Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names $4.99
Average Rating:3.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
9 13
2 23
2 15
0 19
4 4
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by lowell s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2019 23:42:04

first module to really showcase the season 8 rules and i find it lacking in many regards. Bonus missions seem almost just tacked on and don't flow



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Felix S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2019 06:37:35

A fun scavenger hunt if you can hook the party somehow. The starts a little rough, as the characters get little reason to follow the map. You should try to convince them that great treasures await them at the location marked by the X. Maybe start the adventure with the party winning the map. The word riddle can be solved without the second hint, but the players can only guess if they can skip to the end. I like that the means for dealing with the final encounter are provided along the way. We did the optional part with the ring and the traproom was fun but not challenging.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2019 14:27:03

Overall, a decently enjoyable module, though some editing challenges (e.g. a reward item, as written, is simultaneously located in 2 areas; the sidebar for C2 incorrectly reproduces the text from C1, at least in my version) and lack of explicit detail require some DM thinking and creativity to flesh it out – not a problem in itself, but for newer DMs, the pressure points may be hard to see before running. Traps and puzzles are good, overall. Nicely flavored magic item. Some good RP opportunities – we had fun with the [Ep. 2 Scene A location].

As written, the hook seemed to be a bit tough to engage a party, though I may have undersold Duric's offer – I’d probably try to really sell/push Duric’s offer, if I ran it again, rather than let the object be the hook. I think the NPC behaviour (especially antagonist NPCs) benefits from a well-prepared or creative DM to flesh them out; there’s not a ton written on a lot of them. I’d recommend paying close attention to the “Playing the pillars” sidebars – they’re easy to overlook, but provide some often-essential info about the encounter.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2019 07:01:27

It could have been fun as an almost 'dungeon crawl treasure quest through the city' but its just lacking a strong enkugh thread linking every stop along the way. There needed to be more guidance for first time DMs in how to properly flesh out each scene (appreciate that it was a new style of presenting modules, but knowing this, some kind of extra supports should have been integrated into it with more details on each scene and how they interconnect...because it just came across as random scenes hot glued together).



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by G. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2019 02:41:29

This module--were not a DDAL module--would seem to be an indictment of the season 8 changes.

  1. No meaningful story hook. No offer of gold (as is to be expected in S8). No one to save. Nothing at all except "I found this map; go entertain yourselves".
  2. False choice Although you can theoretically go to the encounter locations in any order, skipping the encounter that provides a temporary silver weapon is likely to lead to a party wipe. This dovetails with complaint 3.
  3. Enemies that can be defeated with gold (that the party doesn't have). The final fight of the module is against a lycanthrope. In previous seasons, characters would usually pick up at least one silvered weapon in Tier 1 on the off chance that they run into something that was immune or resistant to non-magical weapons but still vulnerable to silver (e.g., lycanthropes, some fiends, &c.). Since silvering a weapon costs 100gp, new characters won't be able to afford them until 3rd level and by then they are half-way to buying a magic weapon.


Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Pearce R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2019 11:00:18

A generally enjoyable and well-written module. Running and playing it a few times, it seems to go better with more complete DM description. e.g. in bonus objective 1 the DM has the chance to warn the characters in character about traps. The Oops trap is ICONIC and is easily the most memorable part of the module and possibly the trilogy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Glenn H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2019 02:44:44

Any half-written adventure can be fun for a group of friends up for an evening of inside jokes and crazy role playing. The goal of DDAL authors should be to write for a wide variety of players, just meeting for the first time at a game store or convention, with a DM that didn't get a long time to prep, and have it still be fun. Most previous season modules meet this hurdle; this one does not. I played it once and was totally confused, going place to place for no reason. Upon reading it I realized why; it makes no sense. Here's what I did as a DM to make it make sense: --Changed the call to action to be the Bonus Objection A. Duric and Zel's friend Urth needs help getting his wedding ring back from bullies at Trollskull Alley. Whether they went to the basement or Blegor's bedroom, they find the map and it has the letter code written on it--so 2 clues are given so they can catch up. When I DM'd they went the trappy way. --I wrote a RP and a skill check for Soaring Delights saying that if the party didn't do their job, Adeyo would let them look for the wand & the clue. It took prep work but turned out to be a lot of fun. --When I ran it, my party solved the letter code soon after and I discouraged them from going to Dagger Alley. --I played Gath as a hipster artist using terms such as 'artisinal' and 'bespoke' and 'free-range organic' so they were surprised when he turned. --I added that the paiting was signed by "A. Morlin" which I got from another review on DM's Guild. --The fight was fun but in the first round the character with the silver daggers was rolled up in the carpet so I gave the lycan resistance to non-magic damage, not immunity. --I've got 1.5 pages of notes on a word doc. If you're interested in these details, contact me at nado.hopsong@gmail.com.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Peter T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2019 18:16:21

