Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II $5.95
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 16
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Click to view
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Erik L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2019 17:24:59

My players had a lot of fun with this adventure, the fact that it's combat most of the way through kept the table entertained. All the video game references (exploding barrels, Doom magic items, etc) were not only entertaining, but changed the tactics my players used. The combats are tough, though, had my table not had a few level 4 PCs in it a lot of characters could have perma-died through several in-game mechanics. From behind the screen, the biggest difficulty I found was running encounters with three or four kinds of enemies--each with different special abilities and resistances. It lead to a lot of page juggling with even simple actions, like PCs dropping an AoE on a mixed group of enemies. I also really wish there was a story award for touching the skulls (much as I wish there were a story award in PT 1 for Nurfenpurf's potato stew recipe).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2018 19:30:07

I know this author, and he puts the same thoughfulness into his adventures as he does into everything else. The pairing of player choice with art is exquisite. This and Verse 1 are worth their price a few times over again.

My only complaint is that he isn't running this at the D8 SUMMIT this year with all the other authors running their games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Red P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2018 17:07:19

I highly recommend this adventure. It's a beautiful module, which throws adventurers into a battle of cosmic proportions and consequences.

I am a relatively new player & DM who started playing AL at the tail end of Season 6 and started DMing at the start of Season 7. I DM and play almost exclusively on Roll20/FG so most of my views are based on those experiences.

What I liked:

This story continues the theme of questioning the difference between good and evil. Though many players will go through the same main events, many will come out of it with different toughts. The adventurers thirsty for combat will not be disappointed as they face tough opponents and they will have the opportunity to use strategy to defeat some foes. This story has a lot of replayability because it has multiple avenues for player agency; I have been through the adventure several times and the adventure was not ever exactly the same The game took about as long as expected The rewards for playing this game were a fun little surprise. Finally my favorite part: This module was MADE to be played online! There were tons of extras provided upon purchase. These include art assets, fantasy ground module, tokens, maps, Handouts, etc.

I look forward to seeing future iterations of this series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jennifer J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/09/2018 20:57:21

AWESOME! These adventures are so great, from the art & characters to the tokens and bonus content!! All the players that I know have played these love them!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Carlos E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2018 16:25:42

Fantastic Mod! Very well thought out, and written. Love, love the distinct art style. Our ragtag group of adventurers had a great experience playing this module. It is very clear the author is very passionate and focuses on creating quality content, rather than pumping out fluff modules. I can't wait to see what's next!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2018 18:10:00

Wow...just wow. The Heir of Orcus is one of my new favorite modules. I played is with a DM that was very passionate which made all the difference. Cult ending was so awesome. Very cool and fresh ideas by the author. I can't wait to see the next path he takes!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/06/2018 13:53:00

Pros:

  • The unique pixelated art style is well-utilized and looks fantastic, from the isometric maps to the pixelated head-shot portraits.
  • Maps are provided for all the areas in the module, including gridded and non-gridded, as well as nifty card handouts depicting the NPCs and tokens for VTTs.
  • Each Scene has a concise method for tackling the problem in three different ways that highlight the major D&D pillars: Combat, Exploration, and Social
  • Excellent use of monsters, including rutterkins, spawn of kyuss, and a tricky cambion.
  • Exhaustive appendix that includes all NPCs and monster stat blocks.

Cons:

  • The temple is very short and linear (~ 7 pages).
  • Verse II should have been combined with Verse I to create one complete adventure package.

THE VERDICT: WHILE ITS DUNGEON IS DISAPPOINTINGLY SHORT "THE HEIR OF ORCUS: VERSE II" CONTINUES THE DETAILED DESIGNS AND EXCELLENT PIXEL ART, MAKING FOR A SATISFYING ENDING TO THE ADVENTURE.

Full review: https://roguewatson.com/2018/12/05/dms-guild-review-the-heir-of-orcus-verse-ii/

Video review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1AYoAp2XImU



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Catullus C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2018 00:33:05

This is a good mod, although a change of pace from Verse 1, as it is much more combat-focused.

There are a few unresokved question. Do the PCs have to kill the Spawn in the sacrophagus to fulfill the quest? Does a paladin's Divine Sense work in the temple? As otherwise it could make the final decision the PCs have to make rather easy.

