Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
Riddle of the Raven Queen $5.95 $3.57
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
45 8
8 5
5 0
0 0
1 0
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Katriel P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2021 08:39:42

This is a LONG module as written, even though there are breaks 'built in' to allow for breaks, snacks, etc. I really enjoyed playing this module and I love the exploration of the Shadowfell featured here; it is rare that we get a chance within Adventurers League play to explore some of the lore of the other planes, and having the Shadowfell feature - with some of the other mechanics in this mod - makes this module a must for people who enjoy roleplaying and what their character might do. Also it helped play off certain playable species: if you were playing a shadar-kai or an eladrin, if you were playing certain classes (such as hexblade warlocks or grave domain clerics), this was an even more interesting module that you could work in the lore, the exploration, the atmosphere.

I hope we see more of these modules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jason K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2020 09:33:14

This was a great module. It leaves a lot of leeway in between plot points (it's unclear how far the places in the Shadowfel are from each other, and there's no encounters or random ones outlined) but for a GM that likes to set these things up themselves, it goes swimmingly.

The roleplaying sections and Curse were very well done.

We loved it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/21/2020 08:11:54

_IF you are a player - Spoilers - For the past few days I have soloed my way through Riddle of the Raven Queen (for 5E), an eight hour adventure. It is free, for now, on Dungeon Masters Guild. It is for characters with levels five to ten. It is designed for a Dungeon Master and several players. I used Paul's The Dungeon Oracle to solo it. This fun adventure is 35 pages long and contains three maps and ten stat blocks. -So, in this adventure an elven village is being bothered by drow and their oracle has been taken. My sorcerer finds the "magical" trail that leads to her. On the way they find a drow outpost. They sneak in, kill the leader and wizard, step back out, and my sorcerer flattens the place (critical success) with a cave-in which kills seventeen drow. They get back on the trail, forage and find raw pine nuts, and then find drow outpost number two. The sorcerer kills a lookout with a fireball, the second lookout escapes (on fire), the sorcerer starts acting in an "erratic" manner, tries casting another spell, and sends the entire party to a dimension (which has nothing to do with the module). Once again the sorcerer has trashed the planned adventure. His travelling companions are not amused . . . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by adam s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2019 11:04:30

This was so much fun. I had never DM'd myself, but our regular DM wanted to play for a bit, so I ran this for our group as a 2 shot. The adventure includes everything you need, and gives really good instructions on how to scale difficulty to your group. A solid balance of combat and rollplay. In the second half of this adventure you pop into the Shadowfell for what can be a very personalized story for your players. I suggest using it to the fullest.

Our group has been playing for a few months but rollplaying has always been a struggle because no one really connected to their backstories in a personal way. This adventure really plays off of each players traits, bonds and flaws. Making them act on them, or lose/change them. If you choose to take advantage of it, this story has a moment where a creative DM can give every player a very personal moment to confront their past, ground them in who they really are and want to be.
Normally after a game sesson everyone in my group would leave their character sheets on the table, and the DM would collect them. After I finnished Riddle of the Raven Queen, everyone in my group immediatly clutched their character sheets tight, and took them home. Now their characters are so much more alive for them. At the end, our Cleric abandoned his diety and pledged himself to the Raven Queen.

thanks you for the work you put into writing it!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2019 00:42:51

Pretty good module. The trials had me a bit frustrated due to it being a DDAL game and the characters weren't as flushed out as they should be.

Overall, great module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Griffin G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2019 23:29:26

(Mild Spoilers) Me and my party loved this module so much. It lead to curing alchoholism and social anxiety in the characters. However I can only give 4 stars due to the lack on information for transitions for he moments in the shadowfell. No Sizes of places or how to get to the fortress. There is also no explanation on how to get the the material plane or how to get character traits back. The fun we had and how deep the material goes made this so fun to run and play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Luke G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2018 07:22:13

Absolutely amazing! One of the best adventures I've dm'd. The section for touchstones was powerful and created a true sense of dread in the place. This is a module you will want to take your time with and thoroughly enjoy. I do not believe this adventure can be properly done in the AL recommended time without drastically cutting content or rushing the players through some great RP opportunities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2018 17:25:52

It features some really cool encounters. The one in the Shadowfell is especially good. It would benefit from some stronger linkages between the encounters (esp. for characters that go from the Shadowfell to the Vecna-controlled area). And the conclusion could be strengthened. But otherwise, a good product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/03/2018 01:27:32

I love this so much! I have yet to find anyone who didn't enjoy the story, the encounters, and the setting. Just great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ryan V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2018 02:03:51

I was very pleased with this module. My group was able to complete it in 2 sessions that were 4 hours each, though it got a bit rushed at the end. They lost some time at the part with the fountain and required some DM hints to complete it. though one person had suggested doing the exact thing to easily solve it (give a touchstone to one of the lost) they didn't actually do it for some time.

I mainly chose this module to run as a big FUCK YOU to whoever made the final decision for the gold changes for Season 8, as I now have 5 players who can buy and trade mithral plate down to a tier 1 character if they so choose. Kind of like reverse loot sniping. I didn't tell the players about the item unlock in advance or anything, just my way of giving the season 8 gold changes the finger. I suggest everyone else do the same.

All that said, the module is really good. The challenges are tough in the hands of a smart DM that can play to the monsters strengths and put some brain power into their actions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/31/2018 21:55:14

I really enjoyed running this for my AL group. It took about 8 hours total for 3-4 players plus the DM. The third section (in the village of Broken Dreams) is on my list of favorite bits from any written adventure ever, as it really encourages the DM to dig into the adventurer's personalities, fears, hopes, and flaws. The fight at the end is a real killer!

I didn't like most of the maps, however. The one map from Dyson Logos is very nice, but the others were so sparse as to be unusable for me. I built my own in Roll20 instead.

The module takes some time for the DM to read, digest, and prepare, but it's well worth it if you want to give your group a quick tour of the new lore about elves in Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2018 08:43:10

So excited for any Raven Queen content, and this from my favorite writers?!!!! I love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Riddle of the Raven Queen
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by rachit m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2018 23:30:35

Such a GREAT product! The story is excellent - save a village, find a person, go into the Shadowfell. All bets are off when you enter the Raven Queen's domain. Tons of great RP moments, especially in the Shadowfell. The adventure doesn't feel light on the action either, with some nice Tome of Foes monsters! I'd highly recommend this product to anyone who wants to run this as a small adv or tie this into their existing campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items