Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
College of the Opera $1.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
28 19
2 4
0 0
0 0
0 0
College of the Opera
Click to view
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2019 22:37:51

The content of the PDF was nice. It seems like an interesting character concept to expand on the options. I dropped one star as the included Fantasy Grounds module is broken as of the time I write this. Since the content was short enough, I just created my own FG module instead.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback! The FG module was created by a fan and is included as a bonus, but I'll try to get it fixed.
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dan G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2019 14:48:58

An absolutely fantastic Bard's College! I've had player's use this as a DM and just love it. Hannah and Kelli do amazing work! Excited to see more products!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much!
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Orla n. D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2019 01:23:49

Love the concept, and Shatter is such a nice touch!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much!
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2019 23:20:23

Lot of flavor, but the 3rd level ability is way over powered. A little editing derived from some feedback and playtesting, this will be a 5 star item in no time. Full review here: https://onlyplaywizards.com/2018/12/25/review-college-of-the-opera/

EDIT UPDATE: Stun is a devastating condition. It auto hits and removes the target's turn and reactions. With a cone, it could easily hit 2 or more targets. That is encounter breaking. Making it a push back or blowing some Bardic Inspiration to enable some special effects would be cool (more variety too). Comparing this to College of Swords I do not find entirely apt, as those abilities while powerful, would not cripple or break an encounter in one round.

So far as the price point and comparing it to D&D Beyond, that service enables the supplement via integration and has some other features. Saw your comment on Twitter about 20+ hours of work, but just because that much effort went into it does that mean it is worth that much as content. Though it does go back to the addage "if their cheap, it makes us cheap," so I see your argument. The market on here has certainly changed since I publishd on here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for your thoughts! For the 3rd level Piercing Resonance feature, I'm definitely considering scaling back the stun potential (I like your idea) or making it require expending Bardic Inspiration. However, if you compare to the College of Swords 3rd level features, I think you'll find that bards get quite a lot at 3rd level and buffing this one spell is no more overpowered than the blade flourish options. And yes, Aria di Bravura requires a reaction—that will be clarified in a future update. Supporting Cast does not require a reaction, because it is a passive effect. It only lasts until the end of their next turn, so it's quite limited. As for Capture Soul, those interactions are intentionally up to the DM! Personally (as a DM and not a writer), I'd rule that it likely depends on whether the lich likes music. :) Finally, FWIW, $1.99 is the same price as unlocking a subclass on D&D Beyond, and quite fair for 20+ hours of writing, editing, layout, and design. I'm a big believer in trying not to undersell my own work so that others can also get fair rates for their time.
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeffrey J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2019 17:39:12

I built a character that my DM allowed me to use the character's singing voice as a spellcasting focus, but I used the College of Lore for the build. Now with this new option that I can play, I'm looking forward to revamping that character and building many more College of Opera Bards. I like that it changes the nature of the Shatter spell to better match how a spell with singing as the spellcasting focus would look like.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much! I'm glad you like the Shatter options, and I hope you enjoy reflavoring many spells to be sung!
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rusti R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2019 18:48:53

As an opera singer in real life, I adore this class and how it can bring a flair of the operatic into 5e! I'm making a character with it to trial run in our group's next one-shot and I'm very excited to try it out. Thank you so much for this fun and charming bard college!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you! I hope you have a fantastic time playing it!
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/28/2018 11:40:34

This looks fantastic! You did a great job of making this subclass stand out from the other bardic subclasses while being rooted in it's core mechanics. The supporting cast and capture soul features in particular are really flavorful and unique. Fantastic work!

