Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names $4.99
Average Rating:3.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 13
2 22
2 13
0 16
3 4
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Click to view
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Glenn H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2019 02:44:44

Any half-written adventure can be fun for a group of friends up for an evening of inside jokes and crazy role playing. The goal of DDAL authors should be to write for a wide variety of players, just meeting for the first time at a game store or convention, with a DM that didn't get a long time to prep, and have it still be fun. Most previous season modules meet this hurdle; this one does not. I played it once and was totally confused, going place to place for no reason. Upon reading it I realized why; it makes no sense. Here's what I did as a DM to make it make sense: --Changed the call to action to be the Bonus Objection A. Duric and Zel's friend Urth needs help getting his wedding ring back from bullies at Trollskull Alley. Whether they went to the basement or Blegor's bedroom, they find the map and it has the letter code written on it--so 2 clues are given so they can catch up. When I DM'd they went the trappy way. --I wrote a RP and a skill check for Soaring Delights saying that if the party didn't do their job, Adeyo would let them look for the wand & the clue. It took prep work but turned out to be a lot of fun. --When I ran it, my party solved the letter code soon after and I discouraged them from going to Dagger Alley. --I played Gath as a hipster artist using terms such as 'artisinal' and 'bespoke' and 'free-range organic' so they were surprised when he turned. --I added that the paiting was signed by "A. Morlin" which I got from another review on DM's Guild. --The fight was fun but in the first round the character with the silver daggers was rolled up in the carpet so I gave the lycan resistance to non-magic damage, not immunity. --I've got 1.5 pages of notes on a word doc. If you're interested in these details, contact me at nado.hopsong@gmail.com.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Peter T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2019 18:16:21

Okayish adventure, ran it online with a group of 5 players. Was difficult toget a feel for the adventure and it does not flow nicely. The side quests are strange and do not really fit. Some RP opportunities, but in the end they seem to have to fight the werewolf. Immunities against damage can make the fight difficult, esp., if there are lots of martial characters in the group. Also when bitten, the PC needs to cough up 90 gp to get remove curse, for low level PCs this could be 50% of their TCP, not really keen on it. Run at own discretion, but there are better adventures out there.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2019 01:13:36

This adventure starts off as a guided tour of waterdeep. At times, I've found it to be a bit railroaded and heavy handed on the RP side, but I like that there are alternatives to combat for progressing through the module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/04/2019 20:07:36

A suitable adventure to get started with season 8 content. Draws some important threads between two of the most influential NPC from the season. Explores some interesting landmarks within Waterdeep - Ally of Daggers, Hawkman statue, Trollskull ally. Riddled with typos and grammatical errors. Writer should be applauded, editor/proofreader should be ashamed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by michael s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2019 17:07:32

Overall a fun module with a good variety of encounter types.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sean F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2019 15:40:23

I felt the adventure was too open ended with little to no direction. Also did not appreciate the obvious political agenda early in the text. The art was good and even felt the adventure had potential.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Colin P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/13/2019 12:50:00

The treasure hunt premise for this adventure, by itself, is good. Each stop has some interesting interactions that hit the three pillars of play (exploration, combat, and social interaction). But it ends on a cliffhanger that isn't very satisfying. I feel, with a little more narrative effort, this could have been avoided. The optional content is weak and not very interesting, and literally feels like artifical add-ons when used. Overall, this is an ok adventure that could been better with some work on the ending and optional objectives.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2019 00:59:16

This is an excellent introductory mod with a good mix of combat, traps, puzzle-solving, and social encounters. My suggestion would be to run this with a map of Waterdeep (I used the one from Dragon Heist), as the map in the module is a series of riddles, to which the answers are iconic locations in Waterdeep. It was more fun having them draw their own conclusions from a reference, rather than having them ask npcs where to go next. A good, solid adventure. Would be nice to have a print-friendly version as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Erich B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2019 12:21:30

This was the first Season 8 module I read and I have to say it was rather confusing at first. I feel this season the format leaves much to be desired, like another review, I find the bonus objectives located in the appendix to be confusing. Why the maps for main objectives are included as an appendix but the bonus objective maps are included in that section is weird too. If it isn't a player hand out, I'd prefer a map to appear in the adventure section. If there was a map in the appendix, it was not referrenced in the adventure section. Including maps for some areas and not others is also confusing. For example, Scene C2. Gang Hideout, no mention of a map in Appendix 3. There is no map for Scene A. Trollskull Alley basement even though there is an encounter and a secret door. Sure I can make it up, but far simpler encounters provided a map. It just feels incomplete.

Part of this may be my unfamiliarity with DMing, or I am just not that smooth yet, but I found it confusing to place the clue in Area Information section at the beginning, and treasure in the Treasure and Rewards section at the end. They are found in the same place at the same time but described seperately.

