Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
100 Monster Hunts $7.49
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
37 13
7 2
0 1
0 1
0 0
100 Monster Hunts
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/12/2019 14:31:18

Absolutely fantastic edition to my games. The Hunts, make great bounties, with enough flavour to keep your players interested and entertained.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2019 16:56:51

Great resource to keep in you Oh crap pile! Easily can toss these encounters into any area when your players go off script and you need something to put in their way! Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2019 14:53:31

This module has been a real lifesaver for me and my group.

I've recently had attendance issues in my group, so I can't always present my planned content (no point in doing main story if half the group isn't there). This gives me a bunch of options for something to do in those times so my group still had a reason for meeting.

Great content here; keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matt D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2019 12:10:36

These are nice little starting points for adventures, but just about all of them will require some work from the DM to fit them into a campaign. Each hunt is presented as 3 short paragraphs of text - the bounty advertisement, a description of what the creature actually is and why it's there, and the loot/rewards. I introduced two of these into my campaign. For one of them I reflavored the cause of why the monster was around in order to tie it to a character backstory. Two hunts filled out a single day's gaming session nicely, and the characters were interested in following up on the causes - leading to more story.

Monster stat blocks are not included, and slightly more than half the monsters are either in Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes or Volo's Guide to Monsters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jesse P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2018 20:15:03

The layout is great and the various tables set everything up perfectly. Between the level-based tables and the overall d100 table, you'll have a great mix random content available. While many people might say "this is something that a DM can just write up themselves" I would like to challenge any DM to come up with this much randomly generated content on the fly as needed. Personally, I don't have enough time in my life to create all of these mini stories. Excellent product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andre E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2018 00:18:05

I was told about this product from a I09 artical and was promised premade ready to go encounters perfect for a Witcher style game. That is technicly what is provided but with almost no meat on it's bones. It's less "100 monster hunts" and more 100 storyseeds for random encounters. Nothing wrong with enjoying some storyseeds but I have never had to pay for them before. The seeds themselves are hit and miss but a few jems do stand out.

Each "hunt" basicaly looks like this

"Winner Winner CR 1 Bounty Notice Help someone is stealing my chickens! I need brave people to stop it!

GM notes: Its 4 Kobolds (MM page xx) and they are eating the chickens. Loot: Chicken bones Reward: She feeds the players a chicken dinner."

For the price you can't really expect much more then this but I would have enjoyed this a lot more if it was only say 20 encounters and the rest of that page space was devoted to flushing those encounters out a lot more then whats given.

Overall not a bad buy at this price but most GM's will never really have a need for it after the first time they browse it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by JAson D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2018 08:11:23

As a big fan of Limitless Adventures supplements, I found this very helpful. I like the layout and the list/table summarises each hunt into a number of helpful categories. The descriptions are short but packed with flavour, enough to quickly spark the imagination, but not too much that you worry about running it wrong!

Edit - The author has done a fantastic job applying suggestions from the community on improving the functionality and ease-of-use of this product. Can't recommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! Just to let you know, version 2 is now out, and the PDF should be searchable now. :)
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/02/2018 09:50:35

EDIT : All the issues that I had with this PDF have been resovled by the new update. I am extremely pleased with the changes and am excited to use this as my new go to for random encounters. It is also great to have a creator listen to the community and adapt with what is asked for. Now the concept that was so great to start out with will be easy to use in many more ways.

OLD REVIEW: I ike the concept and a lot of the ideas but it's just not easy enough to use in an on the fly situation or at all as an actual d100 table. With no way to limit what you can get by player level or CR or even group size its a crap shoot on whats useable at all in this pdf. The listing of the hunts out of rolled number order and making it alphabetically is counterintuitive. I don't want to have to scroll through the pages trying to find the name of the hunt adding more time to the search. Concept is great and I really like some of the descriptions of the hunts that I checked out but its unsuable as a rollable table. The most use I can see myself having for this is a jump off point for some story hooks involving monter contracts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! Version 2 has now been released, which addresses a lot of the navigation issues V1 had. I've added 9 new random tables, all organised by recommended player level, made sure to add page references for each quest in every table, and added the recommended level on each individual quest entry as well. I'm glad you like the hunts, hopefully version 2 will change your mind about the navigation problems!
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Gabor B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2018 11:08:22

It has a lot of ideas you can pilfer from this, but it could be better.

