Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition $14.95
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
48 15
9 1
2 1
0 0
0 0
The Greasemonkey\'s Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2019 14:56:43

Soooo, I will attempt to be as calm as possible....which will be very hard. What sits before is worth far more than $9.99 - it is worth countless and countless hours of gameplay and fun. When Vall asked me review Greasemonkey I didn't even hesitate and jumped in the minute I was asked - holy cow was I unprepared for THE METRIC ROCK TON OF AWESOMENESS IN THIS BOOK OHMIGAWHD! One part Gundam, one part Transformers, and a hell of a lot of mecha sweetness The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk, and Sci-Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition is a must-have for anyone who wants to go balls-to-the-wall crazy in their next campaign.

With execellent tables for building, creating, and organizing mechs, as well as a ton of new magic items, class options, and so so much more, Greasemonkey takes our gritty Pacific Rim daydreams and turns them into reality. Who wouldn't want to be a dwarven pilot in a massive axe-wielding death machine taking on giants? At the end of the day, you can see and feel the amount of passion that went into building Greasemonkey and it truly pays off.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2019 15:27:02

As someone who loves the mech genre whether it be Gundam or Mazinger, this was an amzing read. As someone who love scifi, I really can't wait to try any of this stuff out. As someone who reskins stuff to fit my prefereanes, this gives alot of material to play around with. Really incredible piece of work that can be used in alot of different ways. Great job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2019 18:00:53

Running this through my review system. See what's what and I hope to help inform your buying decision. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHymeOZl8ME&t=457s

Thanks



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2019 01:02:48

A solid work. I wouldn't use it in a fantasy setting, butv that's just me. There's a lot of possibilities if you plan to port the 5e system to other genres.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Clint S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2019 19:54:50

I've always loved constructs and construction, so when I saw the Greasemonkey's Handbook I was incredibly excited to see what it could bring. I absolutely loved it's style and direction, but I couldn't help but feel a little overwhelmed. This is purely personal, but I felt as if there was almost too much in this book. I know, "How is that a bad thing?", well, it isn't. It's sections on the different ways your giant mechs can be powered, new weaponry, subclasses, and nice lore tie ins are phenomenal. Couple that with sections on building and workshops, and you've got yourself everything you may want when adding giant robots to your campaign. For me though, it was all a little complicated. I wish I could articulate better how, but don't let my vagueness throw you off. If you're looking to add giant robots to your world, the Greasemonkey's Handbook is the way to go!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2019 15:47:22

This product absolutely blew us away. We covered this product on our most recent episode of the Crit Academy Podcast:. We were so excited to walk through this great content. We were instantly thrown back to our days of playing mech games like armored core and mech warrior. This book fits like a glove so well with the Ebberon and Ravnica's settings. The shear amount of content inside is mindblowing. Not only that, but the information is well thought out and very well balanced. Those of us here at Crit Academy give this a 5 star rating and a must buy! Great work guys!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Aaran M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2019 14:30:02

Exceptionally well put together work! Great premise. Great design (both aesthetically and mechanically). Highly recommended and worth every penny - especially to support the time, effort, artistry and imagination taken to create it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Garin J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/06/2019 08:48:43

What an impressive feat of world building and writing this book is. The authors outlined every detail required to build, maintain and fully immerse yourself in the "giant robot" genre for 5e. Player options (subclasses) are very well balanced and provide intriguing options for any game regardless of if you plan to include the Atum.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eu C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2018 15:15:12

One of the best magitech guides i've ever seen. Thanks for this amazing work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Fred T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2018 10:26:55

This is amazing. I, as a DM, have always wanted to run a Sci-Fi campaign and having to homebrew all the mechanics was a daunting enough task to deter me from it. But now this addition has laid out a vast framework of mechanics to work with. A lot of stuff is still kept semi-vague to allow creativity to triumph in sessions. Action-wise almost all the subclasses added are great (Druid, Monk, and Ranger are the only ones to strike me as alright). Roleplay-wise they are all fantastic. The new spells are interesting and I can already guess that one of my players will find a cool use that I've never dreamed of.

