Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Before Phandelver - A Tutorial Adventure $2.00 $1.20
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
18 9
4 0
0 0
1 0
0 0
Before Phandelver - A Tutorial Adventure
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Before Phandelver - A Tutorial Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Emily P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2020 17:44:15

Personally, this was EXACTLY what I needed as a new DM. I'm about to begin with a group of all new players and am so grateful for this guide on how to organically introduce them to the mechanics of the game - seriously, you don't have to run the Lost Mines adventure for this to be of value. Just awesome, thank you for putting this out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Before Phandelver - A Tutorial Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mario E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2020 19:41:19

Man I'm a old DM but I wish I would have that 35 years ago !!! Great, Great Stuff for New DMs...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Before Phandelver - A Tutorial Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Guilherme B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2020 07:33:45

Great job! I used it this week to introduce 5 new players and it was a success! It's amazing how a DM can be surprised. In the cellar, one of the players (who had never played) used the spell command and paralyzed Sildar, then tied him up and said he would release only if he stopped fighting ... LOL. The next event with the stalled oxen I replaced the trap with a small 1HP snake hanging from a tree branch that startled them. One player used speak to animals and the conversation with the oxen gave us a good laugh until the end of the session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Before Phandelver - A Tutorial Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2019 23:24:47

This is a fantastic introduction to D&D! I have ran through this several times with groups of brand new players, including one group that was made up of eleven year olds. This does a really great job of jumping into some interesting action right away. It helps the players make sense of the different skills they can utalize as well as the flow of combat. Not only that, but it makes Sildar a much more interesting charachter. My groups had sort of a love to hate him thing going on, but when the found him later in the adventure (in the Lost Mines of Phandelver part) they couldn't stop talking about the moves Sildar kept doing to them during that first test fight. I would call that a win!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Before Phandelver - A Tutorial Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by JD H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2019 05:43:15

If you have ever played a video game where the first level taught you the controls then you know what to expect here. It has a little mechanics explanation wrapped up in a cute "job interview" scene that plays out before the main story. This is a great addition to the Starter Set that I didn't realise was missing until I read this and realised how needed it was.

My one nitpick is that it uses a "flashback" story convention. I didn't care for this but this is easy to ignore and just play in chronological order.

If you are introducing new players to D&D then the small price of entry is so worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Before Phandelver - A Tutorial Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2018 19:36:17

I am teaching my daughters (10 and 12) D&D and we had purchased the Starter Set with Lost Mine of Phandelver. I was preparing for the game when I ran across this intro adventure. It takes place "Before Phandelver" and brings out the mechanics of the game to explain what player-characters can do and how it's done.

My daughters really enjoyed this intro which prepared them for the first encounter in the Starter Set. The encounter in Before Phandelver touches on DM'ing the adventure, combat, and how the players can use their ability scores in play.

Well done and a good intro to D&D and the Starter Kit/Lost Mine of Phandelver campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Before Phandelver - A Tutorial Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Keith H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2018 16:35:42

I loved it. I played AD&D about 100 years ago, but I never DMed. This was a great way to ease into it. The kids loved it, and then we seemlessly transitioned into Phandelver. Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Before Phandelver - A Tutorial Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Phillip K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2018 16:11:00

It's a great start to the LMOP Adventure! I ran a new to DnD group using this tutorial for the Session 0, Its an awesome way to get them all excited for the first session while teaching them simple basics like Combat, DC Saves etc!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Before Phandelver - A Tutorial Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Yanick G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2018 15:54:42

Great resource for Starting GM's or even anyone who starts Phandelver with new players and do not want to be part of the TPK list the modules has in its first chapter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items