Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists $1.99
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
25 16
8 1
1 0
2 1
1 1
Here\'s To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/08/2020 19:24:51

Just used this to run two sessions for my D&D AP podcast and it was so fun! Very roleplay focused experience with minimal combat but lots of opportunities for everyone to find a time to shine. Our timetable almost perfectly matched the one James shared in a comment below. The booklet provides just enough guidance to keep things interesting but doesn't bog the session down with a step-by-step railroaded progression. It absolutely requires the DM to be extremely flexible and quick on their feet, as the players will absolutely come up with a lot of craziness that couldn't be planned for. But as long as the DM isn't afraid to always say "Yes" then this is a very fun way to run a heist. Very satisfied with the purchase.

Sugestion for improvement: As many of the sections have things that alter the following sections, it would be helpful if a short worksheet were included to help keep track of all that. I ended up making my own, but I think having an official one would help ensure a more pleasureable experience and clarify some of the rules as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I’m so glad you enjoyed! I’d love a link to that podcast where you played once it’s up and running :)
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Unka b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2019 04:18:25

I just ran this tonight and it was a rousing success. The process gave each member a chance to shine, and several of their choices suprised me. You will not have fun if you have a railroad or set series of things you would like your players to experience. You need to be flexible and let them come up with plans of their own! This gives them more investment in the caper.

The Flashback mechanic was a hit, allowing the players to change a roll from one skill to another, and in one very liberal use on my side to allow for the placement of one very specific item that made for a very memorable Score Skill Challenge Escape.

This does make for a very improvisational and seat of your pants game that if you are into that sort of thing was great fun for all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Itai A. R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2019 17:38:07

I ran a game using this file. It was very improvisational, and I don't think it's suitable for every group. However, we really enjoyed it and it was a lot of fun. The structure really lent itself to a game with very little preparation, and it fits very well with the themes of Waterdeep Dragon Heist. I liked it. I think it needs serious beefing up on how to create complications and how to use them. I think a lot of GMs would need help in that specific area.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2019 08:34:15

This supplement is unique and exciting on first blush! It offers a blend of heist that is different and makes it possible to actually complete a job within a four hour block. The only thing I knock it for is depth. The supplement is inspired by Blades in the Dark, so maybe the extra depth would be in there, but I found myself as the DM having trouble coming up with a lot of extra prep examples for my group during the prep phase, as well as more help for how to run a "complication" during the actual job. This supplement is well worth a purchase, however! A great and different way to run a D&D session, it is fun for a one shot or a completely different story for your group. But, there feels like a certain vagueness and shallowness to the supplemental rules. Overall, worth a buy and the fun vastly outweighs any frustration, especially for one shots!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Christina F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2019 17:22:29

This is a great guide! I've only been able to test it out once, and it went really well, but it was a challenge for my players just because it's a different style of roleplaying. They really had fun with it though and are looking forward to playing in this style again! We plan on using it with our Waterdeep: Dragon Heist campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brandon G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2019 14:04:06

I was always a huge fan of 4e's Skill Challenges and this supplement is a great way to use them in your 5e games. If you've tried running a stealthy/espionage type quest using raw 5e rules you've probably come to the same conclusion that many other DM's have...yikes that didnt work. Here's to crime gives you a way to run such a quest in a extremely fun, cinematic, theater of the mind way. It also dramatically shortens and simplifies what would otherwise be a very lame and lengthy quest/session that you'd spend far too much time prepping for. I was able to read and understand these rules only minutes before i used them in a session with tremendous success. My players abolutely loved it. I've been useing them often ever since. Thanks Jimmy. You killed it with this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gustavo I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2019 23:38:30

A great supplement for DMs that want to go outside of the limitations of DnD 5e.

Clean cut information that will be easily understood by DMs of all level of experience. The use of Skill Challenges similar to 4e at the end of the capers are easily my favorite part.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A G. F. Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2018 20:19:34

Got this based on a review from nerd immersion on FaceBook. It is a good way to run a heist. I think it could fit in any game system with only minor tweeks. I love the flash back/insperation. A real 5/5 for me. In my opinion the only thing its mising is a 1 shot mini adventure to try it in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2018 10:35:53

Here's To Crime seems to try to make a storytelling game out of Dungeons & Dragons, when those are two different genres and very different styles of play.

