Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The Claw of Winter - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2019 10:49:40

I love a good mystery adventure and this one delivers with plenty of red herrings and plot twists. The story is engaging and compelling and kept my players hooked and they always had a direction to go (a lot of mystery adventures leave the players scratching their heads and needing a nudge in my experience).

The ending revelation was a treat for me and my players. Would defintiely recommend this module to those looking for a mystery or even a horror module (it can definitely get creepy).

I am the DM for a podcast called One-shot Onslaught and we ran this adventure for the show. You can check out our playthrough with the links below:



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Claw of Winter - Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2019 08:20:53

I'm a huge fan of Jeff and all of his work and this may be my favorite of his yet. This module has so much to offer.

  • Easy hooks
  • Great story/mystery
  • Roleplay opportunities galore
  • Some insanely fun combat
  • Enough strange creatures to keep your players guessing

This module would be fantastic to run for a Halloween one shot or just anytime. If somehow you have yet to buy it (this thing has been on the hottest titles for so long and for a reason!) then you should grab it now!

I'm the DM for a podcast called One-shot Onslaught that plays one shot adventures and you can find the links to this module below:



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Madhouse of Tasha's Kiss - Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Down Came A Blackbird
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2019 12:32:17

Let me start off by saying I cannot believe this is Stacey's debut adventure. The quality of every single aspect of it is top notch and screams veteran publisher!

Pros: Beautiful layout, great maps, nice handouts, very helpful tables (loved the townsfolk table), super easy (and GREAT) story to follow/get the players to follow, very easy to prep (broken up in parts that are easy to follow), very fun and dynamic fights (can't stress this one enough, the fights are all so unique and FUN), handy stat blocks for all of the creatues involved at the end.

Cons: The only thing I can even think of to say is a "con" is that the handouts aren't available as their own documents so I had to use a snippet tool to screenshot for my players, not a dealbreaker what-so-ever.

I'm the DM for a podcast that plays one-shot modules from dmsguild and I ran this adventure for a few of our patrons on our Twitch channel, you can watch my playthrough here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfhyBTG9Zf4



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down Came A Blackbird
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2019 12:07:23

I have long awaited an item such as this! My players always ask what loot creatures have and I never have anything fun/interesting to offer them until now. Not only does this product offer mundane/useless items but it has variants for most things to use them as other tools (i.e. the Hippogryph claws)

If you're a DM you should grab this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Loot Vol. 1 – Monster Manual
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Labyrinth of Thorns (A Requiem of Wings #2)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2019 12:47:18

Ashley has dont it yet again. All of her works are fantastic and this one is no different. I ran this for a Valentines Day special on our Twitch channel and me and the players had a blast! It ran for roughly 2.5 hours.

There are some great roleplay chances here (loved the Satyr), some fun puzzles and fun combat. The last scene is pretty great!

If you want to check out our playthrough you can find it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lf6YiRmeNN4



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Labyrinth of Thorns (A Requiem of Wings #2)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

D&D Solo Adventure: The Tortured Land
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2019 12:47:51

This is the third solo adventure I have ran from Paul and am happy to say that I have survived all three (barely!). Granted, I stream them on Twitch and have the viewers help me out so I don't think I would have survived this one otherwise! Without spoiling anything, when all was said and done I had 3 hp left.

Every module I have ran from Paul has been 2-4 hours of nonstop fun, this one included. I can't comment on the paths that I didn't take because I haven't read them yet (planning on maybe rerunning this one in the future) but I can say that the path I took was action packed and full of tough decisions. I highly recommend grabbing this product and running it through some night where you want to play D&D but don't have the group for it. It is well worth the price and has a high replay value.

You can check out my playthrough over at https://youtu.be/Mntby_cCc4k and see if you can make better choices than me!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: The Tortured Land
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Plight of the Blight Thief
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/02/2019 08:55:17

I cannot believe this is a PWYW. It's not a one shot, it's a full mini campaign/starter campaign. Not only that but it is a great mini campaign.

