Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure $6.95 $4.17
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
60 27
2 2
1 0
1 1
0 0
The Madhouse of Tasha\'s Kiss - Adventure
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Abby L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2021 02:07:47

I ran this as a first-time DM and OH BOY, this was fun. A more experienced DM than I could really spice up the horror elements and dialogue but everybody had a great time regardless. I especially loved the insanity tables and the mechanism for replacing a player's memories. It led to some really fun roleplaying and unique endings we wouldn't have gotten otherwise. 10/10, absolutely recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jordan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/21/2020 09:22:39

I ran this with my party as a Halloween insert for our Waterdeep campaign. We got about 10 hours or so of gameplay out of it. The module is really well put together and easy to use, with many opportunities for great roleplay, combat, and exploring elements of the characters' backstories. The maps were well done and easy to use, although they could have been more colourful for virtual tabletop play. My party all rated this as one of their favourite adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kaitlyn P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2020 21:47:15

Here is a little preface to my review that I hope helps with validating my praise for this module. I'm relatively new to the world of DnD having only been a player for a little over a year and half with on and off play in one or two home campaigns. Most of my group of friends who played with me all seemed to catch the DM bug at the same time but we didn't want to cannibalize all our time with long DnD campaigns that each person individually ran, so we decided to round table DMing one shots for practice. I was hesitant to volunteer because, well, being a DM is intimidating. However, they finally convinced me other wise and thus I decided I wanted to run a horror one shot and terrify my players. Running this module was my first expierence ever with DMing and it went so smoothly and it was such a SCARY game. I legitly terrified most of my players with the creepy NPC cut outs and the spooky maps design. I added planned sound effects and a noise generator and I ran it in a candle lit room and even I got scared at points. I thought this module was super easy to run, easy to understand, was scaled super well and is really intense. I loved it, my players loved it, its super reader friendly, 10/10 would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Renn S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2020 13:34:54

Overall, this adventure is pretty well designed. The dark theme was wonderful for a halloween one shot. My group generally had a good time; the encounters were all fun and unique, and each room of the dungeon adds to the story in a meaningful way if the players poke around a bit. However, there is one encounter near the end that I don't appriciate the design of. Normally, it woundn't be a deadly encounter whatsoever. Its purpose is to guide the players up the platform in the middle of the room to the bossfight. There is one complication though: if the players put out the candle the NPC is holding, the floor comes to life and "bludgeons them into unconcioussness." No saving throw. No reactions. It's a very "rocks fall, everyone dies" moment. The module does provide some variants, in case you don't like the encounter, or want some more combat in your adventure, but it does not make it very clear that these options are available, nor how to implement them. If you're planning to run it as written, then beware.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christopher D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/01/2020 17:41:50

I ran this twice. Once at 3rd level and once at 10th level and my players seemed to love it. It was a lot of fun for me also. I did have to give a warning about the adventure being disturbing to my players so they knew what they were getting into.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Yannis S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2020 02:50:43

I purchased Tasha's Kiss about 6 months ago and was, since then, bidding my time to run it for my players. I changed the premise to fit my campaign and run the dungeon with very few changes. What I loved the most was how it enabled me to play on every character's backstory and fears, through the Mirror Room, the Chimaera and all the madness rolls. Whenever a player would fail a madness saving throw I would give a short description of a hallucination they were having, replaying bits of their backstory that they fear or are guilty about. This is a truly well written and combat-balanced adventure and I can't recommend it enough. I believe that due to the many things one needs to track the adventure would be best run by a relatively experienced DM but in any case no-one should miss this! Thanks a lot, looking forward to even more of your content!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Hunter B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2020 23:34:21

Used this adventure as an intro to Curse of Strahd and me and my party had so much fun. The mindbending insanity of each room was amazing and led to some of the best character moments and development that I've ever experienced as a DM. Can't recommend this enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Katherine B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2020 17:55:50

