Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit $2.00
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
2 14
1 3
0 0
0 1
0 0
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2019 17:24:03

This is a great adventure though I would peg it at best being run in 4 hours rather than 2. The opening roleplay chapter works pretty well, but takes some understanding to clarify what checks should be made when. The second half is pretty deadly for tier 1 parties and the skill challenge DC perhaps a little too high. Either way an enjoyable adventure and one I bring out often.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dax H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2018 21:55:37

Really solid and open to play the NPC's off the players latest adventures. I ran this in the middle of The Black Hand modules as a pallete cleaner and they handled it well. The conversations and boons can transfer over to modules if you have control as a DM, the pacing is abrupt but welcome with the arrival of the main villain. The dungeon delve part was just right in ruining their day and helping build character image. The final fight was a tpk since only 3/7 party wasn't crazy before so. They got saved as usual and received their madnesses. Overall wonderful piece and good for my freer form of DM'ing



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/27/2018 19:06:59

This adventure was great, and not stuffed with combat, which is nice occasionally. The players have to convince nobles to part with their gold for charity. The way it's done is quite clever, finding out how to approach then attempting to convince them. Large sections of the adventure are detailing all about the nobles, with 17 in total! The players also get a cut of the donations, so pre-season 8 this was a good way to get some cash!

After that the party is interrupted by monsters. The thing is, these monsters can be a bit difficult to face, so they may have to be toned down a bit.

The fight at the end is also good, although I can see it getting difficult, as with the previous one.

Overall, I'd definitely recommend this adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jason J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 04:34:31

This was a fun little module. Wish the players had failed some of their saving throws, but that's the sadistic DM in me talking. The fight at the end, even nerfed, was a bit difficult for the party, but most of the pulled through and they saved the day.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Janna G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2018 08:06:42

I'm planning to run this for a group tonight and this PDF has required a lot of rework on my part. I was surprised to see that one of the first things I read had a very obvious omission: "Welcome to Adventure Name, a D&D Adventurers League™ adventure..." Might wanna fix that.

I do like the mechanics of the first part, schmoozing with the nobles. After that the plot kind of goes downhill for me, and I'll be completely reworking it for my group. The whole backstory of Kelkos seems kind of odd. He's a shepherd who was tricked into going insane by an insane cleric in an asylum... he becomes an evil warlock, then conveniently leaves his lair for some far off vacation, then comes back and becomes annoyed that a kindly half-elf has stepped in to renovate?

The mechanics of part 3 seem needlessly complex. Exploring an old decrepit aslyum should be a fun, interesting, scary experience... I don't understand why you'd turn it into a big skill check. I'd rather have a map of this place with some cool rooms, encounters, and objects that allow the players to slowly unravel some of the history of this place.

It's unfortunate I'll have to scrap 3/4 of this adventure because it's just not appealing to me and overly complex.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Blair M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2018 05:06:14

Everyone loved the initial role-play section, though I found the instructions for DMing it a little ambiguous. It wasn't clear how I should introduce an Approach - I settled on giving an introduction that included hints about what they should do to soften the guest, then more hints in the following conversation (and sometimes just outright had the guest prompt the skill challenge).

The third section with the group skill challenge was also popular. Although ... the players have little influence over the outcome. Mechanically speaking it is a prolonged dice rolling session to figure out how difficult the final confrontation is going to be. I would have liked something similar to what the first section had, with bonuses for role-playing or some kind of clever play.

Overall the narative felt very natural, with each step engaging the players. Although they didn't learn much about the antagonist, what they did learn was sinister and creepy and felt like the tip of the iceberg.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2018 22:45:17

This is a very good module, with a good variety of roleplaying, combat, and something that kind of approximates "exploration". The large number of NPCs and freeform nature of the 1st and 3rd parts lends some variance to keep it interesting to DM.

However, it is drammatically too long. The first section can be highly variant, but the major problem point is that the final encounter is much longer than the 20 minute listed. Due to the positional nature of the battle, you pretty much have to use a miniature map. Kelkos' lair actions inflate the time of the fight by a lot-- being able to just teleport around the map and make 2d4 guys per turn can easily make the fight bloat up in time.

