Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
Residents of Trollskull Alley $4.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 10
1 1
0 0
0 0
0 0
Residents of Trollskull Alley
Click to view
Residents of Trollskull Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2019 00:57:04

This is an excellent resource to flesh out Trollskull Alley for your players. I love all the NPC's, ideas, etc. It truly makes the Alley a vibrant place for the players to call "home" within Waterdeep.

I have one nagging complaint regarding the Trollskull Manor maps. The manor maps don't have the stairs on the ground floor lining up with the floors above. Maybe players can be talked into glossing over this grossly negligent detail, but it drives me nuts! I recommend a re-work of the Ground Floor map by the publisher to show the stairs where they need to be.

EDIT: now that I played it with my players, I realized that the stairs are just fine. My mistake was looking at both the stairs in the WotC module and this and getting confused because they didn't line up, etc. So ignore my idiot comment above! That is what I get for being in a hurry to prep for a game! Great material!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Andrew, Thank you for the excellent review. Making the alley feel alive was precisely our intent. Based on your comments about the maps, I tripled checked the alignment. All of the maps stack up with stairs in the right places to align to the floors above and below. I created a pictorial alignment guide for level 1 - 3 of the manor, which I would be happy to share with you. Can't post it here because HTML is not supported in the reviews and comments. Please contact me at halho@hotmail.com if you would like it. Thanks, Hal
Residents of Trollskull Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2019 22:43:48

I am using this right now in my game and it is great. There are so many different story lines that can be included. My players love the detail of all the neighbors to their still run down Manor.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Residents of Trollskull Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Vic M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2019 17:48:09

If your PCs want to really get immersed in the Trollskull Alley neighborhood, this is a great resource. Absolutely worth the money. The maps are great and there is a ton of content for all the residents. Between the story hooks I now have with the neighbors and some of the other Dmsguild expanded faction mission material, I could let the players spend months just messing around before hitting them with a "Fireball".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Residents of Trollskull Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Katey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2019 14:46:29

e conetent and infomation is really good. It adds a lot of personality to the area for the players. That being said, the pages themself are hard to read. The boarder is extremely distracting. The pages are layes out with a single colum making it very hard to keep your place while reading.This made it very very hard for me to read. There is an entire page that just has one line on it from an other page. and then the supplement just ends with the last thing that was being talked about. No final notes just ends i honeslt thougt i didnt get the whole thing. With all of that the content is really good. The plot hooks are open ended and suggestions to make your own quests out of that. The npcs feel real. It takes Dragonhiest into concideration and weaves the stories in woth the npcs. tldr formate and readability needs work but the content is solid



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the awesome feedback. There is both a printer friendly (white background) version and a mobile friendly (MHT file that you can scale to whatever column width you prefer) included in the package. Hopefully one of those suits reading preferences. I will give some thought to adding a conclusion of some sort.
Residents of Trollskull Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cory B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2019 17:48:03

Fantastic maps! Super easy to use and exactly what i was looking for with Rundown,Renovated but unfurnished, and furnished versions of Trollskull manor. Plus all the other add ons and extra ideas for content totally made it worth it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Residents of Trollskull Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gwithian E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2019 13:56:09

Out of all the enhancements/expansions/add ons to Dragon Heist I've bought on here, this one is by far the best one. There is so much character, so much to do and it's presented beautifully. There is just enough information for all the characters to make them memorable to the players. I cannot wait to have my players meet them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Residents of Trollskull Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2019 15:33:44

This is a really excellent resource for any DM running a campaign in Waterdeep, especially Dragon Heist. It contains information on every building in Trollskull Alley and almost every one has multiple adventure hooks that are, for the most part, solid gold. There's a pirate, a necromancer in the basement, a Vistana, and so much more. It's supplemented by a huge variety of color maps of the alley and every place in it. This supplement does a LOT to bring the alley to life, and in my opinion, succeed marvelously.

My only complaint, and it's small, is that the supplement is tonally inconsistent. There's some pretty dark stuff here, but also a few groan-inducing pop-culture references, and the adventure hooks veer between the extremely minor to the enormous, with little middle ground.

That quibble aside, I definitely recommend this and have incorporated it into my own Waterdeep campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Residents of Trollskull Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Darren S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2019 11:55:53

As a player of this content, the depth of details has really made it fun an interesting to interact with the residents of Trollskull Alley. The maps especially make it much easier to visualize the environment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Residents of Trollskull Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Clay M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2019 16:34:13

Really well done. Great locations and interesting NPCs. Will be useful for making Trollskull Manor really become 'home' for the party. There might be a slightly high incidence of 'dramatic' people living in the alley, but that can always be toned down easier than created, so I appreciated having them listed. And this is Forgotten Realms after all!

Highly recommended if you are planning on using Trollskull Manor as "home" for many levels and/or enjoy roleplaying city adventures.

I'd love to find a location that those of us using this can share more info (like NPC Traits, other hooks, etc.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Clay, Thanks for the fantastic review. There will be further adventurers for some of those high drama NPCs in future publications. The best place I've found to share information with others is the Waterdeep Dragon Heist and Dungeon of the Mad Mage DM Group on Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/groups/456166068139047/. There is a thread in there about Residents of Trollskull Alley. Feel free to add to it or start your own. Hal
Residents of Trollskull Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2019 18:30:08

I was honestly, pleasantly surprised by the quality and utility of this adventure supplement which greatly expands on the area of Waterdeep called Trollskull Alley. You get a lot for the $5 you pay: Maps; 36 location descriptions thus far (of 41 total in v5); plot hooks that work like the faction missions in Waterdeep: Dragon Heist; NPCs and visitors for Chapter Two; a section on how to incorporate these new neighbors into Chapter Three; and on top of that, downtime training rules and a primer on skill checks (both things every DM can use regardless of the setting or adventure they're running). At 31 pages and still growing (26 of which are the aforementioned content), the price is a bargain. Residents of Trollskull Alley covers the entire eastern half of the alley and the variety of businesses and residences satisfy just about all of one's needs. There's always the adjoining streets, should the authors decide to continue expanding. Personally, I hope that they include mentions of both Trollskull Priory (maybe with some cross promotion with the author of that product) and the abandoned residence being used by smugglers, which is referenced in the Season 8 AL module 8-1 in the final product, but I'm good either way. In all, a fantastic product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Residents of Trollskull Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Duncan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2018 16:15:42

So far so good! The supplement delivers on its promise to add detail and depth to the whole of Trollskull Alley, building on the handful of businesses that are detailed in the official Dragon Heist adventure.

What I like most about the product so far is more than just a lorebook for flavour, there are workeable adventure hooks in here, for example the fact that one of the party's disreputable neighbours is spying on them is something you can easily use to enchance the adventure.

Some other hooks work more like side quests (much like the faction missions in the official book), if you want to break from the main narrative for a session or two.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items