Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
CCC-DES-01-01 Finding the Rabbit Hole
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2019 01:41:20

I had a chance to play this adventure at the D8 summit and I had a blast! It was awesome that I had the modle's creator running the adventure as well. It was an unique twist on adventure in a region of the Moonsea that has been the frequent site of many other modules. From the houseboat scene to the chance to haggle and help elves, to helping tiny little bunnies get where they need to, this one was enjoyable and will be for your players as well!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-DES-01-01 Finding the Rabbit Hole
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-13 The Vampire of Skullport
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/17/2019 13:20:48

I'm not a fan of T3 and higher play. Most of the seasonal products I see for play at these tiers falls short of the challenge of characters with maximum optimization; however, you tie in a good story like the Artor Morlin arc that this module continues with and you have buy-in from me! I enjoyed the premise behind the adventure... clue-hunting and discovering a portal for their benefactor, and options across the pillars of play for it. The battles can get lengthy, but the designer not only gives you options to increase the challenges beyond the adjustment sidebars, but also is also courteous enough to give supplement references to consider for those DMs looking to amplify their narratives/optics. I ran over the alloted time with just one Bonus Objective, but the players enjoyed the game (and I think that trumps any insignificant critique I have). There was slight hiccups with the Adventure Flowchart and Adventure Hooks (I basically said that Artor Morlin did not find the charaltan Undertakers territory, the dwarven crypts, nor the Slitherswamp suitable for him); it is easily overcome with DM fiat. I highly encourage DMs to read the module through before running it. Looking forward to running the follow-ups! Thanks to Cindy Moore for this effort!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-13 The Vampire of Skullport
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2019 23:40:21

Going to run this for my LGS next Monday, but I wanted to leave my thoughts here as a DM. Again I'll say that I not big on frills. If I normally see a CCC with alot in the presentation I often move on. I picked up the first part of this adventure, ran it last week, the players enjoyed it and I left them with a cliffhanger ending. They want this one too! I read through it and saw some areas where I might adjust what was provided. Primarily in the Pillars of Play. I see alot of combat in the four hours that this adventure is estimated to run. Some of the Pillars of Play feel like they do not belong under their respective Pillar or belong somewhere else in the layout. Some of the pillars do not have associated checks to go along with that; easily remedied. Frequent big damage consequences that will decimate characters on the lower end of the Tier. This adventure can go in so many different directions! There were even some that I was thinking, "I wonder if my players will do X? instead of Y?". This adventure looks like it will be a fitting conclusion to its predesessor. Somehow Joyce has captured an adventure that should by rights be a higher tier adventure and perfectly fits it within the framework of a Tier One module. ... and the rewards do justify the effort .. especially if you catch the designer's homage in the uniquely flavored rewards. I was going to append my review after my players game, but I think it will be a no brainer... WELL DONE. Buy Verse I and II!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-02 The Heir of Orcus: Verse II
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-AETHER-01-01 The Heir of Orcus: Verse I
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2019 00:15:12

I will actually run this adventure tomorrow, but I read it tonight and have some thoughts. I will admit- I have been reluctant to buy it-I have found in the past, that CCC's that go all out on optics often fall short of content quality. This is the first exception that I have encountered. I like the story. I like how the Call to Action already is action packed! It seems like Anthony Joyce cuts to the chase this way, when deferring to players to come up with their own hooks. There's no confusion as to what the Objectives are. "Choosing a Side" makes the module fun, and I like that Joyce elaborates with sidebars on aspects that make the story "pop" for me. Some things that I noticed as I read- There are references to aspects that reward "evil characters" ... within the context of AL there is only one alignment that this would apply to, right (Lawful Evil)? is it alignment driven, if so. it seems limited, but I get it ... serving an evil cult and playing within that lane could be rewarding to characters motivated that way. Most DMs when reading out the 'Noticeable Tomes' Sidebar will already reveal what the player reads BEFORE they realize the books are written in different languages .. probably should make that the first thing revealed in the narrative about them. Treasure and Rewards in Area 8 had me wondering why they are under this subheading? Just for something for players to take? There doesn't doesn't appear to be anything that "leads" to Bonus Objective A. There is normally a "cue" beyond just the adventure flow chart. Maybe I missed it. Throwing Nezarrum into a fit of laughter is a cool thing .. but the way it is written it looks like that players get to do this twice each round? .. if they fail the group check at the beginning they get another chance on Nezarrum's turn? Why would DMs choose to have Nezarrum fall prone (curious)? I like that he is insane .. great touch! I hope that my players will enjoy this mod, because in just reading this, I am looking forward to running it and can now see how others have enjoyed it as well. Great job by all! UPDATE .. my players enjoyed it. I left the ending at the doors to the temple as a cliffhanger, and told them to be back next week to see what happens!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-AETHER-01-01 The Heir of Orcus: Verse I
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-12 Xanathar's Wrath
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2019 22:56:44