The layout looks professional, the maps are fantastic, the NPCs are all well thought-out. Seriously, this thing is easily worth $5-$10. Just download it and check it out for yourself!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Plight of the Blight Thief
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

The Fruit of Evil - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2019 09:20:03

Full disclosure, I LOVE Jeff’s work. I have not read one of his modules yet that I have not fully enjoyed and wanted to run right away.

This module was no different. I read through it and knew I had to run it. I liked the seemingly simple hook (just go get one fruit please!) that obviously turns out to be harder than just that. The intro is set up nicely to get the characters invested in the quest and should be a hook that is easily picked up by nearly any party.

This module has plenty of opportunities for combat but just as many opportunities for a party to use social interaction in lieu of combat (which is part of what my group did).

The entire module can be read through and prepped for pretty quickly (I think I spent about an hour reading it) and the story is very easy to follow for both the DM and the players. The layout is great of course and the NPC’s all have their intentions very clearly laid out to make it easy to RP.

All of that being said, I’m sad to report that we had a bad snowstorm on the night that we played/recorded this session so I had to trim out a lot of the early parts of the module for time. This paired with my group finding a way into the top of the tower quickly led to a very quick truncated run of the module. In hindsight I could have definitely come up with ways to have the group go back down into the tower (have them not have seen the activation word on the portal and had them go down searching for clues for example) but at the time I didn’t think quick enough. All said these issues were completely my fault and the module is still a 5/5! I would only suggest that you prepare for your group to make it straight into the top floor of the tower and perhaps come up with a reason for them to go back down because there is a ton of cool stuff in this tower that my group missed!

I'm the DM of a podcast that plays one shots from dmsguild so if you want to listen to our playthrough of this module you can find it at the links below or by searching for "One-shot Onslaught" wherever you download shows. Look for more of Jeff's adventures from us in the future!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgF5Entt564 Podcast ep 1: http://directory.libsyn.com/episode/index/id/8594165 Podcast ep 2: http://directory.libsyn.com/episode/index/id/8671283



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fruit of Evil - Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Bastion of the Frost Lord - Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2019 09:05:28

This module has it all. A great hook/introduction, a ton of really fun puzzles, good RP/social encounters and also fun combat. Each room in the castle is unique and will have your players guessing. It’s always fun to see what your players come up with to solve a puzzle and this module has tons of quick puzzles (I believe 6 or 7?).

M.T. Black is well known in the industry and that's because his work is consistently great and this module is no exception. The module is easy to prep/run and will be a lot of fun for the DM and the players. Just go ahead and buy it if you're on the fence!

I'm the DM of a podcast that plays one shots from dmsguild so if you want to listen to our playthrough of this module you can find it at the links below or by searching for "One-shot Onslaught" wherever you download shows. Look for more M.T. Black adventures from us in the future!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BJryVmY5N4o Podcast ep 1: http://directory.libsyn.com/episode/index/id/886141 Podcast ep 2: http://directory.libsyn.com/episode/index/id/8949329



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bastion of the Frost Lord - Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Poop Bird Poop Fight
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2019 08:06:36

Let me start off by saying that I purchase/play quite a bit of one shots. That being said, this is definitely in my top 3 favorites! It is the kind of silly that is just so fun for a one shot. Where else can you make your players fight giant emus?!

Even though the module is goofy, it has plenty of depth to the story as well and plenty of roleplaying opportunities for your players. The combat is fun, the jokes are good and the whole backstory to what is causing the current events is great. I can't recommend this one shot enough!

I am the DM of a podcast that plays through one shots from dmsguild called One-shot Onslaught and I ran this module for our first live show featuring Tracy from The Broadswords and Bryan from You Meet in a Tavern. If you want to see how all of us made it through the module then check out the links below.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Poop Bird Poop Fight
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks heaps! I loved listening to the recording :)
Solstice Shenanigans: A Wintry One Shot
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2019 11:12:55

Solstice Shenanigans has a lot of content for it's price. It has several mini game type events that you could pop in to any Christmas sessions you play even if you didn't run the entire adventure. That being said, the adventure is really unique and super fun and should for sure be played! It is not the usual run-of-the-mill Christmas/Holiday one shot where you have to save Santa/Kill Krampus. It is a really fun adventure with a bunch of bonus content also thrown in.

