Dungeon Masters Guild
Narrow Results









Back
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent $3.99
Average Rating:4.1 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
0 8
4 7
0 2
0 0
1 0
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Click to view
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jonathan E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/21/2018 21:16:01

This isn't my favourite module of the Season 7 Tier 3s but it's still pretty good. Standard dungeon crawl with plenty of traps and things to keep the party on their toes. The final encounter has a lot of moving parts that could be overwhelming which isn't ideal. The centerpiece trap of this particular area is also very easily avoided by most tier 3 characters so it doesn't really add much.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2018 21:48:49

Was a little hesitant upon preping this to run, as ddal7-13 was such a disappointment and it was very similar. However, this was so much better done. The traps were better, the puzzles were better, the fights were better, the lich was better. It was an improvement in every way.

Does seem to cause a lot of fall damage, compared to other threats in the mod.

It should really be listed as a 2h mod, since spoiler there's a 2h time limit from when the open the door to enter the dungeon until the ritual completes, so unless they group takes 120 minutes to play in the storm outside it's not a 4h mod. That being said, I love the faster pace and "race against the clock" feel to it.

The finale fight of this mod, and the T3 track, was a worthy masterpiece. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 12:03:34

This is the gold standard by which DDAL modules should be written. Everything from the locations, to the puzzles, to the combats is clearly and concisely described, including notes on what to do if you party throws a curveball. All of the traps are creative and require a lot of investigation (not just rolls), and even some intense action if they go off. The final combat is especially well designed, as it can be as challenging as the DM wants depending on how you use the legendary and lair actions (especially the unlimited dispel magics). Finally, there is a story award in this module that can't be earned unless the players played other modules and think critcally, and I really appreciate when modules give rewards that are challenging to achieve and aren't immediately obvious.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Nathan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2018 07:49:46

great mod, ties into the rest of t3 beautifully as well as a great end to the t3 story



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/25/2018 02:31:01

While this module does have interesting puzzles, a well prepared wizard/spellcasting team can circumvent many of them. The combat encounters are also fairly tame for a well prepared party, which they should be considering this is the capstone module and gateway to T4.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2018 13:11:43

Squee warning is in effect. Squee warning is in effect.

SQUEEEEEEEE!

I cannot overstate how much fun this mod is in the hands of a prepared DM.

The good:

A fun, entertaining, and original dungeon crawl, littered with interesting traps instead of just 'dex save this' traps. The author clearly paid attention to the master's lesson in good trap design provided by the best of Tomb of Annihilation, and IMO also paid close attention to the concurrent master lesson in bad trap design in Crypt of the Nine Gods. When you get smacked by a trap, you feel guilty for not seeing it, not set upon by a surprise. It has a clearly communited time limit, and an interesting antagonist.

I cannot overstate how much fun the reverse gravity trap was. That entire room was just pure awesome. "And again, upside down." HILARIOUS. Of course, when you have a druid and a monk -- both immune to poison -- doing the bulk of the work, it looses some punch.

The bad:

Like many T3 mods, this one has issues with unusual party compositions. You really shouldn't punish players for not bringing spellcasters, a lot of people don't have a huge choice in their T3 / T4 character selection. The doors can be very difficult to handle with a party consisting of a barbarian, a fighter, and a cleric -- none of whom can cast 'comprehend languages' even if you do give them a scroll. Or in the gravity room, when we had a group without anyone arcane or dex based in the party. When no one is proficient in arcana or thieves tools, this room becomes positively vicious. Class checks really shouldn't be a thing in AL.

Also, the Beholder fight just feels... out of place. While it's vaguely fun, there's something 'off' about it. And it definitely compounded the scaling issue above. (Even more fun, a monk can almost negate the entire fight by running into the pit, using their action to get the snake,t hen bonus action dashing back to the door in a single round.)

The ugly:

The boss fight is a massive set-piece fight. It's fun, but it's also going to take a LOT of time to run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2018 02:21:52

Really liked this one. Combat difficulties felt well adjusted and the encounters, both combat and traps had some very clever designs behind them. Personal favorites were the reverse gravity shaft and the rolling souls.
The Portal mechnaic for the Beholder fight is interesting as an idea but I felt like it didn't really work that great for that specific combat encounter. Probably would have been better as a puzzle room. traps in general delivered though and I did actually get my group to groan at all the pit-based traps. Adventure should probably acount for flying characters though as those kinda negate a lot of the fun traps.
The ending did feel like a Mass Effect 3 ending where it doesn#t really matter if the group actually succeeds or not which is kind of a bummer.