As a DM I enjoyed this adventure. I went into DotMM HC to grab out a bit more for my players, but the plot was understandable and not confusing. My players had a good time and they got to antagonize The Xanathar in the process. My favorite of the Skullport Shakedown Trilogy!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-12 Xanathar's Wrath
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-11 Poisoned Words
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2019 16:28:35

I am running this as a trilogy for my players. They enjoyed the adventure. I liked that the Bonus Objectives were split between two episodes vice branched off of one (even though we did not get to both of them). I liked that there were complications that could be added to the scences (I used one of them). The Tower of Seven Woes, brought woe to my players, but the ultimately proved victorious. We did go over the time and I had to narrate most of the upper floor, but they enjoyed it thoroughly. I like at the end of Episode One there is a 'Wrapping Up the Episode' note that helps DMs ensure they players have all the information they need before moving on. A DM that doesn't read or is unfamiliar with the Season 8 formats before hand will be challenged with the adventure; however, it was not issue for me. Congrats to Ben Heisler and his editors on an enjoyable module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-11 Poisoned Words
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-RPR-01 Eyes of Blood
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2019 15:59:20

This Module was enjoyable, I like that it involves goblins. The recurrent appearance of lower CR creatures in adventures can really take the steam out of players sails, but the story surrounding thei one goblin is presented so well that it makes the adventure exciting. My players had a good time ... well most did (wargs are wargs). There wasn;t anything too complex to manage. Good job.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-RPR-01 Eyes of Blood
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-WYC-1-1 Back to the Burning
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2019 16:15:33

I've only had a chance to read this module in hopes that I could run in at a future AL event I run at my LGS. I have not had a chance to run it yet, but I do feel compelled to commment on what I have observed in just reading "Back to the Burning".

This is a great, rich, story; an obvious committed effort to create a fully immersive continuation of the DDEX 2- series adventures. It is plain to see that Jeremey Arnold did his research to make sure this adventure's insertion into the stories timeline is smooth. He gives DMs alot to work with.

It is an awful lot to read. It is clear to me that Jeremey is a proven writer and wants to leave no element of his characters or this adventure to question. Because of that, I felt that I had to get through alot of descriptive to get to the main points of the adventure. The box text adds more to the immersion and unfortunately more to the reading. But, I want to beleive that the author already considers this in the estimated durations of each part of the adventure.

I observed what most others have pointed out. You'll definitely need to let players know about the limitations of the dream sequence. Some may see their agency taken from them. This adventure will take some trimming to make it work as a stand alone adventure. I intend to present the ending like a cliffhanger ... while meeting the spirit of what Jeremey has presented.

It will be interesting to present this module under D&D AL Season 8 Banner, but because of the effort Jeremey Arnold has put into this product, it is one I am willing (and wanting) to try. I may update this feedback later, but wanted to get these thoughts down while they are fresh in my mind. Thanks to all involved in bringing this author's work to life!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WYC-1-1 Back to the Burning
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! I wanted to make sure that DMs knew as many of the connections as possible to other modules so they could play them up / down to their table. Box text is included in the estimate for sure but I'll be the first to admit the adventure can run a bit long. I wanted to provide as much guidance around the dream sequence as possible because it's very 'sandboxy' and some tables will want to really explore it and enjoy the uniqueness of that experience in an AL mod and others won't. Without spoiling anything, the dream sequence certainly does lead to a set end point and DMs should totally feel empowered to navigate it in the way they think makes the most sense for the story they want to tell with the players at their table.
DDAL08-10 The Skull Square Murders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2019 19:38:32

