Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
CCC-OCC-01 Red War: Housekeeping
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/26/2019 14:04:02

This module packs a punch with some original and entertaining enounters. Written in the season 8 format, Red War: Housekeeping is BY FAR the best use of Pillars of Play that I've seen in a module. My strong table of tier 3 players were challenged and often looked at scenarios from multiple persepctives.

Let me start by saying this module doesn't really have its own story, it happens parallel to the Red War epic so if you haven't played that or know why the Red War happened, you won't really understand the meaning behind many of these encounters (I had 2 players ask "What is the Red War?") This wasn't the fault of the author as the Red War came from the admin and community. Even without a solid knowledge of the story, players enjoyed the challenging encounters and strong opportunities at roleplaying. This module has a little somethning for almost everyone if you look for it. With an option of being run at DEADLY, combat focused parties will be challenged and with an over the top insane complex trap in one encounter, the skil driven character will be in heaven.

The one part I didn't care for also wasn't the fault of the author. This module takes place in Mulmaster during the Red War so it uses the same restrictions and special rules as the epic had. I'm sorry but rolling on wild magic for every single spell just slows the game down and adds little I used it like every 5 spells and the characters got it. The stading 5 ft away from people and getting exhaustion thing is too restrictive for players to have fun.

That said, this module can be what you make of it. Encounters can be done in any number of orders as you describe where the Red War is happening in the town. My table got through all of the encounters except one but I heard a couple other tables say they missed 2 or 3 due to roleplaying. This means the module has replayability which is ALWAYS a good thing. While this isn't my favorite module from the author (check out Birds of a Feather and the Nightmare series), it is a refreshing look at the new format and players who love Mulmaster and what has been happening there will find the story quite meaningful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-OCC-01 Red War: Housekeeping
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-MACE01-02 A Panthers Peril
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/20/2019 13:34:06

This module was an entertaining sequel to the original MACE story. The connections here are pretty strong and the combat encounters are appropriate for the tier. This stoy is basically a wild goose chase along the north coast of the Moonsea and into Thar. Unfortunately, the story doesn't really develop beyond that. This module felt more like a bunch of encounters without much story. Some people love this but our table continually tried to rp through the encounters instead of having fights. The table soon learned that not all of the encounters can be conquered with this type of playstyle.

Ultimatly the table had fun but were a little bummed with how linear everything felt. The story does work well as a one shot if people are looking for one and The Winged Panther is a cool character who clearly has a story to tell!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-MACE01-02 A Panthers Peril
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-MIND01-02 Mind Trip
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2019 13:01:25

This module has some hilarious moments where roleplaying is a blast. My table reported that they truly in a mind trip as we progressed through the last parts of the module. The biggest issue we had was time. This is not a 4 hour module, it is more like 6. This module has the possibility of having more than five combats which slows the module down a lot, and most of the combats don't have ways of getting around them using the pilars of play. My DMs had to cut out half of the combats and tweak another one. Overall though, the players enjoyed what they were presented, we just had to modify things to fit in our 4 hour block of time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-MIND01-02 Mind Trip
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-QCC2017 Delusions of Grandeur, Dreams of Revenge
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2018 06:24:37

This module tickled 10 year old me's fancy. The story, while a bit goofy was fun and the players bought into it. That said, the combats in the module were ridiculously easy and I had to use DM empowerment to beef them up by a lot. The final battle felt more like a tier 2 encounter as written. There is some fun stuff in the final encounter that sent my players into panic mode and made for some hilarious choices they had to make.

This module does a great job referencing older modules and books which helps it to become a more flavorful experience for some players. The one thing it lacked was reasoning, why are these cults all of a sudden working together? While the "enemy of my enemy" thing is fun to do, it falls a bit short without significant reasoning in the mod.

If you are sick of trilogies and are looking for a tier 3 one shot, this module could be a great follow up to both season 1 and 2 content. It can be a fun experience for your players, just be prepared to make a few tweaks to make the encounters more of a threat and to add a little to the story.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-QCC2017 Delusions of Grandeur, Dreams of Revenge
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to post a review; I'm glad you enjoyed the adventure!
CCC-MIND01-01 Lost in Thought
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2018 06:13:46

The amount of detail that Jay put into this module is mind boggling. Accounting for almost anything a party could choose to do, this module is a blast! We ran 4 tables of the module at our shop last week and EVERY table had a different experience. All tables had fun and were challenged with creative scenarios that could involve combat or social ways to avoid. Overall this is a great introduction to the series and we are excited to run the next to parts over the next few weeks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-MIND01-01 Lost in Thought
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-YLRA01-02 Uneasy Lies the Head
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 08:47:31

First things first, this is not a 4 hour module. With all that is happening in ths module I'd suggest 5-6 hours to become full immersed.

This module is filled with some prett hilarious encounters and they can be pretty entertaining if run right. That said, with all the things going on in the town, it can be challenging for groups (especially those with low Int) to peice together the small strands of plot. For the first half of the module, it felt like random encounters to them.

The module reaches its climax outside of town in a pretty brutal fight. The fight has some tough opponents but there really isn't much of a chance to avoid the battle through social prowess.

The final encounter back in the city provides great opportunities for combat focused groups and social focused characters alike.

It is very clear that these mods have had a lot of thought and design put into them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-YLRA01-02 Uneasy Lies the Head
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCCHATMS01-03 Destiny Defied
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 08:36:20

Yesterday we finished running this series and judging by the smiles on our pleyers' faces, it was a resounding success. This series really is meant to be played in order and I would suggest trying to keep the same tables together for all three modules. Our LGS was able to do this and the players became super bought in to the story.

This episode is basically non-stop action all the way through. The lore is rich for those who enjoy it and the story is great. The final battle is brutal and terrifying which made it even more meaningful to the players.