Okayish adventure, ran it online with a group of 5 players. Was difficult toget a feel for the adventure and it does not flow nicely. The side quests are strange and do not really fit. Some RP opportunities, but in the end they seem to have to fight the werewolf. Immunities against damage can make the fight difficult, esp., if there are lots of martial characters in the group. Also when bitten, the PC needs to cough up 90 gp to get remove curse, for low level PCs this could be 50% of their TCP, not really keen on it. Run at own discretion, but there are better adventures out there.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2019 01:13:36

This adventure starts off as a guided tour of waterdeep. At times, I've found it to be a bit railroaded and heavy handed on the RP side, but I like that there are alternatives to combat for progressing through the module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2019 20:07:36

A suitable adventure to get started with season 8 content. Draws some important threads between two of the most influential NPC from the season. Explores some interesting landmarks within Waterdeep - Ally of Daggers, Hawkman statue, Trollskull ally. Riddled with typos and grammatical errors. Writer should be applauded, editor/proofreader should be ashamed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by michael s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2019 17:07:32

Overall a fun module with a good variety of encounter types.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sean F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2019 15:40:23

I felt the adventure was too open ended with little to no direction. Also did not appreciate the obvious political agenda early in the text. The art was good and even felt the adventure had potential.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Colin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2019 12:50:00

The treasure hunt premise for this adventure, by itself, is good. Each stop has some interesting interactions that hit the three pillars of play (exploration, combat, and social interaction). But it ends on a cliffhanger that isn't very satisfying. I feel, with a little more narrative effort, this could have been avoided. The optional content is weak and not very interesting, and literally feels like artifical add-ons when used. Overall, this is an ok adventure that could been better with some work on the ending and optional objectives.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2019 00:59:16

This is an excellent introductory mod with a good mix of combat, traps, puzzle-solving, and social encounters. My suggestion would be to run this with a map of Waterdeep (I used the one from Dragon Heist), as the map in the module is a series of riddles, to which the answers are iconic locations in Waterdeep. It was more fun having them draw their own conclusions from a reference, rather than having them ask npcs where to go next. A good, solid adventure. Would be nice to have a print-friendly version as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Erich B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2019 12:21:30

This was the first Season 8 module I read and I have to say it was rather confusing at first. I feel this season the format leaves much to be desired, like another review, I find the bonus objectives located in the appendix to be confusing. Why the maps for main objectives are included as an appendix but the bonus objective maps are included in that section is weird too. If it isn't a player hand out, I'd prefer a map to appear in the adventure section. If there was a map in the appendix, it was not referrenced in the adventure section. Including maps for some areas and not others is also confusing. For example, Scene C2. Gang Hideout, no mention of a map in Appendix 3. There is no map for Scene A. Trollskull Alley basement even though there is an encounter and a secret door. Sure I can make it up, but far simpler encounters provided a map. It just feels incomplete.

Part of this may be my unfamiliarity with DMing, or I am just not that smooth yet, but I found it confusing to place the clue in Area Information section at the beginning, and treasure in the Treasure and Rewards section at the end. They are found in the same place at the same time but described seperately.

Aside from editing and format, and a story line that seems so convoluted and require so much effort by the people putting it on... the story was in fact enjoyable. There was some decent role play opportunity, probably a tad too much combat (as my party tripped one encounter by staying too long by casting a ritual). I realized only after the adventure that the wand provides magical light which can be used to find the mark glyphs (it is a special ability attached to the wand description card but not ever mentioned in the module text).

I was prepared to give this module a lower rating, but we had fun and that is really the most important part. I'd really like the quality and clarity of these modules to improve if they are $5 each and I still have to print them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 74 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items