Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire $3.99
Average Rating:4.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 4
1 9
0 2
0 0
1 0
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Click to view
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2018 20:19:49

Overall, this adventure stands out as one of the more interesting adventures in the DDAL07 group. It is, however, incomplete. The scenario takes advantage of being written for a high level party with some fascinating locations and creatures, but is written in such a way that it leaves way more up to the DM to figure out than normal for DDAL adventures. The vague instructions of how to handle the lair actions would have been very well served with more suggestions, and missing statblocks don't help. I'd highly recommend reading the Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes entry on fiends, as well as reviewing some of the monster manual creatures whose statblocks were left out, to fully prepare for this adventure. With a bit more preparation required than normal for AL moduless, however, it can shine as one of the most interesting parts of the series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 12:09:44

I think this adventure finally cracked the code of how to write a T4 adventure that actually challenges the players. The environmental hazards early on are so brutal that they can prevent characters from cheesing their way through the later boss fights. Speaking of boss fights, both the dragon and Dagon were very fun encounters, especially if you make sure to utilize the environmental hazards at the bottom of the ocean. I advise any DM's running this module to make liberal uze of the Glabrezus' innate dispel magic ability, as it forces players to think on their feet and can spice up encounters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 07:44:45

well written and has the best encounters for t4 this season



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2018 18:06:02

This adventure continues the trend of placing tier 4 characters in inhospitable locations and letting the environmental effects aid in creating a challenge. The combat encounters could be very challenging, particularly if you take advantage of all of the little tricks that some of these creatures get.

I particularly liked that multiple encounters were written with the expectation that the characters would at least start by talking. There were a couple that my group had almost talked/bribed their way out of until the Paladin decided that he couldn’t condone that sort of thing.

Overall this was a very enjoyable adventure and I had fun running it. I hope to be able to play it at some point.

Editing notes: The adventure features Nalfeshnees in multiple encounters, but does not supply a stat block for them. The stat block for Dagon is incomplete as it omits Lightning Storm.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/06/2018 04:09:57

I will start this out by clarifying that my group kind of cheesed their way through the majority of hazards by travelling ethereal, so a lot of the nice terrain stuff didn't come into play for us, which leads to me having no strong opinion to give on those.
I really appreciate that other than 7-11 this one actually provides the party with purchasable gear to make underwater adventuring possible if they don't have the required abilities themselves. The locations and encounters were fine, though I would recommend to switch out the nalfeshnees with wastriliths as originally intended; they are much more flavourful and fitting for the terrain they appear in.
The unique monsters, including both the underwater dragon and dagon himself, were very well implemented with a kit that is both flavourful and powerful.
Possible mutations are something I always enjoy seeing and the fact that they can be cured if necessary avoids feel-bads from players. My only major gripe with this adventure is that it doesn't provide any maps for grid lovers, leading to more work on the DMs side.
I would have liked more build-up for the final boss fight as well but overall it was an enjoyable module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kenneth B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2018 13:59:28

If the questions editing issues were taken care of (see discussion section) and some good maps and handouts added to this adventure, it could be 5 stars. Here's hoping it gets an update.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy J. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2018 12:36:25

This one felt quite a bit quicker than 07-15, which is a good thing. The first few fights were good, but it kind of crumpled after that, turning into a generic hunt-and-fetch. The final fight could have been much better; it was really forced/contrived insert-boss-battle-here.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2018 01:21:08

Season 5 tier 4 were IMHO not challenging. Definitly great adventures overall, but a bit of a walk in the park.

Now this 4-parts stuff is something!

That one with the last are my favorites.

A lot a RP opportunities. Players need to make plan and strategies so cirumvent some pretty harmful environnemental effets. This brings them out of comfort zone and is just great (no for overbody tho!)

But those 4 season 7 adventures. Your group and you will have a great time!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by richard p. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2018 16:53:16

I will definitely say giving the players the opportunity to use those oh so little used bonuses to making diplomatic/intimidating moves with a good portion of the adventure was a great way to change up the tempo. I had a lot of fun coming up with the ways to make deals and combat made things interesting in that one cannot simply rely on the spellcaster alone. A great buildup to part 4



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2018 20:42:08

Much like part 2 of Broken Chains, part 3 was thankfully quicker than part 1. It starts off really well, the first couple of fights (everything before the actual Caudron) were 5/5. Then it kind of fell apart with no real direction of explaination of what the plot was suppose to be other then "party needs MacGuffin, there's one in there somewhere". Xuzgaal is suppose to be super-smart, and he has a room that can do things, but no real reason or point to any of it. It got kind of vague (and not just because I was 10-11h in at this point, and was waiting to break for supper) then the BBG just kind of Gates the finale because we needed a final boss fight to conclude things before party obtains said MacGuffin.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2018 12:50:21

I enjoyed running the module, there were some spectacular roleplay opportunities, and the end boss fight was spectacular. This was one of the most epic feeling modules of the series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robbie P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2018 02:23:17

One of the better tier 4 modules I've run. The fact that Dagon is the boss is a fantastic addition, and he gave my players a run for their money even at their levels, so that's always good at higher level play.

If the players know or figure out how to bypass most of the encounters, they'll clear it in well under the four hour timeframe; my players got it done in two and a half at most, thanks to plenty of Greater Restorations and the occasional bribe. Though I did find that the encounters that are easiest to bypass are also the ones they'll bother fighting because they can clean them up so quickly.

I mean, we have adventurers who can and have stabbed gods in the face, a few Nalfeshnee mean nothing to them.

But the saves and skill checks were high enough difficulty to give them some trouble, and the stacking exhaustions were pretty nasty. The final battle also proved fittingly epic, with Ubtao granting them a magic item to battle against Dagon.

Fantastic choice for a magic item, by the way. I made sure to print out a high quality cert for my players just because it's that worthwhile.

Overall, good challenges, good mission, great magic item and final boss; the only thing keeping this from five stars is the lack of threat from the 3/5 of the demonic forces to encourage players to think smart about bypassing them. But this is definitely a worthwhile t4.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Fiona M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2018 09:49:41

My main criticism: I feel like having caps for sale trivializes one of the challenges of this module somewhat. Any spells that allow the players to breathe water can be dispelled by the many monsters who can cast dispel magic at will. Caps of water breathing, on the other hand, can't be dispelled, and if you have a party with fewer players, everyone can get one. And it's non-attunement, so players will not need to sacrifice their precious attunement slots for survival.

That aside, it's an interesting module to run: underwater combat, new Tome of Foes monsters, and the open-ended way the final part is written means it could go so many different ways when you run it multiple times. (And because of the item, people WILL want to play through this one again, many times.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by William A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2018 08:49:58

I've enjoyed running it. I think one of the hardest parts for the groups was making them think outside of the box on how to actually figure out where to go. People were making checks to learn about the Cauldron and had fun with that. I had a player that has high checks in things like history and seemed to shine with being able to explore that aspect. They did take the social side to things and the had a lot of fun. When they finally realized what the Cauldron was... they were pretty blown away. It was a pleasure to run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-17 Cauldrons of Sapphire
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mikel A. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2018 19:14:45

An interesting module that features a new creature from Mordenkainen's, it is another great addition to the series. The [SPOILERS] mutation pool part seems a bit unfair with some awards, such as the result of getting 1 on that roll, but otherwise I have no qualms with the module.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items