I feel like the entire last encounter needs to be rewritten, and clarified. I feel like the arena needs a proper map, and more deliberately-defined size. The variation based on the results of Part 3 of the adventure kind of make sense, but also seem like this massive jumble, and totally change how Kelkos should be played. Really hard to plan with the way the chapter and variations are formatted.

This takes much, much longer to prep than other "two hour" adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Noah G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2018 21:12:39

Most fun I have had running a T1 mod! Players had a great time too. I ran this as a two hour adventure in a four hour slot, to give an RP-heavy table time to enjoy the RP in the beginning. I gave players more leeway to RP their way through the great fundraising section instead of relying as much on dice rolls. I feel like this is the rare adventure that gives just about any character type a real chance to contribute, instead of favoring some more than others. The two combats can be very difficult for low level parties. The skill challenge in the second half has great open-ended mechanics, but it's easy to forget how to tell players that their successes are having some tangible effect.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bob T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2018 19:42:30

Great fun to run. My players really enjoyed this one. This has plenty of role playing opportunities plus some interesting mechanics for skill checks. The one downside to this module is trying to run it in a 2 hour time slot. I recommend bumping this to a 4 hour slot. There is a lot happening and you want to give the story time to come out. I ran this with a table of 7 and it took a while to get around the table for the benefit part of the module. My recommendation would be to let the characters go form one NPC to the next unless they choose to split up. That way the players feel more involved. For the basement part you may have to work a bit as aGM to get the players going and use their creativity



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Antoine R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2018 13:13:15

I was looking for a fun new tier 1 adventure and this looked it could do the job. I was right, Bedlam at the Benefit was a really damn fun module. I played this at home with 3 friends so we didn't have a strong party by default so the first fight was quite challenging (but fun!) and I really liked the choice of monsters. The Gibbering Mouther (cool to use the minis from the new Monster Menagerie series) can be deadly if you approach them.

I think the party liked the social roleplay at the start and the amount of NPCs you can talk to adds a good replayability. The gnome wizard who was on the run was especially funny. It was out of the box writing and a bit hard to DM at first. I missed where the rules for the donations were but that's probably my lack of preparation due to last minute DMing. It's pretty clear.

The exploration of the sanitarium was well done, all with skills instead of your classic dungeon crawling. The base DC of 16 for successes was a bit high for a tier 1 adventure though.

The final boss was hella cool and the lair actions were great but my party managed to destroy him quite easily with a well timed Hold Person from the war cleric. He can be deadly if your players failed the skill challenges beforehand though as he has access to 5th level spell slots as a warlock.

It's a fun adventure that can be either done in 2-3 hours or a bit more if your party wants to take their time with the social aspects of it.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by John T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2018 00:31:31

VERY VERY MILD SPOILERS. This is an excellent module with some nice variety. Part III is one of the best skill-challenge formats I have seen, and is very conducive to collaborative story-building. Part I is fun and encourages roleplaying. Like other reviewers, though, if I ran the mod again I would cap the number of "touches" at 10 total to keep this section from dragging. If there are more than 5 PCs, the players can strategize about where best to team up to gain advantage. The fights have some threat as well, which is always a plus. Very nice job, writers, designers and editors!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Marshall M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/02/2018 23:43:26

This is a great adventure for a breather in the middle of a more serious campaign and to just have fun with. Yes, it's a pretty cliché, but it embraces that and just lets you have a good time with it. If your players love to roleplay they'll have a blast. Wonderful for charity events!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Guillaume C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2018 13:45:11

Even though it's a 2h adventure, we took our time and ran it in about 5h. The players at the table really enjoyed the roleplay from the first part, so I let them have fun with that. It's probably possible to run the adventure in a much shorter time by cutting the time for players' roleplay, but I wouldn't encourage it since that's a big part of the adventure's originality. One of the players commented that the ambiance of the last fight was the darkest one he played in and he really enjoyed that.

Overall, I think it was a really good adventure, with a solid story that sets it apart from others, original mechanics, and a good balance of RP/combat. The adventure requires a significant amount of prep from the DM, though. More than most adventures of same length.

I would recommend it for a party enjoying RP and social interactions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/28/2018 22:51:23

I REALLY love "Bedlam at the Benefit." It's an incredibly fun module that dives into all aspects of the roleplaying experience, especially the social interaction. The author found a clever way to make those interactions entertaining while leveraging meaningful skill checks and clever game mechanics. It's easy for DMs to run and your players will be talking about this one for awhile.

