Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource $1.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
36 15
7 0
1 0
0 0
0 0
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM\'s Resource
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Laura H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2021 12:02:26

I can't recommend this DM's Resource bundle highly enough! I found Dragon Heist overwhelming at first, but this guide pulls out the essentials, highlights what you need to know, and makes smart suggestions for how to handle some of the more difficult pieces of the adventure. This is THE resource to get to cut down your DM workload and make your game more fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jesse M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2020 21:23:20

I've been a GM through every edition since AD&D. That said, I can honestly say that I've seen everything from awful to amazing in third party content. I find this suppliment to Waterdeep: Dragon Heist's First Chapter "A Friend in Need" is pretty wonderful in fact.

WHY? 1). First off, the PDF comes in both a nice fancy version and a plain text version. Personally, I printed the plain text document, which I find less distracting and can easily make notes on when running a game. I highly appreciate the graphic design and layout of the "fancy" version, however. 2). Extra Content. The first part of the suppliment is dedicated to enhancing content and maybe even covering some gaps in the adventure. You'll have to buy it to get into the details, but I will say the Sava game was especially helpful and helped make a memorible NPC the group has come across a couple of times now. 3). THE DM'S NOTES - This was gold for me. If you read the "A Friend in Need" DM's Notes over, print it out and have it ready, you ARE a well prepared DM for your game. It covers, step by step, what happens in bullet point format that is easy to cross off, highlight, and make notes.
4). The Monster Stats. The suppliment gives you all the relevant stats for your encounters in the chapter. This seems like a small thing until you start to wrestle with several books when your DM'ing the chapter. Once again , I simply print off the suppliment, read the monsters/villiams over and make any notes I need. 5). A Map. You get a nice map of the Yawning Portal to boot.

I would highly recommend buying the entire DM's resource set for the Waterdeep: Dragon Heist book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by keegan h. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2019 12:23:58

This is exactly what I was looking for. I appreciate that it will be a concise tool that assists me to get the most out of the adventure without geting lost or having to refer back to primary text too often (which breaks the continuity of action). Very worth the money just for the maps and chapter enhancement suggestions alone and I will be purchasing other chapters as my adventure progresses!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2019 20:52:07

I love this product and the prices are pretty darn good too. The map artwork is great and I can fit it to the tabletop simulator I am using where I can't seem to get the ones from the digital copy of the book I bought from Wizards to fit correctly. The ideas given for the encounters in this section of the campaign are also really great. It makes it a lot easier to figure out why a certain event happens. (Sorry I seem so evasive. I'm trying to be spoiler free for those who haven't played Dragon Heist.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Erika H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2019 16:38:49

Absolutely awesome! Worth more than I paid for it. Great resource!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bob B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2019 16:37:46

I hadn't discovered this until after I ran the first chapter with my current group. This would have made some things so much easier for me. Love all the resources included.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michelle F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2019 19:29:27

Planning on running Dragon Heist after the campaign we're just starting and the first thing I did was get most of the companion PDFs for this. It's been a great resource so far and makes me even more excited about running this campaign!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brennan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2018 11:35:24

Amazingly helpful, especially the organized list of stat blocks at the end. However you did leave out Nihiloor's stats, which would be useful in case the players decide to attack him (as mine did).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bodie F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/17/2018 02:03:28

For $2 this resource is really great. I bought this resource initially for the HD Yawning Portal map for use on Roll20, but the more I read about the ideas within, the happier I was with the purchase. Excellent resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2018 13:27:59

This product has been an incredible resource so far. The PDF gives advice on making the characters more involved, something I felt the original module lacked. The DM notes in the back have become an invaluable tool



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brett M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2018 15:52:48

Great product! really helps put depth to your adventure and get a better foundation for the start of a great campaign. A great variety of well thought out and supported ideas and help to flesh things out. A definite buy for anyone running WDH



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2018 13:10:04

Great resource! Bought it to have all the stat blocks in one palce. The idea with bringing the blackstaff in was worth the two bucks on its own!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2018 17:02:54

Dragon Heist chapter 1 starts off strong, but this supplement is a hit of steroids. While streamlining the first chapter into a single page bullet-listed summary helps a Dungeon Master keep the adventure organized with ease, it is the extra details to each section that really shine. The Yawning Portal comes to life with flavorful additions and suggestions that sucked my party in immediately. As the party began their first quest, the early introduction of City Watch Captains and certain Moneylenders gave the city a "bigger than it looks" feel. If you're running Dragon Heist, this supplement is a must have. There's so much to love I even forgot to mention the INCREDIBLE map of the Yawning Portal that is included. Get it now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jane R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/13/2018 21:30:07

Great buy! This pdf will definetly help me flesh out chapter 1 better, adding flavour text, NPCs and expanding/creating encounters that involve the characters more, make the scenes more noteworthy and nudge the character in the right direction. The summery at the back is nice to have at your fingertips, it's also useful to get all the monster's stats in one place and the map looks great!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Friend in Need - a Waterdeep: Dragon Heist DM's Resource
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2018 16:01:04

I'm running this section of W:DH on Roll20 tomorrow so this is a very timely release! The two hideout maps are a definite upgrade from what's in the book and default Roll20 purchase, and the additional encounters en route to and in the Skewered Dragon should flesh out those portions of the adventure. The chess-like game is a nice change from typical bar games you'd find in a tavern encounter and gives a rare opportunity to get some actual use out of a gaming set proficiency for a change. All the rest is nicely organized and concisely presented. Excellent product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I'm very happy that you like it - and I hope you and your players have fun at the (virtual) table tomorrow! :)
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items