Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
The Executioner's Daughter Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
17 10
5 3
3 0
1 0
0 0
The Executioner\'s Daughter
Click to view
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jay G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2019 00:17:36

I've been playing solo adventures for years and I have to admit when I first printed and then flipped through The Executioners Daughter I was a little apprehensive. Its was far shorter and provided far less information 'mechanically' than I'm used to in a solo adventure. Having said all that once I actually started reading/playing through it I got a completely different solo game play experience than I was used to and it was very satisfying.

What The Executioners Daughter does very well is tell an interesting story where the outcome of the final encounter feels like it truly impacts the game world. The story is short and there are only 2 combat encounters but I found the experience was much more like reading a short story where I also got to participate rather than a traditional solo D&D module.

I would really like to see more content like this and I hope that other old-school solo gamers like myself who might be inclined to take a pass because the format doesn't immediately meet their expectations will give this a try and allow themselves to be pleasantly surprised by something different than what they might have expected.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Rachel L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2019 14:26:47

This little module was very helpful to me in learning by myself the mechanics of playing D&D 5e. I have yet to find a group but I want to learn to play if only to better enjoy ongoing games like Critical Role and HighRollers. Thanks for this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2018 09:57:11

Pros:

  • Well-written and a fun read – even if you never run the adventure!
  • Organized like a Choose Your Own Adventure novel, turning to different sections depending on the player’s decisions.
  • Despite the linearity, the PC is given several good options and outcomes to help shape the story.

Cons:

  • Lacks an official magical stat block for the Executioner’s Sword, which is an otherwise cool magic item rewarded to PCs at the end.
  • No maps, although there’s not a lot of combat. You could feasibly complete the adventure without fighting at all.

THE VERDICT: FOCUSING ALMOST EXCLUSIVELY ON STORY, “THE EXECUTIONER’S DAUGHTER PROVIDES A SHORT BUT SATISFYING SOLO ADVENTURE, AND ALSO DOUBLES AS A NICE SHORT STORY.

Full Review: https://roguewatson.com/2018/08/28/dms-guild-review-the-executioners-daughter/ Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1HOCRV_BpKk



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jessica R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2018 00:24:41

This was such a fun solo adventure! And I love that I can play it again and get a different ending. I'd love to play more solo adventures like this--with an immersive and engaging story and interesting characters who provided great insight into the world around them. I'm looking forward to playing the rest of the Tribunal trilogy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much, Jessica! :) I really appreciate your review and I'm so glad you enjoyed the story.
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeff E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2018 13:38:44

This was such a fun solo adventure! I enjoyed the easy-to-follow layout and I thought that the character of Domenica was engaging. Her final reveal following the boss fight was awesome.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I'm so glad you enjoyed the story, Jeff! I appreciate your review! :)
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2018 22:09:48

Ashley Warren has woven a great tale that is as equally suited for an engaging D&D adventure as it is a compelling piece of short fiction.

It’s highly adaptive so you could use this as a hook for a larger narrative, a nice backstory adventure to give a new PC some depth, or as a break from your busy day to sit down and relax with a fantastic story about hard decisions and superstitions. You can read my full review at nonzerosumgames.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Harold O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2018 03:42:25

"The Executioner's Daughter" has beautiful prose and an engaging main NPC. The description "an interactive story for solo players" is very accurate: whereas most solo adventures are similar to choose-your-own-adventure books, "The Executioner's Daughter" has more in common with, say, a visual novel. You're not presented with a lot of choices or opportunities to develop your PC's background or relationships. Instead, this interactive story takes you on a journey with two places where your choice can lead to a different branch of the story. As such, the focus is on the storytelling, details of the setting, and the craft in the prose. It's a fun story. I like the art and the layout as well. I particularly appreciated that it was always easy to find where I was supposed to go once I'd made a choice, as the author Ashley has each choice leading to a page rather than a heading or a section number.

The author writes that the setting was inspired by Barcelona and it really comes through in the world that she's built for the story. The plot developments are inspired by the tale of St. Jordi, with a generous helping of the plot of the movie "Dragonslayer" built in. It's all very compelling. The tone is dramatic rather than dynamic or comic; the PC can be both participant and witness to momentous events.

I ran a third-level cleric of the Trickery domain through this adventure. The combat encounters were tough, and the outcome was never certain - it always seemed like my PC might or might not survive. The cleric used nearly all the spell slots for healing, both for the key NPC and for himself. There are no explicit opportunities to rest and use hit dice.

