Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
9 21
1 6
0 1
0 0
0 0
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2020 03:02:00

The backstory is good, if completely at odds with the tone of the art. The challenge level is good. The add on map pack is a nice touch. New favorite Tier 1.

The rough bits:

  • You can't copy anf paste much of anything from the PDF, making it an absolute bear to fully integrate into roll 20 handouts. It was a real pain converting everything.
  • The map pack overlays parts of the original map halls with filler, so using them as overlays requires some editing.

Thank you, looking forward to the rest of the story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2020 12:29:06

This is a combat-heavy but well designed module with a lot of monsters you don't often see in T1 mods. The fights are very challenging, especially the final encounter, but that makes it all the more thrilling if the players win. Besides, under season 9 rules, PC death at Tier 1 is not much more than a slap on the wrist, so why not challenge your players? I ran this for a group of very mixed levels (2 level 4, 1 level 2, 4 level 1s) which was not ideal but everyone still had fun although 2 PCs died. I was sure they were going to lose the final fight but a lucky crit by one of the level one PCs combined with a series of bad rolls by myself led to an epic win, and it felt like the party had really accomplished something difficult.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2020 21:35:25

good module but incomplete colour map pack that only covers some rooms.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dalton D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2019 23:24:22

This mod is awesome th both play and DM. The reward is worth it and the main villain is more fleshed out than most other T1 mod villains. I do hope we continue to see where her story goes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dax H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2019 19:17:10

A real punisher for tier 1 but lovely to get players into the time crunch of saving others, seeing higher level casters next to their own struggle. Waiting for more to come of the module sets and the sweet thrill of defeating wizards.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Noah C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/08/2019 19:45:10

I agree completely with Jia J. T.'s review. I'm the "overflow DM" at my LGS and I ran this for 3 experienced & 2 new to D&D players and I'll be honest, without adjusting the encounters it would've easily been a TPK. At one time 2 of the players were engulfed by the Gelatnious Cube (both first level) and it was entirely dumb luck rolling mostly ones on the 6D6 damage that they didn't die outright. As other reviews have said, the plot hooks are very lacking and heavily rely on players being in a Faction and even then aren't very strong.

I will say that all of my players had an immense amount of fun playing this module, even though their characters had no idea why they were on this quest (Especially because the only NPC they saved was the Baker, so they didn't find out about any of the backstory in the sewers). And to top it off, the 3rd level Sorcerer rolled a Natural 20 to hit Fenaria with a chaos bolt in the third round of combat dealing 36 points of damage, forcing her to lose concentration and bringing her below 10hp.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jia J. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 08:39:28

Overall story is good but the hook are quite weak though S8 changes made many older hooks meaningless. Throughout the module, the most asked question is "Why are we doing this again?" (more from factionless players but even Zhentarim players questioned the motive because it was not accordance to Zhentarim tenants). Basically, the module had too many plot holes for my players.

Combat balancing was quite inconsistent, some fights are way too easy while other were way too hard. As a DM I had to redo many of the fights to cater to my players (run twice for a group of fresh players and another group of experienced players).

Having part 2 and part 3 of the trilogy come a year later is... not the best.

Edit: Meant a 3 not a 2.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sharlene H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/21/2018 11:30:55

I ran this adventure for a group of teens at our library, and it contains a lot of helpful information for DMs without overloading us (as can often be the case).

The DM supplement sheet ("cheat sheet") was beneficial since it gives brief instructions for how the different parts of the adventure meld together, as well as highlight what to emphasize and what the BBB's tactics and defenses are.

Well written, easy to play and an enjoyable use of enemies from the MM that might not otherwise get much time in the spotlight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nicholas N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2018 03:20:33

nice adveture with a great story. I always love when a party fights a actule advetuer thath nows what thier doing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Biolife D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 18:54:01

Had a great time playing this adventure! I am very excited to play the next part/s of the series!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2018 02:42:57

Really enjoyed this part of the adventure and looking for more. Can't wait. Interesting encounters, nice maps, and well written. The players loved the final written scene. So far in the 2 play throughs they avoided the final fight, probably lucky for them really.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by William A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 14:23:26

Ran this for a group and I played as well. It was a great experience, challenging and brutal, and really forced you to approach the module in a different approach that "Might Makes Right". I would recommend this to everyone to play atleast once.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Victor C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2018 04:18:38

This is probably the hardest Tier 1 module available. It is excellent in both story and organization. Nefaria is a deadly little wench and the suggested tactics make her even more vicious to unsuspecting or indecisive parties. The module easily fits in the 4-hour window and players love the instant drop into the action. The final room inspired me to create my first piece of custom terrain and I was suprised by how much my players enjoyed it. Excellent scripts, quick pace. I am hopeful that the next two incorporate more skill use and roleplay. I cannot wait for parts 2 and 3 of this series. Insta-buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Shawn P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2018 03:18:42

Great introductions of various monsters for the party to give a sense of wonder and discovery as compared to the usual ambush/attack on monsters, was brutal as well at the final boss and the first time I ran this two of my players died due to overzealousness. 10/10 will run again



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joshua L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2018 15:58:56

Something about this module just feels really old-school. It's a surprisingly fun dungeon delve at Tier 1. However, be prepared to pull your punches if you have a particularly low-level or inexperienced table, because some of the combats can take the party by surprise and put them in an easy-to-die situation.

Kudos to the authors for the most diabolical and hilarious use of a Mimic I have ever seen. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items