Now the stars of this addition are the mechs, referred to as ATUMs (all-terrain-utility-machines). The creators have labored away to extensivly create the systems for maintenance, salvaging, building, and combat. It all makes sense and it creates a worthwhile goal for the players.

If you want a magitech, steampunk, or sci-fi campaign, this is the supplement you need. You don't even need to include the mechs (but you should), this book has so many mechanics for how technology would work and could serve as a template for you to create your own mechanics and rules. I always wanted to run a Sci-Fi campaign, but it would've just been D&D with lightsabers. Now I can create a world where my players can finally use guns, giant robots, and mech magic. If you don't want a campaign like that, thats ok because there is plenty of things to just steal for a boss or magic item.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2018 00:31:00

This is a suprisingly good and well thought out addition. One of my players really likes mechs, etc., and is always asking for modern or futuristic weapons. This is going to blow his mind.

We're going to start SKT soon, and I plan to replace the fire giant's forges with a crashed futuristic ship, a la Transformer's Ark. The ship will be a mech workshop, run by a fire giant with gnone slaves/scientists. Liberate the slaves and gain control of the workshop. Players will be able to pilot a heavy mech to fight giants and maybe find a light wheeled vehicle for travel.

The additional character features will take some playtesting before I can offer an opinion. That said, the bard features have pleasantly cheesy names. No "for whom the bell tolls?" or "aces high"? The wizard spellweaving features will be really interesting. Seems like a gnome wizard of the school of automation would make a great pilot.

A diagram showing the characteristic hierarchy of an ATUM would be helpful. I.e. chassis -> engines, fuel tanks, manipulators -> hardpoints. It's confusing to keep all the new terms and dependencies straight. It would also be helpful to break into separate player and DM sections, so I can share the new rules with players without giving away all the options/mechanics.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/26/2018 03:17:29

A wealth of quality and rich content that can make D&D games more creative and fun with added steampunk goodness. It's very well put together and can add a lot of flavor to your campaigns, especially if they are set in Eberron or Ravnica. The crunch and fluff in this supplement go together very well - the new mechanics go hand in hand with the cool homebrew spells, subclasses, and some nifty magic items in this book. The writing is pretty good and you can tell that a lot of hard work has gone into the making of this handbook. The artwork and layout aren't too bad either.

This book has everything you need to start throwing together mechas of your own with plenty of readymade examples and gives you a ton of options for customization. Pretty great stuff!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2018 15:26:43

So if I could, this product would be rated 4.5 for 2 reasons:

  1. The artwork is not consistant in any measure of the word. That's fine, as on the guild we have far fewer resources available than big publishers. However there's a lot of very disparate artwork here. Normally that wouldn't be worth 0.5 removed, but there's another problem:

  2. About 1/3rd the book could be useless to you. If you choose to have the mech suits (ATUMs), then that 1/3rd will be useful as it gives advice on how to use them, the mechanics of them, and how they can be used in your campaign. So for people who don't care about ATUMs, then 2/3rds of the book is still useful but if someone really likes them, only 1/3rd of the book is devoted to them. It feels like this should have been patterned off of a Shadowrun book where 100% of the 100+ pages was ATUM, and then a second book of ATUM adjunct material could be paired with it.

So those caveats out of the way, I still ranked the book 5/5 and for good reason: what I was picking up as a curiosity shows a deep understanding of the finer points of game design and balance. The spells, magic items (with one exception), and classes are all fantastically balanced and fit the flavor of the supplement. In short, while this book sells itself as a "we have mechs, but for 5e D&D", it has MUCH more than that.

I highly recommend if you're interested in concepts presented, you pick the supplement up. It's really well written and from the credits it's obviously thoroughly playtested and vetted.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Trevor A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2018 02:06:04

Fantastic supplement. If you are a fan of the Eberron setting, you will find a tonne of content in this product that will enhance your game. All of the player and dm options contained within are at the quality that you have come to expect from Vall does DnD.

This product is easy to recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Greasemonkey's Handbook: Rules for piloting Magitech, Steampunk and Sci Fi mechs in D&D 5th Edition
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mitchell B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2018 15:14:53

The absolute and in-depth source for everything involving constructs, robots, and anything metal! A trove of excellent supplementary material. That and who doesn't like mechs?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items