Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Down the Hole! $2.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 8
1 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Down the Hole!
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Down the Hole!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jordan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2020 10:49:55

This should be on any DM's shortlist for beginner adventures. A good mix of puzzles and combat. It moves along quickly and I ran the whole thing in 3 hours, skipping one optional encounter towards the end. Each of the encounters has a little something extra to make it interesting rather than just a straight fight. A little light on the roleplaying, but in my experience most new players need to ease into that so I think it's well-balanced. I would love to see more from this author.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down the Hole!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2019 15:56:14

What a great time. Fun, funny, very detailed without being overwhelming. We loved it! Please make more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Even if you don't need a brief dungeon edventure, the appendices are completely full of gems. What a treasure! Alos, the plural of appendix is odd. That is all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down the Hole!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2019 15:05:20

This is a great introductory adventure. It has comedy, classic monsters and a great old school dungeon crawl feel. It's very scalable which makes it ideal for on the fly trimming and expansion depending on how much time you have left in the session.

My only suggestion would be to be careful when running the Stirge encounter at the start. If you play it as written the players have disadvantage on all their attacks due to the platform swinging back and forth. Even though the Stirges have only 2hp each, the damage they cause can quickly mount up and the party could be badly wounded, dead or short of resources by the time they enter the dungeon proper because the disadvantage makes the Stirges hard to hit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down the Hole!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Franklin c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2018 12:46:37

Disclaimer: I was there when we started the ritual of chanting "Down the Hole! Down the Hole! Down the Hole!".

If you have ever been part of well run production of any kind, then you know how much prep work goes into making something successful. And usually, there's a whole lot of prep work right before go time.

Chanting "Down the Hole!" means your drink and snacks better be ready...grab your miniature and your character sheet cuz fun is about to begin and we aint stopping for a while.

If you want to share that thrill with your very own next gen...

If you are an Incredibles adult looking to share old school gaming memories with tie-ins to timeless Panda-like themes...

And especially if you have never DM'd before, and want to go from story reading to story telling...

...then I have a hard time imagining anything better than this module: it's clever, scaleable, flexible, adaptable. Lets you concentrate more on the fun because a lot of the prep work has been done.

I'm still re-reading this adventure, and i'm still giggling with fond memories. Get this now and make your own memories!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down the Hole!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Boss G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2018 21:33:41

I love this advenutre. I played this with my group as an introductory adventure and they loved it. The comedic elements mixed with the classice monster menagerie really gave a nostalgic feeling to the whole game. 6 stars for sure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down the Hole!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2018 17:16:23

This will be the adventure to which I refer all DMs who want to get their feet wet or to try 5e for the first time, particularly if they played the early editions. The dungeon crawl has a fun, classic feel without any drag or repetitiveness—the challenges are diverse, fun, and engaging for different types of players. My more experienced players enjoyed it as well—it's easy to "reskin" for your world or the tone of your campaign, and it's a great jump-start for a new campaign since it's possible to level your party straight from 1 to 3 if they complete all their challenges. Good stuff!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down the Hole!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2018 15:07:06

If you are looking for your first adventure and want something different than Phandelver, look no further! A classic dungeon crawl that introduces players to how to play AND have fun! Not only does it provide an introduction to players, it also gives any dungeon master the prompts and tips to create an immersive experience. Just don't get too immersed or you might just go Down the Hole!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Down the Hole!
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Law J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/11/2018 14:14:50

This is the perfect fun adventure to introduce your new group to 5th Edition D&D! Lots of DM notes, and fun puzzles that wont break your new players, as well as plenty of fun combat and silly story. It harkens back to a classic age of introductory adventures. It also has a fun cocktail menu and recipe in the back that go with the adventure. Now that's unique.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items