I'm am all here for dark themes and I was incredibly excited to run this as a one-shot after the success of running another adventure by the same author, but once I read through the notes for this story, it was a little too much for even ME. Unfortunately it was too graphic to play with my players and I had to scrap the session. There really should be more of a trigger warning on this! It was well-written but just a little too graphic! Buyers beware!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Carolynn R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2020 16:11:14

I can't give a fair review of Tasha's Kiss, mostly because this game and my players were a poor match. I had thought this would be a good Halloween game to run, but the level of horror and setting was too much for my party. As a DM, I found it easy to follow and set up- the only issue I had was with the last boss area. I had some trouble explaining to my players the exact spacial arrangements, and it felt a bit stilted at times to try and repeat that there was a floating platform. Well done, overall- the level of detail and intrigue was great!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Exequiel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2020 10:20:18

Hi! First of all sorry for my English as it's not my native language. I've got my "DM title" running this adventure and let me tell you it was awesome. We had a great time playing and my group was really scared. We run out of time by the end of the session so I cut the part of the monsters in the bedroom and the final battle. For the final battle Tasha threw a PC out of the table and he suffered 10d6 of damage but appeared on top of the table intead the game with the tiles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2020 11:17:26

This is a wonderfully unique and well written adventure that my players thoroughly enjoyed from beginning to end. Each section is haunting in its own way with an equally creepy and interesting critter or mechanic to keep players invested in the game and on their toes. If your party loves to role-play as my group does, this can easily be extended into two sessions because there is enough content! All around it's a fantastic adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tatiana N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2020 05:34:16

Superb adventure. A lot of variety, very fun encounters, vivid imagery, great illustrations. Played it in two sessions (5 hours each) and everyone had a blast. Very easy to adapt to stronger/weaker groups, allows a lot of player interaction, fantastic mechanics all around. This is the kind of adventure you could pay thrice as much for and it would be still worth every penny.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Colin B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2020 20:39:20

Ran this with 3 lvl3 PCs. Modified a couple of things, but overall was an excellent adventure! Took us 2 sessions to get through as my players are very new to the game and things take a lot of time, but boy was it fun! One of them tryed to play the magic harp at low health and was KO'd. And another player loves the singing sword! Yea a +2 weapon is OP for a lvl 4 monk but I couldn't care less about balance. Looking forward to playing more of your modules!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2020 12:23:36

Played through this session twice with two groups of players around Halloween time. Five 5th level players in one and three 6th level player in the other. Both groups loved the experience. Used my Hue color-changing lights and pre-selected music to create a distinctive and fantastic ambiance for each area of the adventure that my players are still talking about. By far and away my favorite room is: Area 8: Feed Me, or the banquet hall. It has this Wonderful vibe of the scene in Spirited Away when the parents are turned into pigs.

Tip to other DMs running this, really focus on roleplaying the NPCs in Area 8: Feed Me as being truly desperate to keep eating the food, even off the floor or other extreme circumstances, unless the party can shock them out of it with that intent. Made for easily the most memorable part of the adventure for both groups.

It can, and did, run a bit long (5+ hours) especially if your party gets distracted losing direction between rooms, or wants to fight everything. It required a bit of prompting and on the fly reworking to keep a good flow. I can definitely recommend limiting or even removing the combat encounters in the bedroom and kitchen to keep the session moving, especially since they are 3-4 hours in and my players were having much more fun exploring this wonderfully designed world and groaned at the idea of taking 30 min for an OK encounter. Neither of my groups wanted to fight them when introduced, so I made them much quicker and easier to beat than recommended. I reccomend instead, make the fight with Tasha more intense, possibly even adding some minions to balance the action economy in her favor if you decide to remove the others.

Overall, with a little reworking, this is an amazing module with great horror vibes, an engaging hook, and an interesting setting. I will absolutely keep this one as a go-to in my one-shot rotation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2020 20:30:26

This was a big hit with my party: strange creatures, creepy scenarios, and a funhouse-style desire/fear to see what's around the next corner kept them all invested! The writing itself also made it easy to run and adapt as necessary - I was able to stitch this into our ongoing campaign with no problem. Thanks for a great product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items