Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases $2.95 $1.77
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
63 13
13 0
3 0
1 0
0 0
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/14/2019 01:03:28

Requires a bit more in-depth study, but a pretty good way to put disease in your campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jaryl C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2019 20:49:56

Organization was excellent and the adaptation of real diseases helps. I would love to see this expanded to more unusual diseases (e.g. Kuru) or parasites like flukes or worms. The diseases cover a significant range which allows something for any campaign from minor plot points to major catastrophic world killers. Hightly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2019 19:49:20

Hello, I'm the host of the D&D discussion podcast Crit Academy. We just featured this amazing product on our show. Check it out here: http://critacademy.libsyn.com/episode-109-the-malady-codex All we can say is wow! As a DM I love dieseases and poison effects. So much so, that my players would say I use them too much. Searching for food and roll a low survival check? Those nice looking mushrooms you were certain were safe...well now half the caravan is vomiting, and even some of the old ones passing away. This amazing tool just enhanced my love for the spread of these diseases. The supplement is well written, and far more thought out than anything i've planned out in my games. Thank you so much for this amazing 5 star product. Check out the show for our full thoughts as we review a few of the diseases and have great fun doing so!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by JVC P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2019 05:43:15

Read my full review here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by KC L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2019 11:29:30

This is a well written, well thought out supplement. It gives you everything you need to introduce some sort of plague or contagion into your game. Excellent. Be prepared to look up a few medical terms though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2019 05:26:49

I've read a few of the diseases and skimmed the rest but so far I love this. As a nurse I see so many different types of diseases, and being able to bring these (And ones I'm going to make for my world) opens up new issues players have to face.

The part I liked the most is the relation to real world diseases. Taking something as simple as lockjaw and giving it a more fantasy feel is awesome. It really has got my medical juices flowing and thinking of common things I see every day, and thinking about how I can change them just a bit to fit into my world. Magical Neuropathy... Check



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ashton D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2019 18:35:44

This is a fanstastic guide to introducing diseases in complex and interesting ways to your campaign, and I can't wait to unleash some of them on my players! This is great work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2018 11:11:32

I think this is a great supplement to use in any gaming group at least once. Diseases should have a small roll in campaigns often enough. But the ones in The Malady Codex should be more of a focal point.

Read more here: http://www.nonzerosumgames.com/the-malady-codex-a-dms-guild-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2018 10:00:58

Pros:

  • 11 D&D-friendly diseases, organized by Origin, Symptoms, Cure, and potential Plot Hooks.
  • Many of the diseases are based on real-world counterparts, such as Tetanus, Cholera, and Leprosy.
  • Disease-healing abilities and spells are listed at the beginning.
  • An appendix with several NPCs, statblocks and magical items with a disease theme.

Cons:

  • Mad Mage Virus is a neat idea but a bit overly complicated.
  • Some of the plot hooks are just a few generic notes rather than specific stories.

THE VERDICT: WITH NEARLY A DOZEN DISEASES INSPIRED FROM REAL-WORLD MALADIES, "THE MALADY CODEX" PROVIDES A VARIETY OF INTERESTING AND TERRIBLE AFFLICTIONS TO ADD TO YOUR CAMPAIGN.

Full Review: https://roguewatson.com/2018/11/07/dms-guild-review-the-malady-codex/ Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HeVYzoZ8_Eo



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2018 17:37:50

I've only had a chance to peruse this product, but wanted to provide some initial thoughts on it. First, it's a nicely put together document. Second, it's one of the more interesting DMs Guild supplements that I've come across, especially since diseases are not something that is covered in much depth in official materials.

Third, I thought the diseases themselves were all well done. The realism of these diseases might not be everyone's cup of tea, but I can understand why the authors chose to focus on that fact. I'm hesitant to make many detailed recommendations. One thing I'm unsure about is some of the more modern naming conventions, e.g., Necrophorum, ISTD, especially compared to the other names. Would rename the former to maybe Thrush or Deadly Hove, as I'm unsure the value of calling it by the official name if no one really uses that name.

Anyways, all and all, a very solid product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brad R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2018 03:12:54

A slightly more in depth review here: https://youtu.be/3A54Anm5ePI

The Malady Codex: Disease, disease and more disease. Where diseases comes from. How they manifest. How to cure them. Everything you could want to know about running a disease in D&D is in here. Ever wanted to have that outbreak style adventure well have I got the supplement for you! Plot hooks are included with every disease to help aspiring DM’s with desires to include these virulent plagues into their campaigns. Every disease has a story, a tale of woe that helps cement its impact in the world.

The Positive: A great plethora of diseases to choose from insane amount of detail in each one with roleplaying and world building opportunities abound. The beliveability is very high, it helps that it’s coming from two medical students. The diseases are interesting each one is also unique and is as terrifying as it’s real world counterparts I appreciate the plot hook element as it gives a good spring board It’s nice that for most of the diseases the players lesser restoration or similar abilities can still be utilised though to less of an effect.

The Negative: The Progression table is a bit too small to read, up that resolution so the text is readable More magical type diseases would have been nice to see, maybe a second supplement? Descriptions of some of the diseases symptoms and effects made me queasy in a good way … It might of been nice to have a table that had all the diseases listed with stuff like lethality DC to overcome and maybe a short description of what the disease did for easy referencing.

Conclusion A near slam dunk for me fix that table and this is an easy 5 out of 5 from me, as it stands I would only dock half a point, so 4.5 out of 5. If you are looking for a great believable way to integrate diseases into your D&D campaign you cannot do better than the Malady Codex by Jason Bakos.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Libedrator E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2018 11:53:07

If you want to get infected with an STI ( Severly Transmitted Inspiration ) then this malady codex is what you are looking for! It will greatly assist you if you plan to introduce a supernatural disease to your campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malady Codex: The Guide to Diseases
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2018 23:29:16

If the sound of gritty, deadly, and hard to cure diseases appeals to you, this supplement has it in droves. I like most of the diseases a lot, but it feels a bit on the nose in terms of real world analogues at times, and I wish there were more truly fantastical diseases in the supplement. There were some really interesting diseases that fit into the setting in cool ways like the ones created by a beholder or mindflayers, or the death dream one for the goddess of disease, and these tend to be my favorites. A DM doing a more gritty adventure than I tend to run might really appreciate having a good way to explain the bubonic plague, lockjaw, or leprosy in setting, story, or mechanical terms, so it's partially a matter of appeal.

The names feel a bit generic and modern at times. I'm surprised you made such a modern sounding name for ISTD, for example. There could also use to be some more editing to clear up a few causes and effects. The table has a typo in resurrection, and the other table is unclear and too pixelated. The mechanics are fairly sound, but I would change how hard it is to cure some diseases, or make a few more alternative or inventive ways to find a cure, as that's a lot of where the fun of the “quest” would be, from a DM perspective.

All in all it's a very unique supplement with a cool, story driven approach to disease. I'll be using some of these in the future I'm sure. The creators have done a good job at making a well grounded, if modern feeling product here. I'd rate it 4.5/5, but rounding up it's 5 star.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kind words! The time you took to write this is much appreciated! I hear your concerns on the modern feel of some products and of the names of some diseases, but in reality, I think that it was a conscious choice. Some, like the ISTD, haven't failed in getting a giggle out of anyone that read this, and I believe that there is value in that, too. We have taken your constructive criticism into consideration so that we can improve next time or in a possible update of this codex!
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items