Aside from editing and format, and a story line that seems so convoluted and require so much effort by the people putting it on... the story was in fact enjoyable. There was some decent role play opportunity, probably a tad too much combat (as my party tripped one encounter by staying too long by casting a ritual). I realized only after the adventure that the wand provides magical light which can be used to find the mark glyphs (it is a special ability attached to the wand description card but not ever mentioned in the module text).

I was prepared to give this module a lower rating, but we had fun and that is really the most important part. I'd really like the quality and clarity of these modules to improve if they are $5 each and I still have to print them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sean R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2019 14:22:16

The thing I like most about Map with No Names is the way that it structures itself, but ironically it's a structural flaw (in the trilogy) that ultimately makes it an incredibly frustrating module. Rather than waste time with navigational puzzles or being too detailed in each scene, Map with No Names has a tendency to cut to the bone and get to the heart of each challenge: Find out where the next scene is, go there, and do the thing. Sometimes 'the thing' is a battle in a basement with bandits, or suddenly dealing with a lunch rush at a fancy restaurant, or navigating a razor thin alley filled with actual razors. But no matter what it is, the game doesn't waste your name messing about. It wants to be a thrilling race about the city of Waterdeep and for the entire time it's actually running, it's exactly that.

I also have to give the story some excellent praise for its clever positioning of treasure, in such a way as to reward clever players. The puzzle that gives away the module's endgame can be solved with only two of the three proffered clues... and if players skip the third clue, the only physical items they miss out on are two potions of healing (and they likely took a bunch of damage getting there anyway). While the game includes treasure for those who hunt it, they save the best treasure for when they know everyone will get there. This is a module that refutes the old saw of going down every path 'just in case you miss something' and instead gives a big thumbs up to those who use their brain and jump ahead.

There's a nice variety in the experiences. Combat shows up in most, but not all. There's a light puzzle element in each location, but it's not too tricky and if the players are smart they'll realise they don't need to even worry about them after the first. (And yet each time I've run it, nobody realises they literally are given an instant win condition in the first room for finding any hidden doors and traps in an adventure stuffed with them.)

Balancing is good, with some really intriguing scenarios for higher level players. In particular, it turns out the final fight works great at maximum strength. (Who'd have thought that particular combination of three monsters would be so compelling?) And I love that the fight has its own little twists and turns, such as being able to bring down a chandelier on an enemy's head, etc.

Unfortunately, the ending of the adventure is simply... missing. After the final fight it comes to a close and no guidance is given to the DM on how to make the story feel complete. This isn't just a fault of the adventure but actually really difficult for the DM, because the best case scenario is that the DM just abruptly ends the game, and the worst case scenario is that the DM instead tries to create a satisfying ending by borrowing something from the next module inaccurately. (And yes, I've done this.)

Overall, I actually quite like the adventure, but that lack of an ending hurts it a bunch. As such, it cannot get as many stars as I'd like to give it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by daniel r. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/14/2019 22:38:05

This was a fun advnture to run for players. It was pretty straightforward in regards to the main and bonus objectives and was easy enough to describe in detail.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Thomas H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2019 08:46:01

I liked this adventure quite a bit as a DM and it was a great way to introduce my players to Waterdeep. They treated the entire module as a social exercise and in most cases skipped combat by means of deception, presuasion, and intimidation. That's not to say they couldn't have hacked-and-slashed their way through it if they had wanted to; it's just not what they chose to do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Morgdalaine Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2018 14:42:36

I might be a litted biased to this module. I had a blast playing this as a Slot 0.

There aren't many combat sections, and it allows the players to really develop their characters and explore the city of Waterdeep in a way that they may not have otherwise thought to in the hardcover. It introduces some key features of Waterdeep, like the towering statues, as well as has some fun gags. "Oops" is now a recurring theme in the campaign.

Even running the Story Objectives and forgoing the Bonus Objectives, the players managed to stretch out the session to 4 hours. I was not disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by N U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2018 09:59:08

Overall, this adventure played pretty well. The focus on exploration with mostly optional combat makes this a good adventure for various group types, which I think is the intent behind this new format. It probably works best if you have the hardcover, both to show the party where they're going on the big map, and to sprinkle in some info on Waterdeep as they go from one ward to another.

As long as the players are willing to follow the map without any concrete reason to, it should go fairly smoothly. Mentioning the rumors of treasure is all well and good, but per AL rules they can't keep it even if they find it. The majority of the module was engaging enough that the tenuous start doesn't bother me too much, though.

It did annoy me that Green's Rest has no listed location. (Someone else said that here too, I saw it while seeing if it was mentioned online.) I would probably place it in the Trades Ward, based on its mixed patronage. (I've read some old Waterdeep material, and am tempted to suggest it's a rebranded Gentle Rest inn, which was located on the High Road. The owner was a fence, so a change in management makes sense in such a law-heavy city.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-01 The Map with No Names
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A G. F. Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2018 08:05:07

Good adventure. My group enjoyed it, I was debating on 4-5 stars so I went ahead and went 5 stars. My group was a little disapointed with the item, but that is more a mater of taste.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 68 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items