Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Blue Alley $4.95
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
62 32
20 2
4 2
1 1
0 0
Blue Alley
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2020 22:51:21

Loved this little sidequest. Perfect thing to stick into the middle of Dragon Heist or any Waterdeep campaign for a change of pace. The maps are beautiful and evocative and help guide the storytelling.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Heath I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2020 06:48:34

thought this was great both as a stand-alond and as a solid way to get waterdeep characters to level 3. Mirt also makes a great contact and a way less confusing way to point the characters to the house of Gralhund...way better than dealing with the nimblewright imo.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2020 15:42:52

Solid dungeon crawl. Great concept, good puzzles. There aren't many good 1-shots for 2nd level players, and this does a really good job of challenging without killing everyone. If you have a party just getting started and you want to dungeon crawl in Waterdeep, this is a really good choice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2020 17:19:08

A wonderful adventure with great traps, moments, and mayhem for the delight of players and DMs. Often traps in a dungeon will feel like cheap gotch-ya's from the DM but the traps presented in this adventure are quite the opposite. Thie damage and setbacks for PCs are low enough for everyone to appreciate thier cleverness. The players in my group had a lot of fun in Blue alley. I recomend that every DM running Waterdeep Dragon Heist pick add Blue Alley to thier campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Keven M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2020 16:51:52

I found and purchased this initially as a substitution for Chapter 2 of Waterdeep: Dragon Heist. It's a terrific dungeon, with some very clever and unique concepts. In particular, the Crystalite room has a very unique gimmick, and leaves a lot of leeway for out-of-the-box thinking on the part of PCs. While this could be seen as just a series of different rooms, there is actually quite a bit of interaction between rooms, which binds everything together neatly.

All that being said, there are some problems with Blue Alley. For one thing, there were several times in running this that I or my players found plot holes or inconsistencies in the descriptions and features of the various rooms and items. Nothing game breaking, but enough that it caused delays as I had to search through the book to find out if there was an answer or if this was a case of overlooked information. I concede that not everything can be accounted for when writing an adventure, but these were all faily common sense things that any average player would question or ask, nothing that would be considered unexpected. Basically it needs another read-through and editing session to smooth out some of the wrinkles.

Secondly, I found the difficulty chart to be significantly off. As I said, I ran this as a replaceent for Chapter 2 of Dragon Heist, with 4 PCs. When they reached the point where Blue Alley would start, they were at 2nd level, and according to the difficulty table this would make them "Weak". Accordingly, I bumped them to level 3 (without this bump, they would have reached level 3 about halfway through Blue Alley), as I wanted this to be challenging but not deadly. Ultimately though, I should have left them at level 2, as they sailed through Blue Alley with little difficulty. They took a while to complete it, as they are an extremely thorough and meticulous group, but they never really faced any true danger. To be fair, one of them is an Aarakocra, which essentially nullified the hanging platform room, but this one room wasn't enough to shift the balance that far.

In conclusion, this was a great adventure that I was very happy with, and will definitely use again for other groups. It just needs a little more attention to detail to tuly excel.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Petr D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2020 05:40:15

Great and fun adventure! I think that my party wont forget the fight with smoke mepthits :D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Carl A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2019 02:19:47

This adventure is so much fun to run. If you need a self contained story or maybe want to throw a side quest at your party, GET THIS. Every room is unique, the puzzles funny, and the story is on point. This is worth more than $5 - it's such a good deal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kristen J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2019 20:05:15

Fantastic module - I've run this as a one-shot for a group of lvl 3 first timers and it ran in a tight four hours. Have also inserted it into my Dragon Heist campaign and increased the stats for applicable monsters as it's a five person lvl 6 party, which are only 75% through after two 4 hour sessions. Perfect mix of puzzle work, old fashion dungeon crawl, and npc interaction. Easily scaled upédown as required. The hook makes it possible to drop new characters/late comers to the dungeon when necessary and it provided a nice break from the Dragon Heist campaign. (I changed the celestine unicorn to be a treasure needed to barter for info about the stone of golorr.)

Highly recommended and steal at $4.95.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew S Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2019 03:16:48

This is a terrific little dungeon crawl adventure. Excellent writing makes it easy for a DM to run with relatively minimal prep, and the traps and encounters are unique, memorable, and just lots of fun. I easily worked this into my Waterdeep: Dragon Heist campaign by using this as a way for the PC's to secure Mirt's support on their big Chapter 2 project. The players loved it! Like another reviewer, I'd like to know more about the origins of Blue Alley. There's a lot to mine here, and I'm hoping these excellent authors will revisit this unforgettable corner of Waterdeep!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcello V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/20/2019 16:05:55

This probably gets old, but I wanted to just take a moment to reach out and tell you that I found this adventure to be a well put together dungeon "gauntlet". I am not a fan of dungeon crawls that slog along, but to me the descriptive narrative and the snide interjections from the the dungeon's creator make this even more enjoyable! The module is written with accuracy, brevity and clarity .. the three things to me that are important for any DM to be able to present this adventure. Thanks! Perhaps some more future adventure's can look more at the Blue Alley dungeon's creator....?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Axel H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2019 16:04:20

Incredible dungeon . Played this dungeon with multiple of my groups, enough balance between puzzle and fight to keep every type of player entertained .

