Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
CCC-TRI-18 Pros & Cons (An Original Adventure by The Role Initiative)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2019 17:31:20

This is a great adventure all around. It serves as a great intro, for both players and DMs, for Adventurers League or D&D 5e in general. The setting is fun and engaging, and with each task focusing on one of the three pillars of play, it gives a good example of what sorts of things that players or DMs can expect in other D&D adventures. The built in non-lethality of the adventure is a big plus for new players to experience that bad things can happen, but not in a discouraging way.

Even for experienced players, this will be a good time - a fun combat, a nice roleplaying encounter with engaging NPCs, and some really well-designed puzzles and traps.

This one is going into my stack of adventures to have available to run on short notice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-TRI-18 Pros & Cons (An Original Adventure by The Role Initiative)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-UK-2 The Wayward Wives
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2019 21:10:40

This adventure, much like its precursor, is absolutely wonderful - a well thought out story that very believably draws the characters into events set into motion in the recent past.

My players very much enjoyed the freedom they had in investigating the mystery at the heart of the matter and trying to find a solution that benefitted everyone. They were victorious in the end, but it ended up being a somewhat bittersweet victory - which they absolutely loved.

I look forward to the next installments in this series. They can't get here soon enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-UK-2 The Wayward Wives
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDAL08-02 Beneath the City of the Dead
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2018 18:35:45

The underlying idea for this adventure is good (the only thing saving it from one star), but the final product is a bit of a failure. Much like I've heard of the other Season 8 AL content so far, this is less of a pre-made module, and more of a vague adventure outline. While that's not a terrible thing in and of itself, the development/editing on this "adventure" is incredibly lackluster. It definitely seems like an unfinished work, and should not have been released as is.

The map is unlabeled, and while it's not too difficult to figure out which rooms are which, that extra annoyance is amplified by other issues. And there are relatively major issues with the majority of the encounter in the module, including text contradicting itself and/or not matching the map, an unlikely (or even mechanically impossible, with map and minis rules) number of combatants in confined areas, errors in the printed stat blocks of creatures, and a completely underwhelming climax that, from what I can tell, requires the next adventure in the series to resolve.

As a DM, you're going to have to do a lot of tweaking and/or straight up re-writing of the module in order to make something sensible and compelling out of the mess of the final product, which seems to be a hallmark of the current season's offerings. It's incredibly unlikely that I'll willingly run any more content from Season 8 if this is indicative of the quality of what's to come.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-02 Beneath the City of the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-UK-1 Call of the Elvenflow
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 20:11:53

I will be running this for some friends in the next week, and am very much looking forward to it.

First off, the nostalgic graphic design is great! And overall, the feel of the adventure lives up to classic look of the cover.

The advenure succeeds wonderfully at its stated intent of including a lot of great lore and weaving it into the story. Though the story may be relatively straight-forward and simple, the lore that is woven into it and a few nice twists make it incredibly engaging. I also appreciate the sidebars referencing how to tweak it for the current season of AL rules.

The maps are well done, and the inclusion of story award and item unlock handouts are very useful.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-UK-1 Call of the Elvenflow
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Blue Alley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 20:02:06

I've not run this adventure yet, but can't wait to get it on the table for an AL game.

It seems from reading the adventure (and some of the other reviews) that this would be a bit longer than a four hour game, especially if a group really gets into the puzzles.

I love the mix of traps and puzzles and that most of the combats are much more dynamic than a "monster in a room" encounter. The entire complex has a wonderfully 1st edition feel to it.

This is a great example of what the Guild Adept content has to offer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Cellar of Death
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 19:32:22

This is a great prelude to introduce a party to the Tomb of Annihilation storyline before the book picks up. It does require a bit of attention to make sure that you keep it consistent with the presumed timeline prior to the proper hardcover introduction.

For me, it also required some on-the-fly tweaks to the story to help suspend the disbelief of my players that a lich would have a "secret" back entrance that a group of 1st level characters could break into. In this case, the twist was that her phylactery was actually a decoy and not the real deal. The players panicked as they had no leverage over her and were prepared to try and flee before the Harpers appeared with the real phylactery - they had used the raid as a distraction and ruse to hold the lich's attention while they stole the real phylactery.

Suspension of disbelief issues aside, this is a very nice mini dungeon crawl, even if used outside of the ToA story.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cellar of Death
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDIA-XGE Underworld Speculation
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 19:21:13

I had a blast running this, and my players enjoyed themselves very much as well. They didn't figure out the twist until they got out of the caves, but once they did, they put thigs together very quickly, and absolutely loved it. A great choice for a pickup session, or as a lead in to some of the most recent Waterdeep-set adventures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDIA-XGE Underworld Speculation
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 18:59:38

This is a very solid dungeon crawl, which introduces some important plot elements and NPCs for the larger Season One AL storyline. The option of helping or hindering the Welcomers was a great addition, and the associated story awards made my players feel like their decisions would have consequences in the future.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 18:54:01

Had a great time playing this adventure! I am very excited to play the next part/s of the series!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-CIC-06 End of the Line
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 18:49:57

I played this the weekend it premiered at Milwaukee Summer Revel 2017, and our group had a blast! Unbeknownst to us, the author was also playing at our table.

I loved the story, and the in-game gambling mechanics at the beginning of the adventure kicked off an "off-screen" story of gambling additction for my rock gnome wizard.

The adventure has a great mix of role-playing, exploration, and combat, and I look forward to getting a chance to be on the other side of the screen for this one in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-CIC-06 End of the Line
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Rats of Waterdeep
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 18:42:22

This was a very fun, slightly and wonderfully silly, adventure.

I ran this is as a "flash-sideways" adventure for a regular home Adventurers League game where not all of the players were able to attend the session, without explicitly cluing them in beforehand to the theme of the adventure. In order to drive home the point from the outset, I used some of the "smooth" music included in one of the Syrinscape soundsets and a custom-written voice over intro.

My players very much enjoyed the investigative elements, even though they did not follow every lead or uncover every clue. As a DM, I really enjoyed all of the handouts, especially the decoder wheel (even though my group never uncovered it). For my players, it seemed like the big highlight was running into the Xanathar himself (two of the players were very frightened, as they'd recently played Underwold Speculation).

All in all, this was a very good time. It was a nice departure from the tone and feel of many adventures, with a solid story underpinning the whole.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rats of Waterdeep
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Pudding Faire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 17:48:19

I've been wanting to run a "time loop" D&D adventurer for a very long time, but I was never able to figure out quite how to do it to my own satisfaction. Pudding Faire his the nail on the head with both the mechanics of how to do this, and a great story as to why it's happening.

My players enjoyed this adventure immensely. I ran this under the Adventurers League rules, and while we were intending to fit it into a four-hour time slot, everyone was having so much fun role-playing and trying to set things "right" that we ended up running two hours over time, and had to rush the ending a bit.

For DMs looking to run this in a time-sensitive environment, I would suggest giving ample extra time to let the story breathe, especially if your players enjoy indulging the role-playing and exploration "pillars" of D&D. While there are certainly opportunities for combat, players who are mainly interested in a hack-and-slash style game could end up feeling a little out of their comfort zone.

I believe the adventure already recommends it, but I would reiterate the idea of a DM putting together a mostly-blank timeline aid for themselves when prepping the adventure, broken out by hour and indicating where the few set events happen. On day one, make sure to note where the PCs visit so you have a baseline for what happens, and add to it if they visit other areas on different days. My only real complaint with this adventure is that something like this is not already included.

Overall, this is a very well-written and brilliantly conceived adventure. The story is engaging, fun, and should appeal to a fairly wide range of players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pudding Faire
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items