When I ran this I was on a bit of a time crunch so I had to change some tiny things and also give my players an option of bonus events which unfortunately meant I had to miss the field of gifts (I think this would be fun).

Whether you need a full adventure to run or just a few mini game type encounters to run for your winter game session you should grab this module.

I'm the DM for a podcast/Twitch/YouTube series that plays modules from dmsguild and I ran this module for our Twitch stream. You can find the video here https://youtu.be/V35sDJ4Mu30



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solstice Shenanigans: A Wintry One Shot
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Escape from the Fortress of Memories
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2019 10:51:20

Escape from the Fortress of Memories is a great one shot that is really easy to prep/run and also to drop in to any campaign. It would be really cool to run this alongside Lost Mines of Phandelver since it has Sildar in it as well but it works without this also (I supplemented Sildar with another NPC that a player actually controlled).

It has great description blocks, fun combat and a fun story. I definitely recommend you grabbing this module and also listening to the author DM the module herself on her podcast! I listened to the episode prior to running the module and it helped a lot.

I'm the DM for a podcast/Twitch/YouTube series that plays modules from dmsguild and I ran this module for our Twitch stream. You can find the video here https://youtu.be/RBHMzsIMpWY



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Escape from the Fortress of Memories
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

In The Black Midwinter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2019 10:45:50

Let me start by saying that this module is FANTASTIC. If you are looking for a Christmas-y adventure then look no further! It is some of the most fun our table has had playing D&D. The Home Alone references had my players laughing throughout.

Unfortunately due to time restraints I was not able to run the Yule Boys so I can't comment on how well they play out but everything else worked out great. I opted to use all 3 of the big bads listed and I'm glad I did, it was fun seeing the party split to fight 3 separate monsters bosses. I also changed the Deck of Merrythings to just some cookies with bonuses (again, mostly to keep things tight on time for the show) but the Deck is amazing and could probably be a supplement on its own.

The theme of this adventure is spot on, it really got us in the Christmas spirit. I highly recommend it for a December one shot!

I DM'd this for my podcast and YouTube series so if you want to watch or listen to a playthrough you can check it out below or just search "One-shot Onslaught" wherever you download podcasts:



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In The Black Midwinter
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Grimm Encounters II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2019 09:56:05

I have ran one of these encounters from this module so far, played in one and have read the majority of them. The two that I have ran (or played in) are:

  1. The Glass Mountain
  2. Bone and Feathers

Both of these encounters worked exactly as they were meant to. They filled about 2 hours of content and were easy to drop in with minimal prep and provided everyone with a ton of fun. I've had trouble picking which modules to run each time because every one that I've read has been very good so I'll probably end up running nearly all of them before too long.

My brother actually made his DM debut on about a 5 minute notice with Bone and Feathers. He just read a long as we played and was able to make it through to the end and had fun with it as well as all of us!

I DM'd The Glass Mountain for our Twitch series so if you want to watch a playthrough you can check it out below. My brother DM'd Bone and Feathers for our podcast and you can find that below or by searching "One-shot Onslaught" wherever you download podcasts.

The Glass Mountain:https://youtu.be/UnRKfR3iHj0 Bone and Feathers: http://directory.libsyn.com/episode/index/id/8172356



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimm Encounters II
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Potions 11
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2019 09:39:19

Who doesn't love a good heist?!

This module is a really fun heist that also helps build on the phase of a heist that a lot of modules seem to lack, the planning phase. There is a lot of information from casing the building for the players to learn and to use to their advantage in the first section of this module which adds a lot of depth to the whole adventure.

I ran a modified version of this module for a single character as part of that character's backstory and it actually worked out fairly well. There are some things I missed on accident and some things he skipped on purpose (he's neutral to slightly neutral evil) but all-in-all it was a really successful heist!

Bottom line, this module is really easy to run and I would bet that your players would love to run a heist so you should grab it!

I DM'd this for my podcast and YouTube series so if you want to watch or listen to a playthrough you can check it out below or just search "One-shot Onslaught" wherever you download podcasts:



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Potions 11
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items