I recently had an opprtunity to run this module under APL (Weak) Party; this may be the first time I have run an adventure under the APL. The players had a good time with it, and grew a bit concerned when they arrived at Y's lair, and went inside. It was refreshing to see an ending that didn't have to involve a big ole battle with the big baddie (But I like that you had a sidebar for if "it" did happen). That was my player's bit. As a DM I think I enjoyed two aspects. The most is the synopsis of Skullport. There is enough there that you give players enough from the contents to get a feel for Skullport; some may have not played DotMM, or be familiar with SKullport through other means. Lastly, I enjoyed the NPCs, Frankie, Irontusk, and Artemis?? I think my players enjoyed interacting with them the most-it took up most of our session! A good time was had by players, and by the DM. Good job on this one, Paige and gang!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-10 The Skull Square Murders
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-08 Crypt of the Dark Kiss
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2019 16:03:40

I had a chance to finally run this module this weekend. My players had a good time. If I could critique it I would say that there could be some type of other check involved for players to learn the clue about the proper sucession of the notes to bring forth the portal. I did not have the giant dwarven statues attack the party because rather than strike the crystal to shatter them, the bard in the party wanted to strike them lightly to set off their tone, as the dwarf in the group hummed the writing in a song; I used the dwarven statues to scare them (they were hurt already in the crypt before the room). They really didn't say what races the vampire spawn were, so I used dwarves. Probably should have used bullywugs given their master is reavealed in the next module to be one.

I thought the persistent element of the unnatural dimming of light was a great touch.

In my opinion, DMs should read the module before and after this one to get a fuller transition into this adventure. The adventure hooks (relevant) seemed a little flat. I believe this season's design style challenges DMs to "come up with the rest" (which I enjoy thouroughly), so for those that do not do so may find small plot holes that they will need to fill.

Overall, good run so far. Going to run this maybe one or two more time before I shelve it (for now). It is worth the purchase and your players should find it enjoyable (especially dwarven characters.. good dwarven themes here).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-08 Crypt of the Dark Kiss
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-07 Into the Dark
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/25/2019 18:32:25

This adventure will put DMs on their toes right off the bat. It would help to be familiar with some of the story leading up to the first part of this trilogy Overall, this module was fun. I think that it has an enjoyable mix of non-combat elements to make it challenging for adventurers. I'm glad that it doesnt exactly specify where players see the crack in the walls where the stonebone skeletons emerge; you can put them anywhere near the elevator. The battle with Tev and the Stonebone golem .. and that little crawling claw made the adventure fun for me as a DM and my players. I would recommend this module to any DM, but would recommend you read the module first.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-07 Into the Dark
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-UK-1 Call of the Elvenflow
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2019 23:43:00

Wow. Well done. Some of the things that I think will make this adventure appealing to DMs is that the plot is great, it does have sidebars that offer suggestions for Season 8 Rewards, I like the encounters and challenges in this module, and I learned more about a certain creature in this module than I ever did, because of the synopsis provided by the author. The best part IMHO is the ‘Story-Telling’ narrative and also all of Part 4. I’ve never come across an adventure with "this creature" in it so I found it to be very enjoyable and a relief. While I am not big on optics, I found the honorific to the old AD&D module covers of my youth moving as well. Ian Hawthorne’s effort is a must have!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-UK-1 Call of the Elvenflow
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-PP-TDD01-01 Trouble Under Winton
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2019 23:18:44

This module is a pretty good read. Some small grammar oversights, but overall it was great! There's something to be said about taking a low CR encounters and building something around them to make for an unique experience. I've always banged the drum for kobolds.. they can be devious, cunning, and intelligenct in their own unique ways, and this module just proves it! If there is any criticism I have is that the objectives and bonus objectives don't synch with standard Season 8 format timeing, but I suspect the modifications were made to try and offer the DMs some type of guidance to run it under Season 8 AL guidance. Either way, not enough to effect my rating-great effort by Micah Watt!

