Dungeon Masters Guild
Browse Categories











Back
The Festival of Magic $2.49
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 8
1 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
The Festival of Magic
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
The Festival of Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Robert M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2019 18:07:15

[Video review: https://youtu.be/VSryTy2lN9M] The Festival Of Magic is an exciting beginner adventure where the players must resolve several bizarre incidents threatening a small city’s celebrations, and bring the saboteurs to justice!

The formatting, cartography, and cover art pieces are top-notch, and the encounters are sure to make for a fun adventure with new or experienced players, though I would have preferred more variety. The encounters are combat-based with social, investigation-style skill challenges, so some kind of puzzle or exploration would have been a great inclusion.

That said, I have run this module for two groups of primarily new players, and both sessions were fantastic! I recommend checking it out, and taking a look at my video review linked above.

Bob World Builder youtube.com/BobWorldBuilder



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Festival of Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Lara N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/15/2019 17:17:23

As a fairly new DM, I loved that I was able to skim read the adventure and charge in. The flaming octopus was a brilliant way to set the tone, and encouraged the players to inhabit their characters from the beginning. Sadly, they couldn't find a way to save him, which was an option they would have preferred.

Brilliant one shot, and I'm now going to buy every adventure from the same team.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Festival of Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Garin J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/01/2018 11:55:07

This is 100% the adventure you should run for new players at level 1. Or if you're a new DM and need a good introduction. Because this adventure is very linear while allowing room for the players to explore, has a great sense of humor and still some moments of weight that gives reality to the story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Festival of Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by James A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/15/2018 00:37:12

I highly recommend checking out The Festival of Magic. It is a fantastically enjoyable romp for 1st level PC's as written, and it is easily scalable by managing the number of encounters or even scaling the enemies for smaller, larger, or higher-level parties. The design, formatting, and art are all very well done. The setting and NPC's alone make the adventure worth picking up, all with the perfect amount of detail and oh so engaging and enjoyable.

Finally, I really enjoyed the balance between combat and noncombat encounters. Overall, I felt like the adventure was made with love and attention to detail, and it absolutely shows.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Festival of Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2018 09:54:30

Really fun adventure! I really liked how it keeps the players moving from piece to piece. There are encounters where combat is important and encounters where diplomacy is absolutely vital. It was a fun night of play at first level.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Festival of Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Andrew N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/18/2018 07:51:14

This is a fun, lighthearted adventure that will be a great introduction to the game or a fun one-shot for low-level players. I could easily imagine running this adventure for younger players, or for adults who want a more whimsical adventure. The adventure is clearly presented, each encounter is well-described and contains all of the information you need. The original art and maps are beautiful. The document is well-laid out. The writing style is clear and concise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Festival of Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2018 13:11:01

Pretty neat adventure with the right balance of social encounters, combat and roleplay. The presentation is really great with a clean layout and some cool art. Creative play is encouraged and the writing includes enough variety to make sure the adventure doesn't feel railroady at all.

Overall, this fun adventure is a great jumping-off point into D&D and new and veteran players alike would definitely find it engaging.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Festival of Magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Travis L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/22/2018 14:04:28

This is a fantastic, fun adventure and was a true delight to read! The events are presented in such a fashion that the tone can easily range from a lighthearted fun-filled comic session, to a dark tragedy with horror elements. The encounters are challenging, but balanced and each presents an opportunity for thinking outside the box rather than straightforward dungeon crawling hack and slash. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items