I do like the first step, encouraging the players to brainstorm an approach to their goal, whether it's a con job, a heist, or so on. As the author points out, listening to your players telling you what kind of game they want to play is good DMing!

Unfortunately, beyond that point, there doesn't seem to be much in the way of meaningful player choice nor consequences for their actions. The role of the DM is practically abstracted out of existence, as the players are directed to set up situations however they please. This turns the game into a sequence of dice rolls that will naturally match up with whatever the characters are proficient at. If a complication arises, flash back to a convenient reason why that complication is actually no problem at all.

I appreciate that the author has gone way outside the box with this product, and clearly has found an audience that enjoys it! I certainly wouldn't want to detract from that. But if you run a style of game that emphasizes agency, player skill over character skill, and meaningful stakes for the characters involved, you might be disappointed.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to check this out! I totally get that it's a bit more cinematic/narrative than a lot of tables will be comfortable with- it's for sure not for everybody! I did just want to clarify one point. You mention the DM being abstracted out of existence, but that's not the case for the piece as a whole. The heist is broken into three phases. The third phase- which wraps up the heist and should take roughly ten minutes of gametime- does in fact abstract the DM and give the players a TON of storytelling control. However, the bulk of the session is in the second phase, which is the heist proper. During this phase, the DM is setting challenges and scenarios the players and characters have to over come, much like a conventional game. (And they do have a "Flashback" resource, which can help them deal with the problem, but not wish it away entirely). I totally get it's not for everybody, though, and thank you for the review. I'm not intending to argue, just wanted to clarify intent. Even though you didn't enjoy the work as a whole, I'm glad there were aspects of it you dug!
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jacob T. W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/20/2018 19:45:36

This is a fantastic resource. I am prepping to run Dragon Heist and wanted to make the adventure feel more like a Heist movie, and this is a great system. It breaks down how to turn an entire session into a streamlined heist that feels like you are running Oceans 11. It will be 2 dollars well spent.

I would love to see more examples especially with complications.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2018 13:10:53

As a huge fan of series like "Leverage" (currently on my 5th time viewing from start to finish) this supplement is well worth the money to help craft a more cinematic story. It's great how it pushes Game Masters to keep the story fluid and moving. This is as advertised as supplemental material for a fun side adventure or even part of the story path as part of a main game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Louie S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2018 12:07:01

This is one of the little gems you find in the DMs Guild that turns out to be a valuable treasure. A quick read and fun approach to creating a story based heist.

I actually played with this writer / dungeon master, and my group (which I had pulled together just for a one shot on a winters night) loved it. There was talk afterwards about how quick and delightful the play was, we jumped right into the action and the flashback mechanic was fun - we all had a chance to add to the story in a creative way.

I think this supplement plus the Dragon Heist sourcebook could lead to a full criminal campaign if that is the direction the players and DM want to go.

As mentioned in another review, there are not characters / maps / treasures in this supplement - but that is not what is needed (The DH sourcebook has all those things) this is a 'mechanic' type supplement and should be seen as a way to outline and play out a caper or heist, which the DH sourcebook is lacking.

My group played this as a one shot - the writer was the DM, now I know his secrets - and I am looking forward to using this to create some one shots of my own for future groups.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cory T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2018 09:55:45

This is so well organized, straight forward, and should translate well to any DM, fresh or veteran.

Without exaggerating, I've been trying to conceptualize an Ocean's Eleven campaign for years, and The Dragon Heist has me all sorts of excited. Cannot wait to utilize this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2018 09:35:47

Great little supplement, a good mix of flavor and mechanics. It's flexible and provides a great scaffolding so I can get on with the fun parts of DMing. The flashback mechanic is great for that famous heist movie trope: if you discuss the plan out loud, it'll definitely fail, but if you whisper it so the audience can't hear it, you've got a shot. Starting in media res is a great tactic too. Looking forward to more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Here's To Crime: A Guide to Capers and Heists
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2018 08:53:06

Wonderful product - exceeded my expectations. Can't wait to see more from Jimmy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items