Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox $14.99 $8.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
38 10
5 3
1 0
1 1
0 0
The Solo Adventurer\'s Toolbox
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2021 19:35:51

This is fantastic product and does exactly what it says it does, Allows a player to create and play through adventures solo. Initally I read through the entire pdf. having done that I was a little skeptical, because it's a lot to absorb, but then i started playing and it all came together. I play Adventure's League with a a group every other week. That's not enough dnd for me so I was wanting to fill in the gaps. So i turned to Solo playing. I purchased the board game Wraith of Ashardalon. It's okay but basically just a dungeon crawler with simplified mechanics and almost no story. Then I tried the published solo campaign Death Kight's Squire (also by P. Bimler). This was a good albiet a little too Choose your own Adventure for my taste. After that I took a chance with the Solo Adventurer's Toolbox. I kept my two characters from the Death Knight's Squire adventure and had them run through the random quest mechanics as laid out in the toolbox (Imagination is required to flesh these quest out, but that adds to the fun). Since then their adventures have been: The Search for the Goddess of the Forest, Rescue at the alter of Vulgesh, Beneath the Tomb of Zekrikt, and lastly, A bloody night in Stavendahl. Because I'm playing the same two characters and they are based in the same village, they are establishing relationships with NPC's, gaining local renown, and best yet, Leveling up! On top of all that, upcoming story seeds/quest are beginning to occur organically.
In short, I'm having as much fun playing Solo as I am on my offical/group game nights. That's something I didn't expect. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2020 22:12:57

This is a GREAT resource, and a definite must-have for the solo RPG-er. The only reason I rated it as 4 stars is because there is currently no way to do POD for this book. If that were available, I would definitely rate this one at five starts.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Edward L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2020 17:23:32

These are the best solo mechanics I have found. Simple and creative. I really enjoy this book. Lots of perfect tables to develop the adventures. Great explanations. Everything is balanced. Great work! I actually combine the word lists from this toolbox and the Oracle book. Between the two lists I have 900 words to guide the stories. This simplified version of the Q/A mechanic is much better than I see in other places. Much easier to work with. Really awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeff S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2020 06:47:28

There's a lot to like about this toolbox and a little bit to do to be great. I'm going to start with the good. It covers nearly everything you could want from weather to dungeon generation. Everthing!

A couple minor complaints.

  • Not having page numbers on odd numbered pages. When printed, this is the page one is seeing when lifting so it's an ongoing annoyance.
  • Process flows to show how to combine the various tables top develop an adventure for people without DMing experience. This has been stinging me.

Anyway, highly recommended though I hope the author creates a revision to address usability for beginners.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2019 07:11:39

Wonderful! it works! it is simple and very fun :) I really hope Solo Adventuring becomes offical in DND



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2019 17:52:54

This is the book I've been waiting sometime now.. It has some great charts to play solo including wilderness and dungeons. I really like the 2-player option and the CR scaling for various difficulties. If you want to play solo D&D 5E this is the book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2018 06:34:22

It was an amazing experience working through my own solo adventure on the fly with this amazing supplement. We were lucky enough to have Paul on as a guest on our show(Crit Academy) to talk about this amazing supplement. Listen to it here(http://critacademy.libsyn.com/episode-99-solo-adventurers-toolbox). The product is not only a great source for experiencing DND when you don't have a group, but if you a compulsive character builder, or want to test out different class combinations, this allows you to do that. Additionally, you could use this to actually play out your characters backstory, instead of just writing a few paragraphs. Fantastic supplement and a must have!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Aaron F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2018 14:15:02

Essential for any DM, even if you have no interest in solo adventuring whatsoever! The breadth of tables and ideas presented in this document warrant the price of admission alone!

Solo adventuring can also be a wonderful way to flesh out a campaign world between sessions with your group! It's a blast, give it a whirl!

EDIT In reply to the author's question: yes, please do quote me! I love this product and would be happy to urge others to buy it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hey Aaron, can I use a quote from your review in the blurb?
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rudy C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2018 00:17:27

TL;DR: If you're playing 5th edition D&D and wanting to try running a solo game, then you definitely SHOULD pick up this book!

I just found out about solo play D&D a month ago (incidentally this product showed up as a recommended title and I was intrigued and bought it on impulse), I honestly had no idea that it was possible to play D&D alone, yet here this product is! I'll spare you the details of the insanely creative campaign I was able to craft by using this product and simply say that it's awesome. I think what I enjoy the most is that the awesome adventures I have playing solo are easily ported over to the D&D campaign that I'm currently running. My players are none the wiser but thoroughly enjoying the campaign nonetheless!

