Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
Trollskull Alley - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource $2.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
24 10
4 0
2 0
0 0
1 0
Trollskull Alley - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM\'s Resource
Click to view
Trollskull Alley - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Shawn S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2019 03:19:54

I've been DMing for a few years now, so I'm not an expert, but I'm not inexperienced. More importantly, I'm running this module with a second group that isn't my primary, so I don't have a lot of spare time to focus on creating too much outside of the module. Unfortunately, the biggest weakpoint for Dragon Heist is just how lacking it is in plot threads beyond the basic backstory and rich character descriptions. It's got a lot of content, but if you want to fill in the blanks, you have to spend some time yourself.

But WOW is this resource a life saver. Some things the team figured out saved my ass hard when it came to delivering a fun module. The quest with the bookeep and the alchemist alone was worth the price of admission to me. The druid I had in the group latched on immediately to assisting the cause: not just because it engaged two very disparate parties, but because she really wanted to find a solution. By the end of it, they met several of their neighbors, shook hands with many powerful people, and started understanding the dynamics of the Waterdeep politics way more than I could have otherwise. I was so giddy when their solution had them second guessing their choices, realizing through the process their actions hurt the Xanathar guild, possibly throwing the balance of power in Zhentarim favor and giving themselves a harder time when dealing with the guilds. It's exactly what I expected players to realize without having to spoonfeed them the guild dynamics. It even gave a reliable in to the Harpers, which one of my members is particualrly intrigued by.

The guide on how to sell Lif as a potentially friendly ghost was spot on, and my party decided to keep him around (which I think is a fantastic choice). Using Mirt and Istrid as possible lenders was genius, and the different pros and cons had my party end the session with serious decisions to make. In the end, the Running the Tavern and Putting in Work rules are saving me boatloads of prep time by taking exactly what I wanted them to do with the tavern and making it accessible.

The "weakest" part of the module is still helpful. Seeing their analysis of the guilds is a nice addition to help save on prep time, as is a recap of the downtime activities. Overall, it's made by a team who seem to have a fairly good grasp of the module and of how to cover the spots in the module that will leave some DMs scratching their head.

I slate it as a "must have" for the busy DM who is running this module and wants a few jumping off points for running this section. The giant gaps left by the module for a whole level and chapter are best filled with missions that provide lots of opportunities to explore the world, which this book provides. The price is extremely reasonable for the pages and work offered. Well proofread and very easy to digest, even if you have to assess it on the fly. Even if you like to do a lot of prep, I would say it's valuable for the two missions it provides and the alternative rules for renovating and operating the tavern, especially since it can provide numbers for skillchecks so you can fairly determine income and lending offers.

Fantastic work from the team, looking forward to picking up Chapter 3!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trollskull Alley - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2019 16:44:44

Such a great product. I'm purchasing and printing out all the info as we go through. This is an invaluable resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trollskull Alley - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2019 17:06:26

There is a lot of "doh! why didn't I think of that" kind of advice here which is a strong compliment because it blends well with the feel of the adventure in many ways and also was something I was immediately comfortable using: strong narrative feels effortless. It is definitely worth the scant price, if only as a way to leap frog more easily into your own ideas if you find yourself coming up short.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trollskull Alley - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Adam W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 14:13:50

A fabulous supplement! The added structure was just what I needed to improve the pacing and momentum of my game during this 'sandbox' portion of the campaign. I especially appreciated the 'Meeting the Neighbors' section, as it gave me a model for creating meaningful encounters using the broad information provided in Chapter 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trollskull Alley - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brett M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2018 15:56:31

This is a GREAT product and WELL WORTH the price you pay! It has everythign you need to build out an amazing chapter - side note I'm copying this review to 'options for troll skull manor' as if you really want to run with the amazing opportunity of building up adn running a business between adventures then THIS IS ABSOLUTELY NEEDED ADN WELCOME!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trollskull Alley - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2018 12:25:43

A well composed supplement, especially for someone new to DM'ing in general and who might be overwhealmed by the options presented in Dragon Heist. Great suggestions on how to proceed into the various chapters of the adventure, when and where to use factions and their representatives, as well as the general repair and running of Trollskull Manor.

Super useful!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trollskull Alley - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2018 13:16:57

Great resource! I wasn't particularly knowledgeable about all of the faction options and it did a great job expanding on them and helping me pick.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trollskull Alley - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2018 16:53:38

An great addition to Dragon Heist. Trollskull Alley fleshes out Chapter 2 in cleaver and interesting ways without bogging anything down or usurping the adventure itself. My favorite part is the extra details for each of the factions. New hooks and ideas really help give direction to what could have been a rudderless part of chapter 2. The expanded rules for tavern upkeep where a little unclear, but after a re-read, they seem like an intriuging twist to what is presented in the book. This is a MUST HAVE for anyone running Dragon Heist.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trollskull Alley - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jane R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2018 23:11:32

Nice product! The "Meeting the Neighbors" section is fantastic! It adds some great side quests and good ideas about how to incorparate the character's neighbors into the game! The running of the tavern is expanded upon well and helps clear up some problems that the book: (Waterdeep Dragon Heist) creates. The down time activities are well adapted to Waterdeep, my only commplant is that the info on the factions takes up a lot of space and doesn't add much that isn't covered in the book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trollskull Alley - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2018 12:30:29

This was exactly what I was looking for! It provides a clear and concise outline for running this sandbox portion of Dragon Heist. Great insights and advice as well as a couple fun mission ideas for getting to know the area locals. I highly recommend this for anyone looking to run Dragon Heist, especially newer DMs like myself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items