Dungeon Masters Guild
Please choose which option you would like to add to your cart.
Narrow Results











Back
Waterdeep: City Encounters $7.95
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
66 24
9 1
3 0
0 0
1 0
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2020 06:10:29

Very useful for running and city game or useful addition to your campaign.

A must if you plan to dragon heist a second time as you can add a tonne of variety to keep the DM enthused as you run a different game than the one you ran before.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2019 16:22:30

Seems great for adding life to travel within the City, whether as encounters, or to draw inspiration for what the characters see as they go. Only used 1 as an encounter so far, but it spun off into a fun scene.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Colin Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2019 20:17:27

I've only run one random encounter from this in my Waterdeep game so far, but that one result helped me create an npc so funny that it is almost worth the $8 all on it's own. So, take that as a testimony that there is some great imaginitive stuff in this!

It's great to have this a tool for making the city feel larger, more chaotic, and more alive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcus W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2019 14:09:00

TLDR: Waterdeep: City Encounters earns a solid 4/5

This resource is intended for use with the Waterdeep: Dragon Heist adventure but can easily be used for any low-level city adventure with barely any modification (maybe changing a few proper names here and there at most) and any level 5+ city adventure by just changing out the enemies in some combat encounters.

Overall, it includes a TON of solid random encounters full of flavor and intrigue. These scenarios are very well written and feel like WoTC content. You could easily place these pages into the back of the actual campaign's hardcover and it would be impossible to tell it wasn't part of the release - even down to the excellent page design and organization and useful companion map.

The scenarios are divided by which wards of Waterdeep they can take place in (the Dock Ward might have run-ins with rough criminal-types, the North Ward has nobles moving about, merchants try to hawk goods in the Trade Ward, and so on). This is great because sometimes (especially if you only use the official book) Waterdeep can start to feel like one large centralized city instead of a metropolis made of unique parts with their own character. These varied encounters do their best to flavor their respective wards appropriately and set the stage for what kind of area your group is currently in.

The price is kind of steep for a supplimental PDF on this site, but honestly the A-list team of authors and designers that put this together have made it worthwhile. I would use it in any urban module and go so far as to call it a necessity for DMs running Waterdeep: Dragon Heist.

So wny only four stars? Well, unfortunately, this product dropped the ball in a HUGE way that is honestly EXTREMELY surprising for such a well-made resource made by a team of established content creators on this site: THERE IS NO PRINTER-FRIENDLY VERSION. Each one of the almost 40 pages is full color through-and-through, and a good number of them have intricate pictures and designs. Printing this beast will easily take up $30-$40 worth of standard ink and a good hour of time. Unless you have a pdf version on a tablet or laptop (or you want to end up paying the price of a full-release hardcover for a smaller suppliment), this will probably not end up in your DM binder as-is. In addition, the large amounts of ink used for the pictures on top of the page texture will warp standard paper and blur in most desktop printers, so if you are planning on printing make sure you use at least 28 pound presentation paper for the best hold and a high-quality result. For the price, I don't know how this was overlooked. The lack of such a common feature is extra disappointing because otherwise this easily would have been one of the best products on DMs' Guild in general.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mr M Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2019 01:49:42

Very useful and well-organized. Highly recommend for any city-based campaign or adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2019 20:35:28

This is essential if you want to get the most out of running Waterdeep: Dragon Heist or just any adventure within Waterdeep. I was baffled by all the content and the randomness on top of the breadth of content ensures everything will be fresh...forever?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by jarred b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2019 08:52:47

This has been so incredibly useful at creating plothooks in my Dragonheist campaign. I would pay even more than the 8 bucks I did for this. It is fantastic



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 19:38:39

Excellent resourvce for creating interesting city encounters in Waterdeep. Highly recommend this to anyone running Waterdeep Dragon Heist or any other city game. My only request is to have a separate table for nighttime encounters as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A G. F. Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2018 08:46:21

Its nice to have some combat related encounters in Waterdeep! I love how RP heavy it is but its nice to have a change.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lazar S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2018 11:18:31

Fantastic product on a par with Wizards' 5E books. It's a perfect complement to the official Waterdeep: Dragon Heist book. (In fact, the content is so well-written it feels like a bunch of official material that got cut out of W:DG due to lack of space.) Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2018 12:49:25

So great! We strung a few encounters together for a one-shot while my kids were home for Thanksgiving holiday. Everyone had fun, and it was really easy to put together. So many great ideas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/22/2018 02:00:03

This is the best supplement for Waterdeep I've seen, I would recomend this to literally everyone running Dragon Heist. It pads out the chapters that are low on content (2 & 3) while also bringing the whole city to life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2018 21:47:19

I liked it so much I spent the time to convert over to Fantasy Grounds to use in my personal campaign.

A nice mix of random and location based encounters. Adds flair and variety to moving around Waterdeep and most encounters have more than one variation to keep the players guessing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Luke G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2018 07:23:49

Overall, well-done module. Has some fun encounters and helps to prevent a lot of prep for the DM. Helps the city feel more alive and gives some good material to work with if your players are not interested in the faction quests from chapter 2 of the hardcover.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brett M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2018 15:44:20

I ended up being able to use very little from this item, however that doesn't affect how great it is!

I jsut didn't need the myriad of encounters (well thought out, constructed and supported). My group and game just didn't need it.

However, if your game can use little bits of flare to spice up your time, or you just want some options when you are pursuing faction quests or personal questlines or want a structure to hang some flare of your own then you have many many amazing micro encounters to choose form!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items