Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Blue Alley $4.95
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
86 39
26 2
6 2
1 1
0 0
Blue Alley
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mon A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2021 09:33:17

If you're looking for a short DnD dungeon adventure, I highly recommend Blue Alley! My players both new and old loved the puzzles and the interesting combat scenarios, and especially the small twist at the end.

5/5 would shove PCs into a hole with smoke mephits and steal paladin longswords with boggles again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dalton D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/10/2020 06:35:14

Great low level adventure with a healthy balance of traps, puzzles, and combat. I really enjoyed running this adventure and my players enjoyed it as well. I would recmmoned anyone to give it a look as it is quite worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Anna B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2020 15:28:50

Great fun house dungeon full of traps, riddles and surprising twists that can be transplanted into any city. My players had a blast and running it was a lot of fun! The maps for players and DM are really neat and the format made it easy to run on the fly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2020 11:34:06

Really enjoyed! Run it for 4 players during Waterdeep Dragon Heist. Clever encounters, some pretty difficult ones, especially if the players don't take a short rest. Nice humor and riddles also! It provides hooks on how to lure your players into it which I found really helpfull. Worth the price and would definitely buy a physical copy if ever available.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Luke H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/21/2020 10:39:28

This was an awesome adventure! Ran it for 4 experienced DM's, and even the one who doesn't like dungeon crawls said they enjoyed it. Rogue not necessary, but may speed it up somewhat.

Definitely recommend. Took a full 4 hours.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2020 16:41:38

This was a really fun adventure. I researched it, read it, and ran this adventure for 3 3rd lvl players and had a blast. The encounters, traps, puzzles, riddles, and challenges were great! We did take about 6-7 hours to complete and was hoping for 4hrs, but it was so fun we didn't mind. I really loved the Mimic room - very fun!

HIGHLY recommend this adventure. but do your prep and planning ahead of time to ensure a successful and fun game. I wish I would have written and handed out all the incribed words, but it all worked out. I really wish there would have been more to the "“FIFTY FEET SOUTH OF THE BARRED WINDOW IS A SECRET DOOR.” clue - at least a "gotcha!" prank or something. I would have added it if I knew how obsessed my players would have become because of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sean H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2020 20:35:57

Great adventure with an interesting focus on exploration (traps!) and some combat. My players enjoyed the anticipation of potential dangers within the various rooms. There is genuine creativity and humour in this module. I built in humorous interactions with the cleanup crew of Boggles, and I provided some sarcastic / Dad-joke "commentary" from the wizard who oversees the place, which suited my group. To play it fully, I would say the three to four hour time estimate is pretty tight! The only thing that I found challenging as a DM was how to manage the Celestite Unicorn - it asked to be released - the party said "OK" and did not hand it over to Mirt. But there was no elaboration of what might happen next. That is fine for the typical home campaign, and is probably even a strength in such cases, but is problematic for AL play. All in all this adventure was a breath of fresh air! (Unpopular opinion: I dislike Waterdeep: Dragonheist as I feel that it is not cough adventurous enough. Too much yabber yabber, not enough stabber stabber if you know what I mean. So I highly recommend inserting Blue Alley into your Waterdeep: Dragonheist game at some point to bring something in that is thematically consistent but more like a traditional dungeon for those of us who like that kind of thing!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2020 22:51:21

Loved this little sidequest. Perfect thing to stick into the middle of Dragon Heist or any Waterdeep campaign for a change of pace. The maps are beautiful and evocative and help guide the storytelling.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Heath I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2020 06:48:34

thought this was great both as a stand-alond and as a solid way to get waterdeep characters to level 3. Mirt also makes a great contact and a way less confusing way to point the characters to the house of Gralhund...way better than dealing with the nimblewright imo.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2020 15:42:52

Solid dungeon crawl. Great concept, good puzzles. There aren't many good 1-shots for 2nd level players, and this does a really good job of challenging without killing everyone. If you have a party just getting started and you want to dungeon crawl in Waterdeep, this is a really good choice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2020 17:19:08

A wonderful adventure with great traps, moments, and mayhem for the delight of players and DMs. Often traps in a dungeon will feel like cheap gotch-ya's from the DM but the traps presented in this adventure are quite the opposite. Thie damage and setbacks for PCs are low enough for everyone to appreciate thier cleverness. The players in my group had a lot of fun in Blue alley. I recomend that every DM running Waterdeep Dragon Heist pick add Blue Alley to thier campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Keven M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/10/2020 16:51:52

I found and purchased this initially as a substitution for Chapter 2 of Waterdeep: Dragon Heist. It's a terrific dungeon, with some very clever and unique concepts. In particular, the Crystalite room has a very unique gimmick, and leaves a lot of leeway for out-of-the-box thinking on the part of PCs. While this could be seen as just a series of different rooms, there is actually quite a bit of interaction between rooms, which binds everything together neatly.

All that being said, there are some problems with Blue Alley. For one thing, there were several times in running this that I or my players found plot holes or inconsistencies in the descriptions and features of the various rooms and items. Nothing game breaking, but enough that it caused delays as I had to search through the book to find out if there was an answer or if this was a case of overlooked information. I concede that not everything can be accounted for when writing an adventure, but these were all faily common sense things that any average player would question or ask, nothing that would be considered unexpected. Basically it needs another read-through and editing session to smooth out some of the wrinkles.

Secondly, I found the difficulty chart to be significantly off. As I said, I ran this as a replaceent for Chapter 2 of Dragon Heist, with 4 PCs. When they reached the point where Blue Alley would start, they were at 2nd level, and according to the difficulty table this would make them "Weak". Accordingly, I bumped them to level 3 (without this bump, they would have reached level 3 about halfway through Blue Alley), as I wanted this to be challenging but not deadly. Ultimately though, I should have left them at level 2, as they sailed through Blue Alley with little difficulty. They took a while to complete it, as they are an extremely thorough and meticulous group, but they never really faced any true danger. To be fair, one of them is an Aarakocra, which essentially nullified the hanging platform room, but this one room wasn't enough to shift the balance that far.

In conclusion, this was a great adventure that I was very happy with, and will definitely use again for other groups. It just needs a little more attention to detail to tuly excel.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Petr D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2020 05:40:15

Great and fun adventure! I think that my party wont forget the fight with smoke mepthits :D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Carl A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2019 02:19:47

This adventure is so much fun to run. If you need a self contained story or maybe want to throw a side quest at your party, GET THIS. Every room is unique, the puzzles funny, and the story is on point. This is worth more than $5 - it's such a good deal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kristen J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2019 20:05:15

Fantastic module - I've run this as a one-shot for a group of lvl 3 first timers and it ran in a tight four hours. Have also inserted it into my Dragon Heist campaign and increased the stats for applicable monsters as it's a five person lvl 6 party, which are only 75% through after two 4 hour sessions. Perfect mix of puzzle work, old fashion dungeon crawl, and npc interaction. Easily scaled upédown as required. The hook makes it possible to drop new characters/late comers to the dungeon when necessary and it provided a nice break from the Dragon Heist campaign. (I changed the celestine unicorn to be a treasure needed to barter for info about the stone of golorr.)

Highly recommended and steal at $4.95.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items