That said, the module is a bit railroady in that the fights really must happen and there are ways around them (this is something all writers are perfecting so I don't hold this against Jeremy!) The other part that I found interesting is that in episode 2 of the series a main character may or may not be with you in part 3 but part 3 is written as though he is with you the whole time even putting in a 15-20 minute social interaction that isn't necessary if he isn't with you. I've found in the past that making modules about NPCs isn't as meaningful as making them about the PCs. My recommendation is to not have the NPC with you in part 3. This made my players so much more attached to the story and they were passionate to see it through to the end!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCCHATMS01-03 Destiny Defied
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCCHATMS01-02 Prophecy's Promise
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2018 18:56:41

This module is an interesting follow up to the first Song of Maos story. This module essentially takes place immediately after part 1 which makes it quite meaningful however, right off the back and encounter happens with no way to avoid it and the encounter doesn't seem to make sense within the story. After this combat a new character shows up to essentially fill in the missing plot points. I really wish they had used and NPC from the first module for this role.

The travel to Thar was actually pretty fun and using the key viallain to taunt and harass the players kept them on their feet. There was even an opportunity for the players to use an old story award from Raiders of the Twilight Marsh which was fantastic!

The final encounter was great and I absolutely love that the social pillar is strongly represented. I do wish there was a way for the players to discovwr a bit more about Thar own their own without just being told the prophecy.

Over all, my players LOVED this module. I did use some DM discression to tweak the combats and make them a bit more challenging (I had a table of seven level 9s and 10s). One of the players got the story award and is now insanely excited to play part 3 next week!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCCHATMS01-02 Prophecy's Promise
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCCHATMS01-01 Threatening Tides
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2018 16:40:59

What are first looked like a short mod turned out to be an amazingly fun and challenging game for my players. The opening act steals the show by far in my opinion as the intenisty is real. My group needed a lunch break once they were in the clear. The modules has a few oversights as far as number of enemies goes and forces the party to do only one thing on board the ship. I found a simple modification allowed the players to do what they wanted so they could feel more heroic. The box text is a bit heavy-handed in this mod which is great for new DMs but I felt it was a little much. I also tied in so many other modules that had pirates or pirates ships in them and had them all at the event in the beginning. My group is super excited for parts 2 and 3. Will upload those reviews in the coming weeks!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCCHATMS01-01 Threatening Tides
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-TRI-19 Dead Men's Tales (Part One of the Dead Men Series)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 20:50:06

A near perfect sand boxy experience for a four hour table. This module allowed for the players to explore a small village and piece together a puzzle. The party can take this story whichever direction they want and still have fun. Multiple tables were running this module at the same time and each had its own unique experience.

The module is loaded with interestering and detailed characters are well as fun opportunities to roleplay. The table laughed and cheered all the way through. In the end, more than anything, this module has gotten me excited for season 8 and the new module format as this module promotes roleplaying and character choice instead of a DM having to railroad the module.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-TRI-19 Dead Men's Tales (Part One of the Dead Men Series)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-TRI-04 Birds of a Feather (Part Two of the RocSlide Series)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/19/2018 17:30:07

With fun roleplaying opportunities and a well thought out final combat, Birds of Feather was fun for both myself and my players. 2 intelligent bosses with interesting abilities made the final combat one that the players had to truly think about. Garrett left many rhings open to dm discression which allowed for a dynamic game that appealed to all player's play styles. This module is clearly more meaningful when played directly after Fences and Swords, but our 2 players who didn't play Fences and Swords last week found the story easy to navigate and felt it was self contained story as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-TRI-04 Birds of a Feather (Part Two of the RocSlide Series)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-TRI-03 Fences and Swords (Part One of the RocSlide Series)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2018 16:04:10

d​This module was amazingly well paced for a 2 hour mod. I am always thrilled when a mod drops that could potentially have NO combat if the party goes about it correctly! Fun, detailed enemies helped put a smile on my players' faces.

The puzzles in this mod are entertaining and confounded my table a couple of times but the whole time they were laughing which is always a good thing. The table was so excited that some of them wanted to skip their TOA table to play part 2 the next week!eTheTheTheTheTheTheThe



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-TRI-03 Fences and Swords (Part One of the RocSlide Series)
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-BMG-16 ELM 1-1 The Sage of Cormanthor
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2017 13:01:52

This module was a blast! The authers use the reskinning of mm cratures with precision here. My players truly felt the rot coming and had a blast trying to stop it. Most of the combats (except the plant seed one) were pretty easy for my players, but they enjoyed them nonetheless!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-16 ELM 1-1 The Sage of Cormanthor
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-BMG-17 ELM 1-2 The Lost Sanctum
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2017 12:59:04

I really enjoyed the puzzles in this module more than anything. The ship puzzle blew my players away. The fact that there was a social interaction at the end instead of a fight was amazing. This reminded me of the meeting with Jenny Greenteeth back in season 1.

My one complaint about this mod was that it spent too much time trying to set up the next arc. The necromancers felt out of place in such a cool story. I wish the necromancers had been left for the 2nd arc and other neat encounters with crazy plants had been put in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-17 ELM 1-2 The Lost Sanctum
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

CCC-BMG-18 ELM 1-3 The Battle of Elmwood
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2017 12:53:49

This story arc was a blast. This culminating module wrapped up the story nicely and felt rather epic. Running around the city was really cool as it gave the characters a view of the chaos that was happening. The fights ended up being a bit easy for the players, but they still had fun. The final battle has some neat elements and is easy to adjust for party strength.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-18 ELM 1-3 The Battle of Elmwood
Click to show product description

Add to Dungeon Masters Guild Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items