product! We had the priviledge of covering this product on our show Crit Academy. It really is bar none one of the best NPC supplements we've seen. Not only were the NPC's given really great statblocks, but the lore and Artwork were just pro level stuff. Highly recommend for any DMs toolbox. You can watch our full coverage here: https://www.critacademy.com/post/adaptable-npcs



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steven P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2020 08:46:57

A lot of effort clearly went into this title. The art is vivid and there's a ton of utility in the NPCs. It's great to be able to quickly grab a basic stat sheet for a wide variety of characters - I've always hated having to build a whole character sheet for my noteworthy NPCs. Having this on hand has not only saved me a ton of time, but has given me new inspiration for how my NPCs can be. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sadie L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2019 12:26:06

Stunning art, copious amounts of variety and flavor, and the thought put into each stat block makes this an absolute wonderful purchase. It's even laid out by CR, which I adore. This is probably one of the best books a DM can have in their arsenal for stat blocks on the fly. There's a lot of inspiration here.

That being said, I wish the female characters were given the same treatment as the males. Lots of emphasis on their sexuality. Disappointing. It's nearly 2020. Where are our women in armor and sensible clothes?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/09/2019 22:09:37

With amazing original art, unique stat blocks, and the short adventures, this little beauty is swiftly becoming one of my favorite DMs Guild creations. When the gang over at Grimlore Entertainment asked me to give this puppy a look, I dove at the chance after reviewing their Adaptable NPCs II: Calamity - and I loved that. The art really makes this piece stand out as it is stunning - and most of the the artists featured I follow on Twitter, all being amazing talent - and it is art that truly adds to the product. The maps are also well done, and the little adventures are easily laid out and able to be followed.

I have a lot of favorite NPCs in this book, but I leveled it to my top five: the Goblin Corsair, Sword Saint, Commander, Apothecary, and Loremaster. I could go on and on about them, but I won't. Let's just say that the lore on all of them is open ended just enough to plop them into any game of intrigue and build upon their story from there. Overall, the Grimlore gang have blown me away with Adaptable NPCs.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2019 23:37:26

This is a great resource to add some variety to your NPCs. I have used it repeatedly to flesh out encounters in my own adventures.

The mini-dungeons are a nice bonus, though I found it necessary to tweak them a bit.

Well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kind words Thomas! And you are spot on with the adventures. Just short & sweet scenarios that were added to get the DM thinking about different encounters, while providing them with high quality battle & DM maps. Also a bigger & more ambitious sequel is in the works - 110 NPCs & 12 adventures! It will be released before the end of the year, so if you liked ANPCs, you will (hopefully) love ANPCs II!!
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Amanda L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2019 12:02:29

I've recently used adaptable NPCs in a campaign and found it inspirational and useful. The NPCs within gave me great ideas. I was easily able to scale them to an appropriate level by removing some skills or increasing hp. The creative combinations of features and attacks gave my players some great surprises, but still felt like they had a theme for each NPC.

I appreciated the gender diversity in the book although more diversity in characters would be nice in the future. I'm also tired of female NPCs being depicted in the same way from product to product. There were some small typos/editing errors, but they did not distract from the quality of the NPCs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ted S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/04/2019 09:43:18

Who doesn't need more unique and interesting NPCs for the campaign? This goes above and beyond and even adds adventure hooks/mini campaign ideas/encounters.

Full review here: https://youtu.be/J9PfrMynayY



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review!
Thank you for your review!
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 23:01:07

This is a fantastic tool for any DM! I highly recommend it. This will save everyone time when filling in their world and work on the fly as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Thomas, thank you for your kind words! Your support means so much!
Adaptable NPCs
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/13/2019 12:38:40

Pros:

  • 70 (!) new humanoid NPC statblocks, from CR 1/8 to CR 15.
  • Fun ideas drawn from older D&D prestige classes and JRPGs.
  • 8 drop-in dungeon maps that utilize many of the new NPCs as party companions or foes.
  • Player handouts and tokens for all 70 NPCs, as well as DM and Player maps for each battle map

Cons:

  • Far more attention is given to NPC pictures than descriptions.
  • Character art plagued by tiresome boob armor and nearly naked women.
  • The dungeons are little more than hack and slash rampages.

THE VERDICT: THOUGH NOT A FAN OF THE ART EMPHASIS OR STYLE, “ADAPTABLE NPCS” FEATURES A HUGE AMOUNT OF FUN HUMANOID STATBLOCKS, AND THE DROP-IN DUNGEONS ARE A WELCOME BONUS.

Full Written Review: https://roguewatson.com/2019/03/27/dms-guild-review-adaptable-npcs/

Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osr0V34WJss



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Eric, Thank you so much for your in-depth review, and I agree on a lot of the points you've made! I appreciate your kind words and support of the supplement (and totally understand your views regarding the negatives). Initially when designing ANPCs, the thought was to include a named NPC sample example for each ANPC. However, this really began to expand the scope of the supplement. For the ANPC line of products (yes, spoiler alert - ANPCs II & ANPCs Eberron are underway), they will continue in this similar format. Those interested can follow me on twitter for a few teasers that will be coming in the near future (https://twitter.com/Grim_DM). That said, at around 7 minutes in the video you mention that including sample NPCs that approach the party with a quest hooks would be valuable. Is something that I plan to flesh out in detail for a new (non-ANPC) supplement - and it is already in production! Lastly, I understand your criticisms on the amount of art vs text. I personally love the art that I was able to secure for ANPCs and wanted to highlight it as much as possible. With art being so subjective, I recognize that it might not be to everyone's liking, but there are many supplements on the DMsGuild that include only a small amount of custom art, ending up as mostly text with stock art. I wanted to create something different - something to let art drive a DM's imagination as that's how I'm inspired when I DM. Luckily, we have a great marketplace on the DMsGuild that lets all of these different types of products thrive! Thanks again for your review! Cheers, Trevor
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items