Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
38 11
9 0
5 0
0 0
0 0
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by jesse b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2021 23:01:52

This module not only provides you deeper content for Chapter 2, but provides tie ins for continuing faction missions throuought the entirity of your Waterdeep: Dragon Heist campaign. For a Pay what you want option, this module takes the cake. While some missions could be better fleshed out, for a one person project, it is well worth the asking price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cindy B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2021 10:48:05

Like it or hate it, one of the hallmarks of Waterdeep: Dragonheist is the fact that the book gives you a lot of suggested actions with minimal details. Sometimes, this can be a wonderful way to tighten the narrative or let your characters develop their bond, but sometimes it's a huge pain. Enter Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions.

This beefy, 43-page supplement expands each of the faction missions from their three sentence summary into a one or two page adventure. You get an adventure background, suggested tips for how to run the adventure, more information about the key players, and expanded treasure, renown, and experience information.

Additionally, you can use these mini adventures as side quests for players to go on to earn money, join factions, and learn more about Waterdeep. Although they do intersect with WD:DH, they're easily tweakable to be their own standalone adventure, which is quite helpful if you need something short and sweet to entertain your players.

The only thing I would prefer is if there were maps for some of the missions. Not all of them require a map, but some do, either because of the location or terrain, so those would be a nice, added bonus. But it truly is a minor thing, and, hey, you have so much other information that you can't really blame the creator for not doing even more.

If you'd like to implement the faction missions but don't want to have to spend a ton of time thinking of the particulars yourself, I do recommend Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions. It's pay what you want, and the suggested $4.99 price tag isn't unreasonable for what you get. It's also well edited and easy to understand. Definitely worth the purchase!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sarah B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2021 17:37:54

My players are very into feeling like they're in a fully fleshed-out city, and being part of the factions are a great way to help make Waterdeep feel alive. Unfortunately, the printed module left out a lot of the specific details. These expanded missions do a great job of filling in the gaps. Also, just reading through the missions table in Dragon Heist, I missed a lot of the inter-connected characters and other pieces of these missions accross different factions. I really appreciate that the author here noticed that and made it more clear for me in this document.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2020 13:50:03

Fantastic resource when running the Waterdeep Dragon Heist Campaign. I thought Chapter 2 was lacking in resources & was dreading the faction missions as the sheer amount of prep was going to be a huge bummer. This literally cuts that down to maybe 30 minutes of reading/prep before play. Relatively easy to compy & paste into Roll 20, only took me around a day to do the entire pdf.

I would 100% recommend this to any DM who wishes to cut down prep time if they are going to allow players to join factions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
the immersive npc/suggestion idea is an interesting one... but i am BEGGING you point out some of the spelling mistakes as this is the second review i've seen that mentions it and nobody has told me what to fix yet
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Carlos C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/01/2020 11:38:58

One of the things I found disappointing about Dragon Heist was how factions were introduced. I understand that DMs have the ability to craft their own stories out of the material they're given, but for newer DMs like myself it's a lot harder to do this. I am very happy to see how well this resource exands on these missions, provide enough information for you to go through them, and make them more vivid.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kate P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2019 10:01:54

Holy content Batman!

For a PWYW item, this might be one of the best resources for DMs looking to beef up Chapter 2 of WD:DH. The details are fantastic and it's very easy to swap some things around to fit your own campaign. I know that I personally am starting my players through the Bregan D'aerthe faction mission tonight and it turns a simple fetch quest into something a bit more sinister and expands on RPing good ol JB Nevercott.

These are the kind of suppliments that every DM can get some milage out of!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mitchell B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/31/2019 12:34:11

This is not noly one of the best items I've obtained for WDH, it is one of the best free/cheap supplements I've recieved from the DM Guild. The only thing I have a slight disagreement with is that the faction mission give too much xp for a slow multi faction approach to this campaign. Otherwise I'd love to see more supplements like this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeff C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2019 00:40:32

I picked up ~10 dmsguild supplements for Dragon Heist, and this is the best by far. It's compatible with The Alexandrian's remix, and turned what would have been 5 crappy improv'd skill checks into a fun, exciting session. My players loved them and they were much more fleshed out than I would've come up with, with almost zero prep on my part. Highly recommend for literally everyone running W:DH.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by George C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2018 00:09:32

Brandon, great job! In this busy world, you've given a WD:DH dungeon master a resource they can grab on the fly, and DM any of several faction missions with less prep, especially if they can improv a bit and fill it out fully. Much better than trying to "come up with" it just from the tables in the book. I can't recommend this enough to DH DMs, especially the younger/newer/rookies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Teagan l. F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2018 13:52:28

Ive been skimming this while at work and im loving this product. It saves me a ton of time adding to the side quests without my worried of somehow messing up the main questline..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: Expanded Faction Missions
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2018 09:18:07

Gonna admit, at first I thought this was going to be some weak product designed around the idea that the dragon heist faction quests are boring. I get it that not everyone likes the quests, but they're outlines for the DM to fill out. Instead, here we don't get the author complaining about W:DH's quests, but just supplying a solid array of quests for each faction. Now I've read two quests for each faction, so I can't speak to the entire supplement, but everything in here seems to be well written and is more or less complete.

Note that if you're expecting this supplement to be filled with maps and multi branching quest lines, that's not what it is. This is to supply some short side quests for your heroes and that's it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items