Just a good lesson at dungeon building .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Loes D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2019 09:32:15

I've played this as a oneshot with a group not familiar with the premade adventures of the Adventureras League. They were surprised by all the different ways this adventure uses the environment for traps, riddles and combat. It really taps into the players' ability to think out of the box, to use brain over brawl, but has enough combat opportunities to keep it interesting for less thoughtfull players. Recommended for both new and experienced players!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tyler B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2019 12:48:18

It says 3-4 hours... That DM has never met my group. They've covered only half of the Alley, and it has been 2x 3 hour sessions. Lots of fun thus far.

I injected Blue Alley at level 2 in my Waterdeep: Dragon Heist campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ken V. W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2019 22:31:14

This was a fun mod to run, a classic dungeon crawl with a lot of varied challenges for my players. I've run this one twice so far, once at a local convention and once at a game store with regular AL days. At the con, I had a mixed group of first timers and old hands, and every "welcome to AL" potion got used before they got out. It was a rough ride, but everyone had a great time. I had to fudge a little so a first timer didn't get instakilled before even entering the dungeon (a super drag at a con) but overall found the adversaries well balanced with the party.

It's hard to get the bonus objectives in on a four hour timeclock, both groups I ran were super close to the riddle when we had to call it quits, and only one found and solved the golden door. The treasure distribution in this mod was great, though, and the scattering of common items allowe dmy first timers to spend their tp and walk away with something to remember Blue Alley by.

Be prepared running this at public tables, while the mod is written for T1, it's in the ALCC for levels 1-5 and takes some scaling to make it a challenge for those level 5 characters.

A great adventure overall, and it's staying in my game binder as my new emergency standby dungeon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by RICHARD H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2019 05:25:59

I'm lucky enough to have in my hands both a copy of WOTC's Waterdeep: Dragon Heist and also DM Guild's Blue Alley. Blue Alley slots easily into the options based Dragon Heist framework, where alternate options make this campaign structure quite replayable. Blue Alley will add an additional option for your party to choose from, ideal for those who dislike being "railroaded". Having this adventure in your arsenal will make you look like the amazing DM who thought of everything! In saying that, the adventure will work equally well in any city setting - it's nature is fantastic rather than urbane, and it will spark the imaginations of your players with it's devilish fantasy rather than involve them in deep intrigue.

"... everyone knows Blue Alley is a deathtrap ..."

This warning appears on page 2, suggesting that your party might want to get some adventuring under their belt if this is their first introduction to D&D. A party with their wits about them and who's blades have a few notches in them will be able to jump in at level 1. The cryptic nature of the adventure is the real adversary here, a challenge to the players' intellect rather than their melee damage output.

Episode 1 introduces some interesting NPCs who might become features in your campaign including the main character: Mirt. Episode 2 details the main challenge of the adventure, while Episode 3 provokes the party to consider the consequences of their actions. Appendix 1 reprints one creature from Volo's Guide to Monsters, the rest of the encounters require the Monster Manual. Appendix 2 has the single page map, while Appendix 3 provides some tips for the DM.

I haven't yet run this adventure, but my advice is that you read the puzzles and traps carefully, so that your players' screams of frustration are equally matched with their ecstatic squeals of triumph!

In summary Blue Alley will add immense value as a feature within your Waterdeep campaign. ~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~|~

Results of Play Through Sunday 10 March 2019 at Melb DDAL (Adventurers' League) Party: 4 x level 3 adventurers (Storm Sorcerer, Celestial Warlock, Bard, Fighter). Session Duration: 4 hours.

I spent a lot of time preparing for this session, and every moment of preparation paid off! I printed out the incredibly beautiful high res map on A3 for me as a guide alongside the module print out. I printed each monster stat so I didn't have to open my Monster Manual (in fact I left my Monster Manual at home to lighten the packing weight). I printed all the phrases of the riddle to hand out to the players as they found them. I wrote up the DDAL player rewards including magic item unlocks. The only preparation I didn't do was look up certain magical and spell effects, for which I resorted to the hardcovers during the session. I prepared the Waterdeep map to show them the exact location of Blue Alley - something that was a lot of fun to research.

The party found themselves very quickly highly engaged with this module, and were determined to leave no stone unturned. I kept the pace fairly quick to give them a chance to finish everything, but they only just managed to complete the primary objective in the four hours. However, I believe that they would be able to complete the adventure's bonus objectives within another hour or so. This adventure contains so much content densly packed within the pages, its very easy to underestimate it as the text is so economical. The players knew when to respect danger, so they were cautious to heed the warning signs, and to avoid most of the deadly situations. I rolled a d20 to see which items were tidied up by the cleanup crew, and a bag of sand and the fighter's shield were lost to oblivion. I got one player to map out the dungeon old school style which was in keeping with the overall theme of this adventure.

The result? Four adventurers with a healthy respect for the dungeon of Blue Alley!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items