As for downsides, this product is geared specifically towards 5th edition D&D. It's not terribly difficult to adapt to other editions of D&D (or other game systems), however I would recommend Mythic GM Emulator as it's specifically designed to be system agnostic whereas Solo Adventurer's Toolbox was built around 5th edition.

If you want to give solo games a try and are playing 5th edition D&D then by all means pick up this product, you'll be very satisfied!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2018 09:10:13

This versatile product offers plenty of options to guide your solo session, once you've figured out how this toolbox works. The layout is nice and clean, with great art and a logical arrangement of content. The writing is great - imaginative without being too much of a word salad. This toolbox is also great for DMs looking for inspiration and crunch.

Overall, with just this toolbox and a few dice, you can tell a great story, either by yourself or with your group. That's why this product is badass!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Domenico R. C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/25/2018 03:38:00

Too complicated...you are gonna spend most of the time making and answering questions, rolling for random encounters, random quests, things that might happen in that particular circumstance and place, finding a way to some words put together make sense, creating interesting dungeons etc. That's not for me and I'm quite sure, for most of d&d players (both novice and experienced). The best solo adventure I have ever played was The Death Knight's Squire. It was very fun to play, simple and effective. A player in a boring Saturday afternoon doesn't want to read so many paragraphs and spend 2 of the 3 hours of play trying to make sense of random things... I really appreciated the attempt, but believe me, it would be much better to write down some other solo adventure. Perhaps with higher level PCs, in a different enviroment compared to your previous solo adventures. Players who play solo adventures want to play, not DMing :S



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hey Domenico! I'm sorry The Toolbox wasn't to your taste. Rest assured, I do have more gamebook-style solo adventures coming soon! The next one is Tables of Doom Part 2, and then the next solo adventure in the series that was started with The Death Knight's Squire. The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox was made to cater to the many requests I received to make a product of this nature.
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2018 22:11:51

This product is specifically marketed towards the solo gamer, a player who wants to play but cannot find a game for whatever reason. To be sure, The Solo Adventurer’s Toolbox is nice for a player. But, if you ask me, it’s a must for a DM. Read my full review at http://www.nonzerosumgames.com/solo-adventurers-toolbox/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David L. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2018 21:00:04

Well, to be perfectly honest, some others have left reviews highlighting its complexity and the fact that players wants a simple module, whilst complimenting other solo-adventures. I find this to be quite funny, considering that this is NOT a module, it is a toolbox, which was designed for aiding a solo-player in worldbuilding and world exploration. Having a point about how fun the author's other adventure was is, but missing THE point about for what reason the toothbox is purposed, I argue, shows more about not reading the product description, than about the product - Different in design, different in execution.

The toolbox is an invaluable assistant to worldbuilding in a solo-setting, it enriches both slow Saturdays and weekdays alike through self-guided immersive storytelling and randomizing life. In terms of solo-play, it doesn't get better than that. Full stop.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Aidan W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2018 03:19:00

For the price, and for what is offered, this is an interesting and useful resource.

I'm usually the group GM/DM, which means that I don't get to play RPGs in general very much. I also like to dabble in storytelling outside of that, so I thought I'd give this thing a try - worst case scenario, I'd get some useful tables for generating quests and intrigue for my regular games.

With my first real attempt at a solo adventure, my character came across a talking raven, who was a messenger for a now-dead wizard, and was looking for help to deactivate some sort of cursed relic, recently activated, which was causing a drought to slowly spread across a section of woodland. The raven, knowing virtually nothing except whereabouts it was, and that it was probably cursed, guided my character to a ruin though one built relatively recently. After entering it, it seemed she had stumbled across something much larger...

I had basically no ideas or assumptions going in, and the above quest hook was generated purely by the included tables, and the elegant question/answer system used in place of a GM. Imagination is needed, and I strongly recommend keeping a journal. Not just to keep facts straight, but to remember those close scrapes with death. Definitely a good tool for testing out characters, ideas, and for adopting a completely different style of play. I can definitely see using the adventures and backstory generated by solo adventures to basically do a "rough draft" of an adventure, or to give an NPC some colorful stories to tell. It also allows for more personal storytelling than a typical D&D game; no need to worry about hogging the spotlight, or derailing the campaign.

Also, solo play has the high chance of character death, which, for now, is keeping tensions high. For the book's intended purpose, I do wish that the loot tables received a little more of the attention that the "clues" section had received. Also, despite the fact that my solo adventure is a long way off that point, it would be nice to have the encounter tables go all the way up to level 20. References to further materials are appreciated, and has already added a few more books to my collection. The author also includes example, demonstrating how the systems can work to generate ideas and even narrative arcs.

The materials are well-bookmarked and logically laid out. Imagination is required, but the frameworks contained within will generate some interesting tales.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items