For AL players interested in the "Red War" storyline, CCC-GEL-01 (loosely) ties into/mentions the events and related developments in the Moonsea region. Yes, there's an easter egg for people paying attention.

This adventure is perfect for any group running an Extra Life charity event, since the adventure itself is supporting a childrens' hospital. Plus, all proceeds from the sale of this adventure will also be donated to the Extra Life charity.

Full disclosure: I helped edit this module. You have to respect the care that Waffles (Chris Wathen) put into this adventure. He made sure it was well tested and peer evaluated with additional feedback. All AL content should aspire to this level of excellence.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-GEL-01 Bedlam at the Benefit
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jasmine L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2018 16:43:48

SPOILER WARNING. PLAYERS KEEP OUT.

Right, so, okay. This module is great. I'm a big fan. It has an excellent balance of combat, interaction, and exploration, and all three pillars are executed very well. It's easy to run, with lots of guidance for the DM. It's well-edited—I didn't notice any errors in it at all. It offers lots of flexibility for both the players and the DM. It has compelling stakes and a strong story, complete with continuity references for the AL veterans at the table. And it's even for a good cause.

The first part is the interaction section. The players have to solicit donations from VIPs at a party. It's beautifully done. The basic structure is simple: one skill check to approach the NPC, and then a second skill check to determine how much they'll donate, if any. There's a wide variety of NPCs in the adventure, and they test the players on all different skills. For example, Dark Linsa (whom you may remember from Season 1) will actively avoid you, but a Stealth or Acrobatics check could allow you to pin her down at the right moment by maneuvering through the crowd. Once you catch her, she'll fill out a donation card without needing much persuasion, but it's written sloppily and is completely illegible, so you either need a Perception check to notice before she walks away or a Sleight of Hand or Forgery check to "modify" it afterwards. You're encouraged to sprinkle in extra NPCs for the players to chat with as well, following the same pattern. I like adding in my own high-level PCs, or the players' high-level PCs (letting them do the roleplaying for them!). Important characters from other adventures are great too. If a player asks, "Is X here?" then the answer should probably be "Yes."

Next there's an interlude for combat. It's supposed to be a relatively easy fight, although my players found it pretty challenging, even adjusted for a weak party! The neogi hatchlings have low hit points, but they can do some pretty nasty damage, and are a serious threat if the players aren't able to AOE them down quickly! And the adult neogi are brutal—they hit like trucks and their charm ability is devastating. The gibbering mouthers' 5d6 damage bite attack is no joke, and they have a lot of HP. It shouldn't be a deadly fight, but it will definitely tax the players' resources and test their tactical abilities. Be sure to pay attention to the recommended tactics.

Then we have the exploration section, which is a good old fashioned 4e-style skill challenge! I think it's the best execution of a skill challenge that I've seen in AL so far, and I'm totally stealing the format to replace the skill challenges in other adventures like Jarl Rising. Players can use any skill for the challenge so long as they describe how they want to use it, and the box text description provides plenty of clues, like making sure to mention there are rats and roaches for Animal Handling, reinforced doors to try and break open with Athletics, ghostly figures that might respond to social skills, and so on. Repeating the same skills increases the DC each time, which incentivizes creativity. The point of the skill challenge is to learn the villain's history—and this matters a lot, because the villain's patron is Tharizdun, who does not like people knowing about his minions, so revealing Kelkos's past will actually cause Tharizdun to revoke most of his Warlock powers, making the final fight easier. I like that there are proper stakes. I also appreciate how cleanly the section is organized. Very easy to read and prep.

Lastly comes the final battle. Kelkos is seriously tough, even if he's weakened. If the PCs don't fight smart, a TPK is a real possibility, as I found out the first time I ran it. My players focused too many attacks on Kelkos's minions, which he just replenished every two turns with his lair action, and they ended up getting overwhelmed. I like difficult adventures, so this is an A+ for me IMO! Thankfully, the consequences for failure are clearly spelled out: the higher-level guests make it down there in time to pull your asses out of the fire, and the hospital is saved—but all the hostages die, the rewards for the adventure are reduced, and the players have to roll on the Indefinite Madness table.

Bottom line, awesome mod! Thumbs up, would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items