Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results











Back
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear $2.99 $2.24
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 14
4 2
1 0
0 0
0 0
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Click to view
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Karen M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2019 02:04:14

This was my first mod to DM, other than for a DM workshop, so I'm not familiar with how others are set up, but the layout made it very easy to prep and run, and I liked that tactics were given for each group of enemies. My table chose to run from the ogres at the end, and i think the chase sequence was their favorite part! So many sheep!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Doug P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2019 22:22:53

Part 1 in a 3 part series. I had just 30 minutes to prep and the adventure was easy to run for the table. Finished in around 3 hours with some roleplay. Fun combat and interesting adventure. Perfect for a short notice game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Summer Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2019 09:56:57

I just realized I hadn't come on here to rate these amazing adventures! I first encountered this series as a player at the Gamex convention in Los Angeles in May 2018. I played the entire arc and I LOVED the story! Then, in October 2018, I ran this entire arc as a DM both in person and online. I am in love with Dave Zajac now because he put such lovely detail and heart into the series: the document layout, the beautiful color maps, the use of varied and little seen creatures from 5th Edition, the use of weather and exhaustion mechanics, a handicapable person with a great background, one of the only fun underwater adventures I've ever dealt with, and on and on. I was a turd to forget to write the review so today I was on my dmsguild update page when I saw that all 4 adventures had been updated for Season 8. This amazing creator went into each adventure and gave us 2 pages of detailed rewards info (including a page of just the magic items with tables that can be printed for each player) that is just as clear and to the point as everything else about these adventures. If you haven't played these 4 adventures yet, buy them and pass them to a DM who will run them. I doubt you will find a more interesting Tier 1 series than this. If you're a DM, buy this entire set now and enjoy your deep dive into the intricacies of Torm and Bane and all the fun you can have incorporating that into your roleplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Douglas L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2018 09:18:56

Easy to run. My players LOVED it. Can't wait to run the other adventures in the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Minh V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2018 09:49:08

SPOILER I ran the module for my debut as an AL DM. It was really easy and fun. My group had a great time roleplaying what they wanted to do to survive the harsh night. The combat was challenging but doable, especially when the table has 3 lvl 1 PCs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dax H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2018 21:59:55

Super easy to run and hype as a DM. The players swept through fairly well but the final spook really got them worried. One player scooped even to save his character from a season 8 death he was so worried. Good concepts and great ending chase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2018 13:22:20

As a newer DM with a mix of new and experienced players, this adventure was easy to run and kept everypne involved. The Map Pack was excellant and reduced prep time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kenneth K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/30/2018 15:33:55

The interaction between the faiths take me back to the storylines that made the Forgotten Realms setting so popular, storylines we don't typically see in Adventurers League modules. Overall my players liked the combats. They were varied but not overwhelming. In addition, accomplishing the mission requires some thinking. Therefore, folks that are looking for more than hack and slash, which is what some AL modules are exclusively about, find what they're looking for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nathan M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2018 23:11:02

I've been playing this series with a group, and this one has such potential for hilarious moments! My group had a bunch of fun in the big encounter, and this module was so good that they agreed to try out more from the series! I had three new players, and I think that this module made a great impression on them. I would highly recommend this module!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/18/2018 07:00:38

Firstly, Id like to call out this scenario for it's superb production values. It's use of art that does not appear stock is to be applauded plus the use of detailed maps (both of encounters and a visual map) is to be commended. I hae not noticed any other scenario to date which has these level of values .. and that includes much bigger producers that SHOULD

Secondly, I love the fact that each of the titles in this quadrology has a set purpose. Far too often a trilogy in a CCC series runs foul of a middling middle scenario because it seems the story isnt long enough to keep it going. Not this series. It nails what it intends to do right off the bat. THe central issue of the issues between Torm and Bane are on show and some roleplaying can be used to get the point across (and even some info for characters who worship Torm or Bane)

At this point however, I do want to point out an issue I have.. and its not just with this scenario. but occurs in a good chunk of CCCs. From the tone of the story we get that these 3 platinum discs are objects of great power.. tied to the portfolio of Bane (great use of his old holy symbol btw). As a DM and as a player Id probably expect to be fighting direct servants of Bane in each of these scenarios. Bane much surely sense that the time is right to put the smack down on the agents of Torm. Yet in this scenario we are treated to a battle with Xvarts, possible Ogre encounter and a Goblin Encounter. I will admit, this adventure is located in THar so all of these creatures COULD be encountered there , but I would honestly of replaced the optional encounter with an encounter with a kill team sent perhaps by a Banite priest to kill the defilers or something similar (reasoning isnt as important). I think it was the perfect opportunity to make an encounter here more important to the story. THe varied combats while interesting just seem to make it more about Thar then about the story. Ive no issue with the Story driving monster selection. I was originally going to give this a 4 star but this issue meant 3 stars.

Many scenarios suffer from these issues with poor/ strange monster selections for encounters.

Finally this scenario ran well to time, although 16 Xvarts was a bit of a time hog. I dont mind a lot of monsters, but I prefer more powerful and fewer if Im honest.

Im lookinng forward to reading the next in the series to run and I greatly appreciate all these Tier 1 scenarios coming out. Keep them coming!

Matthew



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robin S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2018 02:47:33

The adventure was well put together and easy to read. The material was easy enough to follow and allowed for a variety of approaches to solving the problems presented to the players. My table skewed young and they tended to follow non-traditional approaches which were easy to work with given the material present. I also appreciated the usage of non-standard creatures as well the spotlight on exploration and travel. I had a blast running this module and picked up the rest of the Tenets of Bane series once we wrapped up the session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Olivier A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/16/2018 11:08:05

Selected this module for my first as a DM, and was really happy to do so. Very easy to follow for a DM, and contains an unexpected happening for the players ! My players enjoyed it and although they were faced with challenge they could manage to face it properly. Will run it again for sure. It's also nice that some relevant background about deities are included in the module, to save me some time looking for that information. Slight complain I would make is that the provided maps are too small, so my ranged players had to find tricks to notify me at which distance they were after running off the map to outrange their foes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2018 01:29:08

I ran this and the other two initial quests in the Tenets of Bane series at RoleCall 2018. This was my first time DMing in a convention/open AL setting. These modules made for a great experience! Well written and organized, with box text that really lends to role playing and conveying the mood rather than boring your players. These adventures were a breeze to run, and they make it easy to keep the players moving forward without railroading them through the plots.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Eric B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2018 13:37:06

Well designed module with a good mix of roleplay, exploration, and combat.

The background story is detailed enough to mine for hints if players go deep. Players who internalize it will be better prepared to cope with the Tenets, but a group of combat crunchers can muddle through just fine. Do note that if a low APL group just runs headlong into fighting the entire village, that combat could be long and end badly for them. As it should. The end cap chase/combat is a fun way to adjust the playing time, use it if you have time, skip it if you don't. Though I could see it taking longer than the estimated 20 minutes for a scaled up group.

The battle maps work well and I didn't find anything lacking.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-WWC-01 In the Face of Fear
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2018 12:07:28

Just ran this at a local Con and it went really smooth. Good balance of fun and roleplaying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items