Buy this one! Great T1 adventure to have in your back pocket.

Resp

Marcello De Velazquez



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-PP-TDD01-01 Trouble Under Winton
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-MCX-01 All in a Day’s Work
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2019 14:58:59

I will omit my feedback on the grammar and writing of this module and just say that I hope the designer will consider getting an editor for future efforts. What I did like- I thought the "Pick a Curse" opportunity gives this module great replayability. Only two of the adventure hooks had anything really connecting the adventurers to the main plot of the story. The "Get Rich Quick" Hook could have been more interesting .."Maybe you could secure a position in their heirarchy.." but you still want help them berid their family of the curse? Doesn't really make much sense to me.

It would have been a little easier to have the bulleted list of Lady Asche's knowledge near the narrative dealing with interactions with Lady Asche vice having it in a roleplaying sidebar on another page. The way the module lays out has the DM flipping pages to manage dialogue points with Lady Asche and having Part One's pertinent information in front of them. The adventure has players making a Wisdom Perception Check to reveal an argument going on between multiple people in Primordial. I think this is intended to reveal the nature of the creatures, but the designer doesn't really state that. It did have me wondering whether the designer assumes the PCs know the language? What if they don't know Primordial? Boxed texts tell us that areas are "obviously" destroyed" or "obviously" a wizards workshop ..why the boxed text if these are obvious? There are checks in the module that don't reveal anything of importance. They seem like "filler" checks. There is a secret door in Area 11 that does not have a DC assigned to it, so I gave it an 11.

The challenge at the end of 'The Traitor' Curse Path will require a character to either make one-of-six checks or defend themselves against attacks by mephits spawned by an efreeti and attacks by one of the major NPCs, as well as become damaged by a necrotic "pulse" emmitted by the runes of the summoning circle in a chamber. Quite the event at the end of the module! I like that the designer provides an adjustment sidebar for this unique and challenging encounter. To the desginers credit, they do warn that characters will most likely perish after five or six rounds.

If a DM does not read ahead of time, they will find themselves frustrated and glossing over parts of the adventure the designer may intend to be essential. Despite all of this, I think players would like the adventure. I thought that Alexei Vella's cartograpy was spectacular! It reminded me of some old AD&D module cartography. I hope the designer and cartographer continue to press forward with new material beyond this initial effort.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-MCX-01 All in a Day’s Work
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for spending time to review the adventure. I am glad you found it enjoyable. I found your suggestions helpful and insightful. I will keep them in mind for the next revision as well as for future adventures. Regarding the grammar issue you hinted at, I think I now know what it is but would welcome more specific feedback. I've included my email address at the bottom of this message, feel free to elaborate further. You are correct on the replayability aspect, I aimed to allow people to get more out of the adventure. I'm glad that feature comes across. It does mean that the DM is required to review the module ahead of time, but they should be doing that regardless in my opinion and I make no apologies for the lack of support in that respect. Regarding the encounter in the kitchen area, I assumed the case you described would be treated as if the characters chose to withhold support for either side. I'll consider adding more direction to that encounter. I am very happy that you appreciate the final encounter in "The Traitor" path. I wanted an interesting encounter for DMs to challenge their players with, but a big bad villain just did not fit. You are bang-on regarding the cartography, that is precisely what Alexei was doing. I do hope Alexei will produce more maps for my future projects. If you have more suggestions or comments please feel free to contact me at karl.sciberras@gmail.com or post in the discussion. Thanks again. Karl
CCC-CIC-07 Pieces of You
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2019 21:37:13

This module is a great finish to the series! Season 8 changes don't take away from the enjoyment of this adventure. The only thing I had was why it is necessary to incapacitate the slaad to get the control gem? You still are able to obtain the gem whether you incapacitate perform surgery, or just defeat it, right? I see nothing in the module that says why incapacitiation in necessary. Either way, it's not enough of an issue to effect this module's play. I already said it in my first review of 'Best Freinds Forever', but this series is probably my favorite CCC trilogy on the DMs Guild. I hope Silva will write more material soon, or convert these modules to more Season 8 formatting (adventure flow chart, bonus objectives, etc.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-CIC-07 Pieces of You
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items