Overall great adventure though, one of my favs this season and in general!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Ian P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2018 11:09:06

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

This was easily my favorite season 7 mod to play when it released. I played it at GaryCon X with Eric GMing it. The first time through I felt accomplished figuring out the riddle answers, the Up & Down Trap/Puzzle was as compelling as it was complex, and the Water trap was hilarious and frightening. With that being said, the fight in the upper levels does feel too easy; Eric had the moster point towards the entrance which could easily split a party if done properly and make the fight MUCH harder, but the mechanic that makes the fight dynamic feels clunky in practice and I have yet to see anyone actually have it used to their detriment.

The main puzzle was hilarious once I realized what it resembled, and the red herring was great, it threw us off for about a minute in total. What I will say more than anything else is that the character of the mod was sold by Eric in a way that differentiates playing this with the author from playing it with GMs who haven't run it with the author - the taunting by [redacted] via the statues, the [redacted] taunting you in the upper level fight - it really makes you want to beat these villains. I will say that running it with other GMs has made the mod feel a little hollow as a result, and more like a pile of traps than a Saw-like adventure with real and dangerous consequences.

The final fight was incredibly compelling, and I would recommend that any GM who runs it do two things: Strongly consider having your party play "up" to Strong or Very Strong, especially if there is an on-demand flight source in the party as the room effects are very well mitigated by these abilities, and make sure that you are paying attention to the legendary/lair actions in the room. The fight is nearly trivial if you ingore them, and proper use of them can be both surprising and challenging to PCs that aren't expecting the effects. And given that [redacted] is the one doing them, it should be satisfying to have them taunt the party, especially if any of them have played 00-02f.

All in all, this mod is what I think Redemption of Kelvan should have been, a difficult and compelling trip through quirky and dangerous puzzles and traps, with a short list of memorable combats. I have sent feedback to Eric on updates for a 1.2 version, and the only other suggestion that I would make would be giving explicit XP values for parties that are methodical in approaching the traps versus overcoming them with spells or class abilities as I feel that approach should be encouraged by a module like this.

Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Daniel F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2018 12:46:54

Good: Awesome traps story end Bad: Too many encounters DM Tips: Be prepared to skip encounters to fit all in for 4 hours.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jeremy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2018 14:47:06

A decent adventure, except again the lack of challenge in this season's tier 3 adventures bites again. For example in a 2 man boss fight one is CR7. That is like a commoner in Tier 1, or a single goblin being a boss in tier 2. If the adventure wasn't well designed I would have rated lower for that reason again.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Remington A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2018 09:55:39

This is my favorite module out of season 7, and one of my favorite modules of all time. The story is a great culmination of the earlier modules. The layout of the dungeon, the puzzles, the traps, etc., is all fantastic and adds a lot of flavor. The time limit instantly changed the mindset of the players, from relaxing to in the moment, motivated to push through everything as quick as they could. The mechanics of the final fight make for another unique encounter with unique challenges. This was fantastic as both a player and DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andy X. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/29/2018 18:06:46

As written wasn't challenging and traps didnt feel deadly. Other than that, the design is really cool. The traps were very complex, the encounter was unique being able to bounce eye rays through portals. The final boss was too easy for a season finale.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Derrick C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2018 12:03:15

Cool mod, though the challenges were not there for my group. I ran this online, and the online power creep is intense.

MASSIVE SPOILERS

I ran this on very difficult and the party killed the beholder before he had a chance to act. The cool mirrors would've been nice if the creature could have activated his eye ray. The final boss was defeated within a round, though the pcs did kill the hostages. In short, if you are running this online, try to increase the difficulty of the combats. I would say replace the Beholder with a Death Tyrant (or add another Beholder) and add some Mind Whisperers or Pit Lords to the final fight



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Dennis R H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/27/2018 10:50:26

There are several things I really enjoyed about running this module. First, for a T3 mod, the challenges were appropriate - the puzzles were not too difficult to overcome, but the consiquenses were perfect. I did run this at a local convention and the best part was the time limit. The look on the players faces when I started my timer for 2 hours. Suddenly, the challenge of the adventure was quite well known. No doddling, stop the ritual in time.

The boss fight can be toiugh and there are a lot of moving parts - or rolling parts in some cases. The spell selections are limited for opponents, which then relies on creative use of space.

From the player's perspective, they said it was one of the best T3 mods they have played and certainly very good for this season.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-14 Fathomless Pits of Ill Intent
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/22/2018 19:16:37

The culmination of the tier three modules actually culminates the story. The module sets up some pretty deadly encounters, I was expecting the first boss to be more dangerous, but the harpoon trap proved double deadly. The language around the end encounter was a little confusing, but proved suitably epic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items