(As a side note, using photos instead of painted artwork works out surprisingly well!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoy the features and the artwork!
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Shane S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2018 16:00:18

I LOVE LOVE LOVE the idea of a Bardic College with a vocal performance emphasis - that's way overdue. But what's most delightful about this build is the way it really incorporates the flavor, spirit, and culture of opera. And overall it looks fun to play and is well balanced - though it might need a but more punch at the upper tier. I'll be making this available to all my players - and look forward to watching Kelli playtest it at my (virtual) table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much! I am so glad it captures the spirit of the opera stage—that was a little bit of research on my part and a lot of inspiration from Kelli. I am also looking forward to seeing it played and hearing about operatic adventures!
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Pierpaolo M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2018 04:05:21

funny, interesting archetype. the dimanics involving the soul are interesting if you think that you can manipulate it just by the power of your voice. i definitely recommend checking it out



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Randall W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2018 01:59:08

This adds a unique and very dynamic flavor to the bard class, thank you! I will definitely be using this on my next big bad: Erik, the Bard/Warlock who plagues Waterdeep’s theater district.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much! I think a bard/warlock combo for an NPC villain sounds amazing!
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jordan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2018 19:35:29

Holy shit this is a cool idea! So happy to see more stuff being made for the Bard colleges, such an under served area of lore and class material imho. I can't wait to see what y'all write next!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much! I have some things in the works for the new year that I hope you'll enjoy as well!
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ed R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 23:07:40

this is a very unique subclass, and I give it five stars inspiration and general concepts. From a balance perspective, however, I'd have to rate it a bit lower, about average for the homebrew subclass. I don't want to give away too much actual detail, since the subclass is not PWyW, but I will elaborate a little in general.

For example, when the class grants a bonus spell at level 3, it gives the ability to modify the spell in one way that maintains the power level of the spell and adds flexibility in the casting, however, it adds another ability that might actually push the spell to a higher spell slot level... so I would suggest making casting as a third level spell and choosing to use that option instead of additional damage as a balancing factor.

As for the level 14 ability, there are things I really like about it and things that are a little too much for an ability at that level, IMO, especially in the matter of the saving throw DC. The DC should be the Bard spellcasting DC, rather than the result of a roll on a check that the bard is almost guaranteed to have Expertise with. There is another aspect of that ability that I find to be a little over the top, but I can't really go into that without giving away a little too much about the subclass, IMO.

I've got to go with 4 stars, because I don't feel like it fully hits the 5 as is, and $2 is a bit pricey for 1 sublass. DEFINITELY worth a look, though, if the concept grabs you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for your thoughts! For the 3rd level Piercing Resonance feature, I think the fact that the stun potential is always there could be a little too strong—I'm considering making that more limited. However, if you compare to the College of Swords 3rd level features, I think you'll find that bards get quite a lot at 3rd level and buffing this one spell is no more powerful than the blade flourish options. Regarding the level 14 ability, I hear you about the DC—I went back and forth on that, but ultimately went with the result of a roll because I wanted the quality of the performance to matter for flavor. This is also an ability that's mostly social, doesn't do any damage, and doesn't have a lot of use in combat, especially since most high-level enemies will have Legendary Resistances.
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nathan A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 22:17:39

Can't wait to play this subclass. My character Alister Goldmane seems perfect for it. I'm gonna use it for a npc in my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Awesome! We'd love to hear about your operatic adventures, and we hope you enjoy!
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gregory M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 20:21:00

I've been looking into a bard, and this really captures some great features which I think make for a very exciting build! It makes a bard's voice a much more powerful instrument, support, and weapon -- exactly the kind of high drama you'd expect from an operatic character (and as a performer myself in real life, it just feels so right, ha). Such a great combination of self and party support, and great ways to interact with/affect enemies. I'm very much looking forward to trying it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you! I'm so glad it feels right, and I hope you enjoy playing it!
College of the Opera
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 13:55:30

Firstly just generally this is a really well made College. Secondly as someone who loves the Ravenloft campaign setting, especially the more advanced domains, this fits SO perfectly from a thematic perspective that I can't wait to bring it to the table for the game I'm a player in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much! I'm excited that you're planning to use this in Ravenloft—we'd love to hear about your adventures!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items