Know going in that a lot of the D&D mechanical details are glossed over or absent. You will not find maps with this module, nor is there any presentation of enemy or ally combat tactics. You will also not find experience point rewards for different endings (though you can calculate the XP for the enemies you defeat). All of these things can be taken in stride by a player familiar with the rules, or a DM. Note that the main treasure is a weapon whose details were omitted (Ashley has provided the stats in the DMs Guild feedback on this adventure: 1d8 slashing damage + 1d6 radiant damage, cast Calm once between long rests).

It's different, it's engaging, it's good. I recommend "The Executioner's Daughter."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for your thoughtful review, Harold! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. I am working on some updates to include more mechanical details. My approach to that, initially, was that I didn't want to "break" the flow of the story too much with additional info, but I think it's a good point to include more tactical/logistical data to inform decision-making. Anyway, I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and will be implementing some of your comments in future updates. :)
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Troy W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2018 22:37:45

Oh, I wish this were longer story!

This is a great little solo adventure. It introduces you to a city with a peculiar tradition of human sacrifice as it chooses its next offering. The descripion of the setting, the moods of the people, are all richly described. I could almost feel the tension in the air. Then a story that seemed to be following the plot of "Dragonslayer" sudden takes a twist, and a turn, and I ended up in a completely different situation than I first imagined.

The story took maybe two hours to play through. I wish it was much longer, as I really enjoyed Ashley Warren's storytelling. I would have enjoyed more decision points (to accompany a longer story), but for what it is, and how it's priced, this is a total steal!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mitchell S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2018 09:28:49

As someone who is used to large group/ RP-driven DnD, I was incredbly pessimistic about whether or not I'd enjoy playing a solo adventure, but having just completed it I can say my opinion has been entirely reversed and I'll be downloading more! I played it as I would if there were a DM (no fudging the roles/reading the Successful-DC information, etc.) and thoroughly enjoyed the uncertainty of whether or not I'd survive, and would recommend other players play the same way!

A truly fine job on Warren's part!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your nice review, Mitchell! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. There are some great solo adventure books written by other writers on this site that I think you would like. Cheers!
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by olivier l. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2018 16:20:19

This is a very nice adventure, beautifuly written. I look forward to play some other adventures by Ashley Warren.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much, Olivier! I appreciate your kind comment and I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. :)
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2018 20:11:11

This was a very enjoyable adventure. I ran through with a paladin and was super happy with the ending. I got extremely lucky with a crit on the last fight and barely pulled through. This is the first solo adventure I have run through and as someone who sits in the DM seat it very much felt like a one on one game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you Justin! I appreciate your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. That last battle is tough!
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by patrick m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2018 22:22:16

this is a interesting adventure with lots of choices. Nice for a hook. ^_^ 4.5/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for your review, Patrick! :)
The Executioner's Daughter
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Pedro t. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2018 20:41:03

Just finished playing it, and it was very interesting. I am a real fan of "choose your own adventure" books, and this product, even though it does not follow the usual tropes and style of those books, reminded me of the best part of having a character on a solo adventure where he/she is a protagonist. I enjoyed the writing and am eager to read more of the author, and will of course be waiting for the rest of the "Tribunal" series. In summary, a fun adventure for those who don't mind having limited choices of action, and a damn good piece of writing!

SPOILERS AHEAD

My main complain maybe is with the final battle and the ending. Even for a level 3 character, the Obsidian dragon is a damn tough fight as a solo adventurer, mostly if you aren't a fighter or a barbarian. I played with a Hill Dwarf Artificer (lots of health, decent AC) and fell in the last round of combat, the dragon with 4 HP left. As with the ending(s), i understand the goal of the Tribunal series as it was explained on the Author's notes, but there wasn't any real connection between my character and Domenica, and there's little room for it, since they spend no more than two or three scenes together before she turns. I have no problem with the point of a story being an NPC and not my PC (the original Ravenloft module is a great example of that), but i think some further development of the relationship between the characters was needed, maybe through additional scenes before reaching the peak, branches of dialogue, something similar to the "Loyalty" system on the DM's Guide, etc. Again, i really enjoyed it and think that this model of adventures has a great potential, the only reason i gave it 4/5 stars is this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hey Pedro! Thanks so much for your thoughtful review! I understand (and agree) with much of your feedback. When I playtested, the end battle was either too easy or too hard depending on the player's other choices, but based on your input (and others) I might implement a scalable option in a future update. :) Thanks again for playing and leaving a review!
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items