Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists $1.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
12 11
4 0
1 0
1 1
0 1
Here\'s To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Click to view
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gustavo I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2019 23:38:30

A great supplement for DMs that want to go outside of the limitations of DnD 5e.

Clean cut information that will be easily understood by DMs of all level of experience. The use of Skill Challenges similar to 4e at the end of the capers are easily my favorite part.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A G. F. Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2018 20:19:34

Got this based on a review from nerd immersion on FaceBook. It is a good way to run a heist. I think it could fit in any game system with only minor tweeks. I love the flash back/insperation. A real 5/5 for me. In my opinion the only thing its mising is a 1 shot mini adventure to try it in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2018 10:35:53

Here's To Crime seems to try to make a storytelling game out of Dungeons & Dragons, when those are two different genres and very different styles of play.

I do like the first step, encouraging the players to brainstorm an approach to their goal, whether it's a con job, a heist, or so on. As the author points out, listening to your players telling you what kind of game they want to play is good DMing!

Unfortunately, beyond that point, there doesn't seem to be much in the way of meaningful player choice nor consequences for their actions. The role of the DM is practically abstracted out of existence, as the players are directed to set up situations however they please. This turns the game into a sequence of dice rolls that will naturally match up with whatever the characters are proficient at. If a complication arises, flash back to a convenient reason why that complication is actually no problem at all.

I appreciate that the author has gone way outside the box with this product, and clearly has found an audience that enjoys it! I certainly wouldn't want to detract from that. But if you run a style of game that emphasizes agency, player skill over character skill, and meaningful stakes for the characters involved, you might be disappointed.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to check this out! I totally get that it's a bit more cinematic/narrative than a lot of tables will be comfortable with- it's for sure not for everybody! I did just want to clarify one point. You mention the DM being abstracted out of existence, but that's not the case for the piece as a whole. The heist is broken into three phases. The third phase- which wraps up the heist and should take roughly ten minutes of gametime- does in fact abstract the DM and give the players a TON of storytelling control. However, the bulk of the session is in the second phase, which is the heist proper. During this phase, the DM is setting challenges and scenarios the players and characters have to over come, much like a conventional game. (And they do have a "Flashback" resource, which can help them deal with the problem, but not wish it away entirely). I totally get it's not for everybody, though, and thank you for the review. I'm not intending to argue, just wanted to clarify intent. Even though you didn't enjoy the work as a whole, I'm glad there were aspects of it you dug!
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jacob T. W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2018 19:45:36

This is a fantastic resource. I am prepping to run Dragon Heist and wanted to make the adventure feel more like a Heist movie, and this is a great system. It breaks down how to turn an entire session into a streamlined heist that feels like you are running Oceans 11. It will be 2 dollars well spent.

I would love to see more examples especially with complications.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2018 13:10:53

As a huge fan of series like "Leverage" (currently on my 5th time viewing from start to finish) this supplement is well worth the money to help craft a more cinematic story. It's great how it pushes Game Masters to keep the story fluid and moving. This is as advertised as supplemental material for a fun side adventure or even part of the story path as part of a main game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Louie S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2018 12:07:01

This is one of the little gems you find in the DMs Guild that turns out to be a valuable treasure. A quick read and fun approach to creating a story based heist.

I actually played with this writer / dungeon master, and my group (which I had pulled together just for a one shot on a winters night) loved it. There was talk afterwards about how quick and delightful the play was, we jumped right into the action and the flashback mechanic was fun - we all had a chance to add to the story in a creative way.

I think this supplement plus the Dragon Heist sourcebook could lead to a full criminal campaign if that is the direction the players and DM want to go.

As mentioned in another review, there are not characters / maps / treasures in this supplement - but that is not what is needed (The DH sourcebook has all those things) this is a 'mechanic' type supplement and should be seen as a way to outline and play out a caper or heist, which the DH sourcebook is lacking.

My group played this as a one shot - the writer was the DM, now I know his secrets - and I am looking forward to using this to create some one shots of my own for future groups.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cory T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2018 09:55:45

This is so well organized, straight forward, and should translate well to any DM, fresh or veteran.

Without exaggerating, I've been trying to conceptualize an Ocean's Eleven campaign for years, and The Dragon Heist has me all sorts of excited. Cannot wait to utilize this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2018 09:35:47

Great little supplement, a good mix of flavor and mechanics. It's flexible and provides a great scaffolding so I can get on with the fun parts of DMing. The flashback mechanic is great for that famous heist movie trope: if you discuss the plan out loud, it'll definitely fail, but if you whisper it so the audience can't hear it, you've got a shot. Starting in media res is a great tactic too. Looking forward to more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2018 08:53:06

Wonderful product - exceeded my expectations. Can't wait to see more from Jimmy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2018 07:35:37

Fun read, cool ideas, and the flash back idea. Well worth my money. Also I'm glad to say reading this has made me a more sensitive lover. Well done Mr. Meriit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Edward C P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2018 21:20:03

It's hard to do a "heist" adventure that really lives up to the hollywood blockbusters. Here's a short (4 pp) guide which helps you to structure a D&D 5e adventure. Just that structuring alone is a help to DMs. Then there's some simple mechanics to see how a party's heist goes. The initial planning stage allows the party to brainstorm and it gives them bonuses in the actual heist. Planning and a certain amount of luck determines whether the heist is one that the party can use their strengths to overcome, or do tougher problems arise? The final part is the basically the get away, for which there are simple mechanics too. For a DM, this little guide lets you quickly whip up an interesting adventure taht is more based on overcoming problems, rather than hacking and smashing. The rules really suit a group that is into role-playing and creative rather than roll-playing. The best bit of "crunch" in the guide is the "flashback" mechanic. The name pretty much speaks for itself, but it rewards creativity and roleplaying. Our group plays in a popular D&D podcast - I'm looking forwards to trying this out on air !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Slothful D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2018 20:47:08

This product offers a generalized overview of how to run a heist story by encouraging the players to invent having prepared the perfect tool for the problem they encounter. "There's a wall you have to climb, it's 3 meters tall, How do you beat that?" - The player responds: "I would have put a grappeling hook and rope in my bag for just such a problem". DM: "Roll a check to see if you can throw the hook and get a hold". Beat enough such challenges and you've pulled off the heist.

This product lacked: Specific details for using various classes and aspects of a D20 fantasy system.* No maps, No illustrations, No useful list of items, location or similar to help you flesh out your own story. No opposing force trying to stop the players from accomplishing their goal.

4 pages for 2 dollars is fair enough. I bought this supplement looking for Oceans Eleven and I got Monty Python and the Holy Grail - the heist edition. It glazes over several major aspects of the genere of stories it wants to help tell. Certainly all my complaints can be described as "different approaches", I am by no means a satisfied customer. I bought this product because I wanted to enrich my players experience by getting a deeper look at heist scenarios, I did not find such a thing. The flashback mechanic was interesting which is why I won't be asking for a refund.

*(It included references to playing with a D20 and using aspects like inspiration).



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/15/2018 07:16:57

I first played this at a gaming convention and i couldn't wait for it to be published so that i can take it home to my crew. I look forward to more from this author!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items