Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Grimlore's Grimoire Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
64 10
26 2
3 1
0 0
0 0
Grimlore\'s Grimoire
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Aldo S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2019 10:23:58

Really a great work! Spells linked very well with the D&D lore, perfect to be put in any type of campaign. I am an old AD&D 2nd edition master and player and I find in many of these spell the flavor of AD&D :) In my 5th edition campaign I have let find some of your spells in ancient ruins or dungeons, as special spells rewards ;) Keep on with the wonderful work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much!!
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2019 18:50:59

Let me say that when Trevor sent me this bad boy to take a look at, I got suuuuuper excited. Spellbooks are next on my list of things I love most in D&D, after setting books and bestiaries - and I can say that especially with this new updated version that Grimlore's Grimoire does not disappoint. One of the things I always bemoan when running a game is that while there are a lot of spells to pick from in the PHB, there really aren't enough - most people know 50% to 90% of the spells in the PBH, so it would be nice to have something to supplement them with. And Grimlore's does not disappoint: with cantrips like Blood Siphon or Song of the Dead, to numerous others all the way up to 9th level where you can find spicy ones like Replicate or Tamara's Rebirth; these spells are all specially themed for a darker, more serious and macabre game. Overall, an amazing project - definitely worth the full price for the amount of work put into it. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2019 14:38:20

A fantastic addition to my collection. Filled with a massive amount of balanced spells. The spells inside are unique and organised well.

Definitely worth checking out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your kind words!
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jack H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2019 18:15:04

Everything was balenced very well, shall use! Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kim G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2019 10:31:35

I think this is a great product because it adds so many flavourful spells that can help make a spellcaster feel unique. Especially a fan of some of the higher level spells. The flavour text from the Grimlore itself is also a nice touch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Aaron G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2019 19:15:33

Grimlore's spells are great. So good, I recently picked up his Fantasy Grounds module of this same publication as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much!
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jordan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/14/2019 12:30:57

This grimoire has some of the greatest spells I have ever seen, they have a great sense of style but do not work with every character. As opposed to a flaw it is one of its greatest strengths as even though it doesn't always work it adds a whole new flavor to some old characters and allows new archetypes to flourish.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Corey S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2019 14:34:46

This is one supplement I keep loaded in EVERY game I run. It's that good. I have some of my players using it as an extra source of spells and they are so well written, so carefully balanced, that one of them has spent over 2 hours now just trying to decide which way to take his next choice. Not many modules can say they are that well done.

And if you don't want to use it as just a supplement, you can use it as the actual driving storyline "NPC", as it is a book that can talk to the players. How cool a concept is that?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul S. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2019 07:28:19

This is an excellent supplement to the core rules, greatly expanding the options available to spellcasters. I've been a DM for nearly 40 years (having played all but 4th edition) and found these spells to be well-thought and balanced considering the scope of the project. In my experience, its impossible when balancing new additions to the game to account for the differences in player skill. For example, I have an experienced player who prefers the Ranger as presented in the core rules. However, many players (and the designers) thought the class was excessively weak compared to other classes, resulting in two Unearthed Arcana revisions. My player has no such issues, his character being able to hold his own.

Remember, this a supplement. As DM, you are free to tweak the spells herein to suit the needs of your own campaign and player ability.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Paul, Thank you for your kind words and advice to others who may wish to use this supplement. I completely agree that something which looks unbalanced (be it over or undertuned) may not end up that way in the dynamic game that is D&D. As always, I second your advice that players should work with their DMs to make sure the content in this (or any homebrew) supplement is a good fit for their DM's world!
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daryl W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2019 10:56:15

I thoroughly enjoyed these spells. They have a a lot of flavor and feel really well balanced. I highly reccomend at least taking a look.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your kind words!
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jack W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2019 22:15:11

Definitely Worth a Read, but Needs Some Tweaking

Filled with excellent spell concepts, though several require some balance changes. Others have mentioned, and rightly so that many spells offer by debilitating status conditions and extreme damage, so tuning is most definitely going to be needed for a DM to run this book in its current version. The spells within however are very well thought out and interesting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2018 17:34:44

I can't encourage that a DM would allow these spells in a setting without significant revisions. Damage is frequently coupled with debilitating status effects, as early as cantrips, or stacked on top of successful effects/hits, causing damage and control power spikes. These additional riders do not tend to require that any additional actions besides casting the spell are used. I do not find that the material is useful in its current state.

But a book of overpowered spells isn't entirely without uses. Some of the stronger spells in this product could be given as research or quest rewards to experimental casters or any creature with strong motivation to explore a very specific spell. As usual, a selective DM can make good use of what is here, and a PC is practically guaranteed to abuse it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Eric, I appreciate your candid review & feedback of this Grimoire. Please know that that the spells in this grimoire have seen dozens hours of playtesting from roughly 50 playtesters providing input. Myself (a DM of many years dating back to 2e ad&d) allow this supplement in my personal games, and would be interested in hearing which spells you feel are overturned. I agree that many of the spells have unique debilitating effects. However, the damage has been adjusted accordingly. As always, I'm interested in community feedback regarding balancing. If you would prefer to reach out to me personally with your balancing suggestions, you can do so via email: grimlore.entertainment@gmail.com. Cheers, Trevor
Grimlore's Grimoire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kay H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2018 18:51:09

Already going through the cantrips and first levels and love the spells. I'll be looking through this for a while but so far it has a lot of unique spells with interesting affects. I can't wait to try some of these out. I especially like the Blood Dagger cantrip. That could be really cool for a character backstory or a story element. I'll come back with another review when I finish reading it. Definitely worth the buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much and I'm glad you like it so far! Definitely has been a project of passion trying to get all of these on paper! I hope this project grows into something that allows people to incorporate some fun stories into their games! At any point, if you find something wildly unbalanced or maybe something that seems a bit off, please let me know and I'll get it fixed asap! Cheers, Trevor
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items