The quality of the bounties is a bit of a mixed bag: some of them have a proper paragraph of text with enough details to go on that you could fill a session if you put some work into it, while other bounties are boring filler with nothing else but what the monster is and where it lairs. That doesn't have much value on its own, especially when the given target does exactly what you'd expect it to do (predators hunting, dragons sitting in their lairs...), meaning that you got little more than what you would've gotten by just looking at the monster's entry in its book. A minor issue, but sometimes the rewards are a bit odd, like a seemingly random number of coins, or unrealistically high rewards, like thousands and thousands of gold paid by small towns or concerned citizens.

Something that's annoying is that not only are the bounties in no particular order on the roll chart and in alphabetical order by their title, but the PDF is not searchable and the roll chart has no page numbers listed, making it even more difficult to find what you want. The chart should have page numbers listed and either the chart or the bounty titles should be in order of CR.

I have to give it credit for creativity though, especially when the target is not a famous monster. Enemies you might not have thought to use in your campaign from Volo's and Mordenkainen's are given a reason to be included in your campaign, and the variety is sure to make a memorable session. There are a couple of gems with the usual monsters as well, being given unique purpose or circumstances to keep things fresh.

In conclusion, there are some good ideas to take from this product, but the poor editing, the often unimaginative "filler" bounties, and the amount of work you have to do to turn the ideas into something usable brings the score down.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review! I've tried to keep bounties detailed enough to be memorable mini-quests to use in between major story arcs, but also vague enough that each one, with a little tweaking, can fit into any campaign, regardless of theme. I will be looking into fleshing out bounties to be longer and more detailed in the future, and your critiques have certainly been taken into account! Version 2 is now available, which solves many of the navigation and formatting issues by adding 9 new random tables, sorted by recommended player level, ensuring the PDF itself is searchable, giving each individual bounty a recommended level next to it for ease of browsing, and having all tables all reference bounties by page number, so hopefully that has helped alleviate a few issues you#ve had with the product so far. :)
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ari Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2018 16:18:27

This is a great collection of encounters. Excellent for designing a campaign or fleshing an existing one out. I just wish it was organized by player level, not alphabetically. That's what I'm looking for every time I'm picking an encounter.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! Version 2 is available now, and I've addressed a few requested issues - one of which is adding page navigation for each hunt, 9 new random tables organised by player level, and I've added the recommended level next to each quest as you browse. Let me know what you think!
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2018 04:06:26

This book shines because not only does it have unique and original sidequests with just enough material for the DM to embellish with creativity, it also offers a great table that lays out those sidequests in a clear manner, making the DM's job easier. Tons of variety, tons of flavor, easy to use. Some things I wished it had were selectable text, a clickable menu and page numbers for the encounters, but if you want quick and fun encounters that you can spin into a oneshot or even string together into a campaign, you cannot go wrong with this one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Libedrator E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/21/2018 11:23:57

A really easy way to introduce sidequests to any party of any level. If your party needs some money or maybe they do it just for the thrill of the hunt, then this document is what you are looking for!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Caitlin O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2018 15:33:23

I love this! The table makes it really easy to find quests/ monster hunts to suit your character levels. It also shows the monsters character rating, the quests difficulty and how it varies with the number of people in your party, along with suggestions for loot/ rewards.

Each bounty has been well thought out with names of places, npc's etc.

It would be great to use as a one shot or as bounty quests that your party can find in the local tavern.

I highly recommend this to any level of DM from newbie to seasoned veteran.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Edward H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2018 10:56:23

An ideal book for new and seasoned DM's alike. Believeable plot hooks that can be easily transplanted into any world, homebrew or original supplements. Easily accessable for all party levels as on the random table it tells you all the statistics that you will need. One improvement that I would suggest is to put the page numbers next to the quests on the random table, even though it is in alphabetical order I believe that it would streamline the whole process of rolling a hunt then finding it in the book. In conclusion this book is very simple concept, implemented very elegantly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Monster Hunts
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniele A. M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2018 10:41:31

A clear and exhaustive instrument to add some pepper to our adventures. Some good ideas for small quests and good encounters at any level and at any time. To use it in its best way you need all the D&D supplements (Volo, Modenkainen and Xanathar with PHB and DMG). Recommended for casual (not so casual) encounters with some lore behind. And you can choose to develop these encounters in mini adventures or one-shots.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items