Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories









Back
Monsters Without Borders Pay What You Want
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
42 14
6 0
3 0
0 0
0 0
Monsters Without Borders
Click to view
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/23/2019 16:03:08

As an individual that runs a physician office and works with doctors every day, I think this is a wonderfully product and a fabulous cause. Great job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Fabrizio F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2019 08:39:28

First DMG product I purchased. Love the idea, love the cause, love the content.

I hope I can soon test the monsters and later get the full book.

The old style pictures are not my jam but they have charm and the concepts are great, so applause!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Cheers Fabrizio! Hope you love the monster madness :)
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dean P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2018 13:19:43

I think you're wonderful human beings for putting your creative efforts to this particular cause. A pleasure to contribute to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2018 20:35:47

Cool I decided to give you guys 5 stars I part of the $10 that I got from something I made to donate to charity. All I was doing was just looking at it every day. Maybe I should've given more but I don't really have income. Hope something good comes from it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much Paul!! Really heart warming to read reviews like this one and the money raised is going to an incredible charity. Email is on monstersoftheguild@gmail.com and let us know what was your fav monster? ;) Glen
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Roel W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2018 16:56:09

It is amazing that this is offered as a free product. It is filled with nicely made and written monsters with artwork to boot. This definitly made me a very happy DM!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by patrick m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2018 19:44:56

I support this to support the cause. The monsters are so par but i suport Doctors without boarders



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2018 21:13:35

Great product for a great cause!! Very well done with tons of great content!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Diego E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2018 18:33:26

Top tier product, and for charity! The creatures are of varying quality but nothing is below average quality.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2018 09:23:09

For Charity? Amazing, they could've slapped a 5 dollar price tag on it and the thing still would have felt perfectly priced. The creatures in here come from a wide number of authors, meaning you have a very diverse lineup.

Edit: It was supposed to be 5/5, my review was on my phone and I hit the wrong number!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much! Glad you loved MWB :) Just a quick question... did you accidentally select a 4star rating? Or was there some feedback for us to consider? Many thanks!!
That's perfect thanks Bryan!! Thank you!
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by william o. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 13:11:48

This is a great source of monster if you are looking for something different to throw at your party. I recommend giving it a go, plus some of the money goes to a good cause.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Alessandro H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/07/2018 07:24:55

Great. As a DM, this can really spice up a campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Scott S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/06/2018 09:56:30

This Charity Fundraising version of Monsters Without Borders is a great product with all author profits going to Charity.

It is a brief taste of the full publication to be released shortly, with 20 of the 100 creatures from the complete book. Every creature has well thought out and balanced stats, descriptions and illustrations.

Many readers will recognise some of the authors from other great DM's Guild publications. This is a top notch, high quality publication and worth supporting for a great cause.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2018 16:55:25

A neuronphaser.com review.

Content

Monsters Without Borders is a charity-supporting release by a slew of the biggest and brightest names among the Dungeon Masters Guild's amateur and semi-pro authors and artists. All proceeds go to MSF/Doctors Without Borders, an international organization of folks who brave the harshest of geographical and political climates to save lifes: these are real-life adventurers, folks, and this book takes that theme and runs with it! There are 20 deadly monsters ranging in Challenge from 1/2 to 21, and there are three fantastic player options that immediately fit the theme of the charity organization this supports: a Paladin Oath (Oath of the Hospitaler) and 2 backgrounds (the Almsgiver and the Healer).

The monsters presented are:

  • arcane ooze - 6
  • beholder eye of the deep - 8
  • bone giant - 6
  • bound colossus - 21
  • demon blight - 3
  • eelfolk - 1/2
  • firefly golem - 6
  • gulabus - 5
  • jungle walker - 8
  • kenning - 1
  • killer kobolds, kobold air cavalry - 2
  • mind flayer cenomorph - 3
  • ooze dragon - 20
  • storm hound - 2
  • tempest beast - 4
  • terracotta warriors, soldier - 2
  • the evil doll - 4
  • the hood - 6
  • tomb spider - 3
  • werespider - 5

A little over a quarter of these monsters are brand new to this product, never-before-seen! The rest are taken from a slew of existing products on the Guild, but all are given a fresh coat of paint both stylistically as well as in terms of the writing. Every monster here has its own art piece (something I firmly believe to be a requirement in monster books), they are written up in full-formatting style similar to the Monster Manual, and their stats are laid out beautifully. The editing is truly superb, and an issue of a missing table has already been fixed just days (hours?) after launch, showing that the team behind this book is committed to making it the best possible reference tool for these monsters. A cursory examination of three stat blocks using the Dungeon Master's Guide monster creation tools suggests these monsters were run through a full stat block edit, and come out balanced perfectly.

The Paladin Oath is the Oath of the Hospitaler, and comes with a good mix of appropriate healing and protection powers. They aren't just hit point regeneration bots, but also gain a list of spells and powers that make the paladin highly mobile in order to get across the battlefield fast, and protect their allies from conditions of all sorts. Their spell list includes some options that also come from another DMsGuild release, Elminster's Guide to Magic, which shows the dedication of the authors in this book to promoting their fellow Guild authors and creators. It should be noted that for every spell from Elminster's Guide there are options from the Player's Handbook, too, so if you don't have that guide, you're still fully capable of using this Paladin Oath without any fuss.

The two backgrounds are the charity-giving Almsgiver and the alchemically-fluent Healer. Both are obviously working in-theme with this release, and both are built exactly as core rulebook Backgrounds with Proficiencies, some options where necessary, a Feature, suggested characterisitcs to make the most of their abilities, and complete tables for Personality Traits, Ideals, Bonds, and Flaws.

The book ends with a page promising the forthcoming Monsters of the Guild, an even bigger tome of monsters from the Guild's top authors, as well as Guild Adepts and pro D&D luminaries like James Introcaso, Shawn Merwin, and Wolfgang Baur!

Layout

The layout on this release is gorgeous, clearly a fully professional work. Page backgrounds are unobtrusive yet stylish, with a cool "stitching" design on the interior border, a muted background, and monster stat blocks that almost perfectly mirror those of the official Monster Manual. There are enough flourishes in the layout to give this book a separate-but-connected look compared to the core rulebooks. My only complaint -- also a complaint for the core rulebooks, mind you -- is that the page numbers are relatively small and are a muted gray color. For a reference tool, I find that slightly annoying. But let me also note that I'm pretty sure this book's page numbers are a larger font than the core rulebooks, so they've already got points over Wizards of the Coast on that ;-P

All-in-all, this book is gorgeous. Seeing that the content, editing, and sheer amount of artwork is also there in spades makes this whole thing come out as one of the most professional, beautiful releases on the Guild, and certainly worthy of your support. That every cent of this support also happens to go toward an amazing charity is icing on the cake!

Fantasy Grounds Support!

Fantasy Grounds conversion guru Rob Twohy built a fully supported version of Monsters Without Borders for that virtual tabletop engine! You pick up this book at any price and the MOD file is included, so everything you need is already in there. Talk about service!

For more reviews, advice, articles, and more, check out neuronphaser.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks Tim. This is such an in-depth review! Your efforts may have helped us almost reach our campaign target of $500 raised for MSF. Only a few dollars left! All the best
Monsters Without Borders
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2018 02:49:14

Ths is absolutley brilliant, the feel of the player options really ties to the charity, having just made a new Paladin, I now have a good idea what Oath he will be taking. Good work throughout!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hey James! Thanks so much for your kind words. Best of luck with you Oath of the Hospitaler Paladin! Would love to hear what happens :)
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items