Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Versatile NPCs II $7.95
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 11
0 0
1 0
0 0
0 0
Versatile NPCs II
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Versatile NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Micah T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2020 13:06:33

This is an excellent resource. I started using Darren's Versatile NPCs when he posted the first set on Reddit and ever since, almost half the humanoid NPCs my players fight are taken directly from this excellent set. The Monster Manual and Volo's Guide are a great starting point, but I was constantly tinkering with stats to keep from one-shotting my characters with a powerful mage or overwhelming the map with a million guards. His characters fill the CR void with solid, memorable stat blocks that I can use again and again in any setting. At this point, I can't imagine running Tier 2 games without this PDF.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Versatile NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2019 15:42:46

Excellent supplement! Especially at higher levels allows easy drop in stats for various NPCs that come up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Versatile NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2019 15:46:43

The artwork (some of the character art in particular is simply beautiful) and layout of this product is without a doubt high quality. I quite like the vignette offered for each NPC, it's a good suggestion to get some ideas flowing. All in all, it's another useful and incredible product to have at hand. These sort of NPC's can fit the gaps that some DnD books leave open.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Versatile NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2019 12:07:16

This is an excellent product with superb layout and art. There is so much awesome content packed into this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Versatile NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Agnieszka P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2018 02:52:55

Worth every penny, it's been extremely useful for me as a beginner DM!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Versatile NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Peter D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2018 15:42:29

Fantastic selection of NPCs of a wide variety of types and CRs. Very useful. Document is well presented and the art is very good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Versatile NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/20/2018 13:51:27

Pros:

  • Huge, diverse selection of NPC classes and archetypes.
  • Excellent character artwork for each entry.
  • Every NPC has 1-3 well-written and fun sample character stories.

Cons:

  • Many of the entries simply tweak or scale existing humanoids from the Monster Manual.

THE VERDICT: BY CONVERTING ALL OF THE VARIOUS PC CLASSES AND SUBCLASSES INTO NPCS, “VERSATILE NPCS II” PROVIDES A WEALTH OF OPTIONS FOR DIVERSIFYING ANY HUMANOID NPCS IN YOUR CAMPAIGN.

Full review: https://roguewatson.com/2018/10/13/dms-guild-review-versatile-npcs-ii/

Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otCUnkseO6M



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Versatile NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/17/2018 12:29:10

An adventure without decent NPCs is like a hamburger without fries. You can get by without them. But should you? That is not to say that Versatile NPCs II by Darrin Scott is the equivalent of nutrient-deficient fried potatoes. But it is to say that this product is a nice side to create a satisfying meal.

Read the full review here: http://www.nonzerosumgames.com/versatile-npcs-ii-a-dms-guild-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Versatile NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2018 17:15:02

Short version: I am very happy with my purchase.

Longer version: This accessory contains dozens of fun and well thought NPCs presented in a nice format with the occasional story thrown in. It is an improved version of the Versatile NPCs book (although it doesn't contain all those NPCs, which is a pity as some were lovely NPCs). Each NPC is well presented and autonomous. You don't need other books although in some cases they would help. While the 35 NPCs was an excellent product, this one is better. 5 stars.

If I have a single slight criticism, is that I miss the customize NPCs image with the arrow and the example. Don't get me wrong! The book still contains suggestions on how to move from "generic" stock stats to individual NPCs but the example with the drow was better IMO.

It is very easy to customize these NPCs. I.e. instead of studded leather armor, you give the NPC chain shirt and lower dex by 2. Or not; the CR of those NPCs is in the middle of the path so it will be roughly the same even if you add or subtract 1 AC or 1 hr.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Versatile NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 09:08:35

Disclaimer:

What do you get? This collection of 66 NPC stat blocks (although in reality, it's more than 120 since most of these come with background for two npc's) fill the "CR Void" found in the npc stat blocks that already exist. Wizards of the Coast has done a wonderful job providing many a dungeon master with monsters, but when it comes to NPC stat blocks there are many levels entirely lacking an NPC. While that's not exactly a problem, with the NPCs found here to fill the gaps, your job as a DM has become much easier.

What really works in this book? In terms of presentation (artwork and layout), NPC variety, and the obvious number of passes to ensure this product is worth the asking price. The NPCs as presented all work perfectly well, and the variety of options that come with them will help inspire DMs find interesting ways to fit these characters into their game. For example, Delver has a variant "Deep Miner" which comes with suite of abilities to swap into Delver to provide more variety.

What doesn't work in this book? Personally I would have made two changes: every NPC comes with two samples. They all have "Sample TYPE NPC" (for example "Sample Diplomat NPC" or "Sample Warchief NPC". Since this is the same for every block, I would have just replaced this with their names. "Dreevil" and "Varfu-Lok of the Iron Fur Tribe" for warchief, as an example. Additionally each NPC has one stat block but a few of these have different races. For example, Alchemist has a generic NPC and a Kobold NPC. The stat block doesn't account for kobold stats (which is fine since the WOTC ones don't) but I would have included the appropriate adjustments at the end of the kobold fluff. Page 282 of the DMs Guide details these stats, and linking just the relevant information here would've helped customize the NPCs more.

Overall I love this book. I want it printed so I could have it at my table. While there are the two changes I would have made to the individual enteries, the book as a whole is entirely cohesive. It makes me wish I could cut the NPC sections from my Monster Manual and Volo's Guide and insert them along side these NPCs at the table.

Edit: I do want to point out there IS a sidebar on altering the stats based on race, I only wanted to point out that I would have moved the relevant lines near the apporpriate blocks, so if you are hoping that table is in there, it is! Also, the author pointed out that 35 was his old one, and I went back and counted. There are more than 60 stat blocks with samples for each. That's around 120 characters!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the glowing review! Just a couple quick things to clarify for the reader: -"35 Versatile NPCs" is my first title. Versatile NPCs II has far more than 35 NPC entries, but I understand the confusion. -In terms of applying racial modifiers, there is a section in the beginning of the document describes how to do that for every NPC. I figured it was better to do that than to list every possible combination for every race for every statblock. Anyhow, I really appreciate your feedback!
Versatile NPCs II
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Libedrator E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2018 15:06:01

A really helpful supplement filled with various aand really interesting NPCs that will help any DM exxpand a story through them. Eaaach NPC can be used as a full-fleshed ally or enemy or as a single encounter. I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items