Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Waterdeep: City Encounters $7.95 $4.77
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
94 30
15 2
4 0
0 0
1 0
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jenny J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/24/2021 17:34:34

I'm running Dragon Heist as my first campaign as a DM. Gave me so many ideas for how to foreshadow the main plot, introduce characters to the PCs, and just generally bring Waterdeep to life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim v. D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/25/2020 14:58:07

I'm using this in a Storm King's Thunder campaign to give Waterdeep some more depth. As far as I can tell, this is unmissable for Dragon Heist, but it's also great to give the city of Waterdeep some more flavor in any campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mark B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2020 00:54:34

I'm planning to run a Waterdeep Campaign, and this is an absolute must-have. I highly recommend this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Yevhen M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2020 15:21:33

Must-buy for anybody running Waterdeep storyline. A lot of different encounters that will bring life to your portrayal of the City of Splendors. Some of them are connected and form quest chains, which is really amazing. Also, this book has nice weather tables depending on season which help with travelling.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lis N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2020 20:22:22

I want to give it 5 stars, but the fact that it doesn't have a printer friendly version is enough to drag it down.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by CHRIS B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2020 06:24:53

My group just had a session of Dragon Heist where they had no real idea what they wanted to do, and this was a life saver. Thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kurt J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2020 20:00:50

I am using this whenever charecters wander into Waterdeep. Definitely worth the expense



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2020 06:10:29

Very useful for running and city game or useful addition to your campaign.

A must if you plan to dragon heist a second time as you can add a tonne of variety to keep the DM enthused as you run a different game than the one you ran before.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2019 16:22:30

Seems great for adding life to travel within the City, whether as encounters, or to draw inspiration for what the characters see as they go. Only used 1 as an encounter so far, but it spun off into a fun scene.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Colin Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2019 20:17:27

I've only run one random encounter from this in my Waterdeep game so far, but that one result helped me create an npc so funny that it is almost worth the $8 all on it's own. So, take that as a testimony that there is some great imaginitive stuff in this!

It's great to have this a tool for making the city feel larger, more chaotic, and more alive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marcus W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2019 14:09:00

TLDR: Waterdeep: City Encounters earns a solid 4/5

This resource is intended for use with the Waterdeep: Dragon Heist adventure but can easily be used for any low-level city adventure with barely any modification (maybe changing a few proper names here and there at most) and any level 5+ city adventure by just changing out the enemies in some combat encounters.

Overall, it includes a TON of solid random encounters full of flavor and intrigue. These scenarios are very well written and feel like WoTC content. You could easily place these pages into the back of the actual campaign's hardcover and it would be impossible to tell it wasn't part of the release - even down to the excellent page design and organization and useful companion map.

The scenarios are divided by which wards of Waterdeep they can take place in (the Dock Ward might have run-ins with rough criminal-types, the North Ward has nobles moving about, merchants try to hawk goods in the Trade Ward, and so on). This is great because sometimes (especially if you only use the official book) Waterdeep can start to feel like one large centralized city instead of a metropolis made of unique parts with their own character. These varied encounters do their best to flavor their respective wards appropriately and set the stage for what kind of area your group is currently in.

The price is kind of steep for a supplimental PDF on this site, but honestly the A-list team of authors and designers that put this together have made it worthwhile. I would use it in any urban module and go so far as to call it a necessity for DMs running Waterdeep: Dragon Heist.

So wny only four stars? Well, unfortunately, this product dropped the ball in a HUGE way that is honestly EXTREMELY surprising for such a well-made resource made by a team of established content creators on this site: THERE IS NO PRINTER-FRIENDLY VERSION. Each one of the almost 40 pages is full color through-and-through, and a good number of them have intricate pictures and designs. Printing this beast will easily take up $30-$40 worth of standard ink and a good hour of time. Unless you have a pdf version on a tablet or laptop (or you want to end up paying the price of a full-release hardcover for a smaller suppliment), this will probably not end up in your DM binder as-is. In addition, the large amounts of ink used for the pictures on top of the page texture will warp standard paper and blur in most desktop printers, so if you are planning on printing make sure you use at least 28 pound presentation paper for the best hold and a high-quality result. For the price, I don't know how this was overlooked. The lack of such a common feature is extra disappointing because otherwise this easily would have been one of the best products on DMs' Guild in general.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mr M Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/02/2019 01:49:42

Very useful and well-organized. Highly recommend for any city-based campaign or adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2019 20:35:28

This is essential if you want to get the most out of running Waterdeep: Dragon Heist or just any adventure within Waterdeep. I was baffled by all the content and the randomness on top of the breadth of content ensures everything will be fresh...forever?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by jarred b. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2019 08:52:47

This has been so incredibly useful at creating plothooks in my Dragonheist campaign. I would pay even more than the 8 bucks I did for this. It is fantastic



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Waterdeep: City Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 19:38:39

Excellent resourvce for creating interesting city encounters in Waterdeep. Highly recommend this to anyone running Waterdeep Dragon Heist or any other city game. My only request is to have a separate table for nighttime encounters as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items