Still five stars, but Verse 1 is the better half of this series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by STANISLAV I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2018 12:53:15

After DMing the first part of module, I've great expectations regarding this one. And to be honest, they were fullfilled! Unlike the previous one, Verse II is more combat-focused, but with a big chunk of exploration and strangeness. The possibilities for non-so-good characters are great and I hope to run this module again in person (which means that I will have to make a lot of printing to save the unique pixel-style, he-he).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by IAN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2018 07:48:35

Part 2 takes place in predominantly one large location, with a variety of great fights, and some role playing. Player choice is still strong in this one, though some effects from part 1 will be felt here.

Mixed alignment parties will have less issue with this adventure versus part 1, though there is some potential for party conflict with very strong opposed alignments, so players should try to remain on their best behaviour when dealing with each other.

Players and DM's that aren't into roleplaying may prefer to skip part 1 and only do part 2 for the interesting and challenging combat, as part one is strongly dependant on roleplaying and player action. While I prefer this, it is not necessarily to everyone's taste.

The art style is great in both adventures, and gives them a look that stands out from many other modules.

Looking forward to more adventures in this series in the future. They would also, as they are now, make a fun campaign springboard for non-AL DM's.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2018 05:06:02

The Heir of Orcus adventures are unlike any that I have ever seen on DMs Guild. For starters, they are Adventurers League titles and I don’t normally play or review AL content. But there is something more that differentiates these products. Each comes with several tokens to use in Roll20 as well as sound files for creating nice background music. I also got to poke around in the Roll20 sessions and was thoroughly impressed.

read more here: http://www.nonzerosumgames.com/the-heir-of-orcus-a-dms-guild-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lou T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2018 00:28:26

So this is basically the meat of the series, and it is an exceptionally epic follow up to the previous mod. My only real "complaint" is that I want to run this cause of how much cool stuff there is, but I also want to run the first to establish the scene. The author does have a point that there is some suspension of the adventure if the players did not find the temple by playing the first mod.

Plenty of great encounters, in-jokes that caused me to choke when I saw them, and an overall great presentation style and writing wise. Many of the things evoke feelings of being in the Tomb of Annihilation, where weird and dangerous things can occur, especially since this is a Tier 1 module.

Also, there might be a need to include advice on if the players clear out area 3 and move on to area 4. If they players clear area 3, do they really need to do the "social" encounter in 4? I imagine it would be pretty obvious by then, but might need to be explicitly stated for clarity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2018 19:07:25

Outstanding adventure that sets a high bar for what a mini-campaign should be (hopefully develops into a full campaign, I need to know what far reaching consequences my decisions will have). Verse I&II excels in all 3 pillars of D&D (combat, exploration, and social) and once you finish it you'll want to play it again to try and see how it would have turned out if you had made different choices during the adventure. The graphics are revolutionary from what I've experienced in my years playing D&D and they are spot on, bringing back waves of 90's nostalgia while displaying a marriage of modern computing and talented artistry. The verses are the right amount of length for one verse per normal play session and the story and character interaction throughout make you feel like you instead of your avatar are there applying flail to unholy flesh. Optimal scenario is to playthrough Verse I first, but after a complete playthrough I did a drop in play on Verse II with a different faction then my first playthrough and within the first five minutes felt as equally immersed as I had during the complete playthrough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by jose s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2018 17:30:56

This adventure module was a joy to play. The NPCs had a mind of their own they felt genuine and not copy paste. The plot choices were great, I haven't played many modules where the players get a lot of choices in it. This made for a compelling story and a lot of replayability and don't even get me started with the art and the 16bit Final Fantasy and Doom feel! It made the game feel very nostalgic and overall so much fun. The combat was not easy and it made you think about strategies, which made it great. The Heir of Orcus...man what a great boss battle that was!! I recommend this module to everyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Elijah J. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2018 14:49:06

I ran The Heir of Orcus Verses I & II for Aethercon, and whilst Verse I focuses on roleplay and exploration, this one adds a healthy amount of combat to the mix. Both are excellent examples of an Adventurers League module, offering plenty of scope for customization by the DM to give their players the best experience. I seriously recommend this module - and as a bonus, you also receive a wide range of assets handy for online play - or for physical handouts.

The module itself is best run with Verse I - in fact, due to the choices mattering in Verse I, bringing a fresh character into Verse II instead of a character who has played Verse I but will not be playing in the same consistent storyline is probably the better option.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items